Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Good Ole' Down Home in Georgia Southern Fried Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Good Ole' Down Home in Georgia Southern Fried Chicken

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2009

      Outstanding chicken!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I've been making this exact recipe for years adding a Tablespoon of seasoning salt to the flour. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Delicious! Very simple way to make outstanding chicken! DH absolutely loved it!! It's very rare for me to make anything fried, and this was a real treat for us! I didn't use a whole chicken Just 4 bone in chicken breasts. Wonderful flavor! Thanks 2Bleu! Made for PRMR Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      This was by far the best fried chicken I have ever had, bar none. The only problem was my breading did not stick to my chicken very well. I did marinate the chicken overnight in the fridge, and cooked it in a lg. dutch oven covered. Can anyone tell me what I did wrong?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      My first attemt at fried chicken and it was delicious! The spice combination was perfect.Thank you! Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      Right here is the best fried chicken!!! We don't have it often, but when we do we want good fried chicken and this really did it for us!!! Extremely delicious and very deserving of more than 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      Let me tell Y'all, and I'm not saying this to befunny Using a cast iron skillet that is almost a hundred years old and has had more lard in it than a big herd of pigs, this was a memorable joy for this old mans taste buds. Folks today don't appreciate the power of the "PIG". Like Emeril says "pork rules" GOD bless and thank you. GREAT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      Tastes great, just like the other southern fried chickens I've tried. Something nice to have once in a while as we try to avoid too much fried. The skin has a nice crunch to it and I like the method of covering it for a few minutes after turning the chicken over. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      This was really good. I used heavy cream instead of buttermilk because that's what I had on hand. I fixed it for supper at my parents house and we used two chickens. I also added seasoning to the flour in addition to putting it on the chicken. I think the bacon grease did add to the flavor and I'll be using it from now on. Thanks for sharing. We prepared this with Shrimp and Corn Cake Fritters and fresh tomatoes for a good home cooked southern meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      This was pretty good. I had to almost triple the spices and used seasoning salt instead of regular. It took about 9 minutes each side to be browned, and I really couldn't taste any flavor from the bacon grease, so I think I would skip that next time as it was more work since I don't usually have bacon grease laying around. We still ended up dipping our chicken pieces in various sauces, so I think Ill play around with the seasonings to make it have a kick worthy of not covering it up with something. You were right tho, very easy to get a prefect browned outside and moist and cooked through inside, which is half the battle sometimes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      I was going to make this last night but my husband didn't feel so well, so I let the chicken marinate overnight in the buttermilk. My DH said he loved it! I scaled down the recipe and used it for breast strips. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      I don't make fried chicken very often, but it is one of my husband's favorite meals so I thought it was time to try again. And this was the perfect one to make! It is just delicious beyond words. It came out so moist and perfectly crispy on the outside. My husband really really loved it and so did my sons. This is wonderful and I will definitely be using this recipe when I make it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      First, let me say I have NEVER attempted fried chicken before... it scared me. I'm afraid now I'll make it too often! This was absolutely amazing. DH said it was the best fried chicken he's ever had. That's pretty amazing coming from him! Each piece was moist and juicy, the crust was out of this world... I'm so excited!! Now I have to get a bigger dutch oven and have a picnic! :) Oh, and I didn't change a thing. The instructions were perfect. Thanks, Bird and Buh

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      This is very good friend chicken. I followed ingredients per recipe. I used cream instead of buttermilk. Made for Please make my recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      I gave this 3 stars. I made this chicken for my families dinner. This is so easy and it turns out pefectly. I did find that my thighs fryed up better then my legs. I used the half and half and I used shortening in place of the lard. I'd recommend doing the chicken in 2 batches for sure as it gives the chicken room in the pot. Overall this was good fried chicken and I'll make it again. Thanks for posting a good recipe. Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      20 WONDERFUL STARS! I have tried multiple recipes for chicken that might replace the commercial chicken nuggets for which my fussy kids have rejected all else for... until NOW! 6 year old DD actually said she "really liked them" and polishing off her plate, started nibbling bits off mine, her little brother was less enthusiatic but was tired and ploddingly shoveled pieces into his mouth while diverted by Children's TV... and in the end finished most of his too. Considering that my last efforts to conquour the shop bought rubbish that they adore ended up shoved unceramoniously onto the dining room floor by him, this can be construed as a HIT !!! As an added bonus, DH, who is no real fan of chicken stated that this was the best tasting chicken he could remember us having in quite a while. SUCCESS !!! DH made this tonight and used small pieces of cut up chicken fillet and we will be making this again SOON, and adding it to our menu as a regular and hopefully final substitution to the evil preservative and rubbish laden chicken nuggets that our kids get offered everywhere and have grown to adore. Please see my rating system: 5 wonderful stars for a recipe that beat the fussiest of eaters and which I am delighted to have found. Thanks !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      This is amazingly delicious. By far the best fried chicken I have ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Good Ole' Down Home in Georgia Southern Fried Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes