Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Good Ol' Southern Soup Beans for Pressure Cooker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Good Ol' Southern Soup Beans for Pressure Cooker

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2010

      Really Good Recipe, I made these about 5 times now using lima or great northern beans. I buy a ham slice, cut it into small cubes and throw it in the pot when I start the beans. I Usually cook 10 minutes longer than the recipe states we like ours soft. Other than that I follow the recipe. Thanks for the Great recipe. Just like mom used to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      YUM! Now I know the secret of making good beans. Mine came out a little mushy (but who cares?), so I might cook them just a tad less next time. They are really to die for. My husband was in heaven when he came back for seconds of these beans, cornbread and collard greens during his football game -- and he swears he doesn't like collard greens! Combined with these beans and cornbread, I believe he's been! Thanks so much for sharing. I might have to make another pot today.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      5 stars for simplicity and taste. I am new to pressure cooking and was looking for a few good recipes. I had this in mind to make, until realizing I had not pulled out my navy beans to soak the night before. I already had all the other ingredients in the cooker, so figured I would throw in the beans, no soaking, and see what happened. Turned out great! I needed to cook mine about 5 minutes longer than directed here, but talk about a filling , no fuss recipe. Added some extra garlic and a about a tsp and half salt, cooked with a hamhock. Made with homemade cornbread and canned collards. Topped with hot sauce. DH and DS gobbled it up with no complaints. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Great recipe, made exactly as written. Down home yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! My beans soup beans turned out just fabulous :-) This recipe will be used over and over. I followed the directions with no changes to the recipe. Thanks Sccuddlers for a real winner here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      My mom use to make this all the time. I find a vinegary hot sauce goes great on these beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Oh My, These were wonderful. I have never been able to make soup beans to my husbands taste (like Mom made). He loved the smell of them. Cut the recipe down some and used 3 pieces of bacon ends that I keep frozen in individual snack backs for recipes like this. Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Excellent! I used crock pot method with pork butt and a little extra butter and it was a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      with cornbread & collards, this is a staple meal! Balanced protein, cholesterol-sopping lectins, fiber - and best of all - flavor! That's just good eating here in the Old North State!! Thanks for posting classic and oft taken-for granted "Authentic" Southern Cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      Ain't nothin' like a big ol' pot of soup beans on a cold day! I grew up eating these(and I live in the midwest) and, other than the garlic clove, this is just how I make mine(I do usually add more bacon grease, but....pork fat RULES!). Slop some of these babies over a piece of cornbread and/or fried taters, and you got somethin' really gooooood! Thanks for posting this simple, yummy recipe so true to this part of the country!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      I just made this recipe as written, and I have to agree with another reviewer, it's pretty bland, hence the 3 stars, and I'm glad I read the reviews first. What I did was to sautee a seeded, finely chopped, medium sized jalapeno pepper along with the onion and garlic. Then I added the pre-soaked (for 4 hours) beans, ham hocks/bones,and water,along with some ham soup base and beef soup base. I then followed the rest of the instructions as written. I served it in a bowl over some homemade cornbread that I've posted on this site, and all I can say is OMG, it was soooo good. This is a great starter recipe, and is only limited by ones imagination. I pressured it for a total of 26 minutes, and the pinto beans were perfectly tender. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      Sorry I hate to disagree but this was BLAND. Needed lots of salt & pepper to choke it down. I'll be adding plenty more garlic and some spices of my own choosing next time. It IS a good start but thats it, a start.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      This is a great "basic" recipe. If you would like some "optional" added ingredients try the following: celery green pepper browned sausage Ro-tel tommatoes Beef/Chicken broth instead of water You may use some or all of the extras!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      My husband said this was the best bean soup he ever had! We loved it!<br/>Thanks for sharing. <br/>I added 1 celery, 1 carrots, 6 cups of low sodium chix broth, 1 tsp chix bullion, crushed black pepper, 1 extra clove of garlic. My husband added Louisiana Hot Sauce to his bowl for an extra pow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      The cooking time was way off in this recipe -- had to add 15 more minutes, and the result was tasteless. It required lots more salt and pepper and even then -- no real flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Good Ol' Southern Soup Beans for Pressure Cooker

    Serving Size: 1 (150 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 16.7
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    77%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 3.8 mg
    1%
    Sodium 18.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried beans

    ham hocks

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites