17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really Good Recipe, I made these about 5 times now using lima or great northern beans. I buy a ham slice, cut it into small cubes and throw it in the pot when I start the beans. I Usually cook 10 minutes longer than the recipe states we like ours soft. Other than that I follow the recipe. Thanks for the Great recipe. Just like mom used to make.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shorty #2 January 02, 2010

YUM! Now I know the secret of making good beans. Mine came out a little mushy (but who cares?), so I might cook them just a tad less next time. They are really to die for. My husband was in heaven when he came back for seconds of these beans, cornbread and collard greens during his football game -- and he swears he doesn't like collard greens! Combined with these beans and cornbread, I believe he's been! Thanks so much for sharing. I might have to make another pot today.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjenjenp October 18, 2009

5 stars for simplicity and taste. I am new to pressure cooking and was looking for a few good recipes. I had this in mind to make, until realizing I had not pulled out my navy beans to soak the night before. I already had all the other ingredients in the cooker, so figured I would throw in the beans, no soaking, and see what happened. Turned out great! I needed to cook mine about 5 minutes longer than directed here, but talk about a filling , no fuss recipe. Added some extra garlic and a about a tsp and half salt, cooked with a hamhock. Made with homemade cornbread and canned collards. Topped with hot sauce. DH and DS gobbled it up with no complaints. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 January 30, 2009

Great recipe, made exactly as written. Down home yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheri 911 November 02, 2009

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! My beans soup beans turned out just fabulous :-) This recipe will be used over and over. I followed the directions with no changes to the recipe. Thanks Sccuddlers for a real winner here!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne August 14, 2009

My mom use to make this all the time. I find a vinegary hot sauce goes great on these beans.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eedwards October 18, 2008

Oh My, These were wonderful. I have never been able to make soup beans to my husbands taste (like Mom made). He loved the smell of them. Cut the recipe down some and used 3 pieces of bacon ends that I keep frozen in individual snack backs for recipes like this. Delicious!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryKB November 11, 2007

Excellent! I used crock pot method with pork butt and a little extra butter and it was a hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassafras October 20, 2007

with cornbread & collards, this is a staple meal! Balanced protein, cholesterol-sopping lectins, fiber - and best of all - flavor! That's just good eating here in the Old North State!! Thanks for posting classic and oft taken-for granted "Authentic" Southern Cooking!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend February 28, 2007

Ain't nothin' like a big ol' pot of soup beans on a cold day! I grew up eating these(and I live in the midwest) and, other than the garlic clove, this is just how I make mine(I do usually add more bacon grease, but....pork fat RULES!). Slop some of these babies over a piece of cornbread and/or fried taters, and you got somethin' really gooooood! Thanks for posting this simple, yummy recipe so true to this part of the country!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickeymousemom February 21, 2007
Good Ol' Southern Soup Beans for Pressure Cooker