Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Good Green Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Good Green Beans

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2002

      What a delicious recipe!! I added the optional mushrooms and waterchestnuts, but left out the almonds because my kids won't eat those. Very well seasoned and a great way to dress up green beans. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      These green beans are so good! I cooked the beans just until they were crisp-tender. Then I spooned off some of the bacon fat before finishing the dish. I added everything except the pimentos (didn't have any). We liked the crisp almonds and water chestnuts with the beans. Very nice side dish! Thanks JoAnn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2002

      I did not add the jar of pimentos because I didn't have them in the house. I think that the beans tasted pretty good without them. It had a crispy, tasty difference. A sided dish that I will try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Wow! This is a great recipe! I just made it for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it. I did leave out the pimiento and mushrooms as they are not to our taste. I will definitely make this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Used the mushrooms and leaving out the pimentos was the only change I made - my gang loved this with our New Year's Ham dinner. It is a keeper - thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      Excellent. I added mushrooms and used pancetta instead of bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      Yum! Made this for Easter and it was very well-received. I added all of the optional ingredients - mushrooms, slivered almonds, and water chestnuts - added a nice crunch to the dish - thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      This was great simply with the main ingredients and none of the optional stuff. Even better the second day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      Great dish! Love the flavor and browned bits from the bacon give it a real 'homecooked' look. Delicious. You must drain the fat off though or it'll be swimming in it IMO. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      We loved these Green Beans! They were quick and easy to make and very crunchy. I am not a fan of pimentos, so left those out. Did add the almonds. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      I'll be generous in giving this recipe three stars. I actually tried a small portion of these and threw the rest in the trash. I think they would have been better if I'd used less garlic. I only like a hint of garlic in my foods and the full clove was too much. I can't imagine using two cloves! Maybe someday I'll try it using less garlic. But I do like a little bacon flavor to my beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      These green beans tasted wonderful! I really loved the garlic and pimento in them, it really added to the flavor of them. Thanks JoAnn....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2004

      Wow! Add me to the list of this recipe's fans. This is one terrific green bean recipe. I think it's my new favorite. Made it just as described using the optional chopped almonds and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you sooo much, JoAnn. I'm looking forward to a glut of garden green beans soon and this is a great way to enjoy them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      Rather than Green Beans...I added the ingredients to Basmati Rice... Sooooo, good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      What a great recipe. It made a good side dish to go with my Pork Tenderloin. I used the pimentos and the water chestnuts. Left out the mushrooms and almonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      Wow! I have never had such a great green bean dish. I didn't have pimentos, but I did have roasted red peppers, and the flavor was awesome! Also, I used shallots in place of the onion & garlic. I didn't use mushrooms, almonds or water chestnuts since I didn't have any, but the dish is awesome anyway. And actually I think I prefer fewer ingredients. Thanks for such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2003

      Joann, These are not Good Green Beans, they're GREAT GREEN BEANS! Even the kids liked them. I made a triple batch (20 people) for Easter and I ended up with a small bowl of leftovers. I'm making them again tonight. The bacon that I used was smoked with maple flavor, it added a bit of sweetness, but was fine. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2003

      Instead of fresh green beans, I used frozen pole beans, and the flavor was awesome! Since I'm from the south, I've cooked green beans before with bacon and salt, but that's about it. I left out the mushrooms, almonds & chestnuts, but the pimentos really added a good flavor, along with everything else! Now with this recipe, we may have green beans (or pole beans) more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Good Green Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.3
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    47%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 5.1 mg
    1%
    Sodium 70.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes