9 Reviews

Great blend of flavors - the dressing really made this version pop! I used the nonfat sour cream in the dressing and added corn. Delicious! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews April 16, 2009

TERRIFIC! I would give this more than 5 stars if I could! I tripled the recipe. I made as directed though I used red and white beans, and added many optional toppings: basil, green onion, black olives, low-fat cheddar cheese, and some vegemeat with taco seasonings. We shared this with some friends from Venezuala who also enjoyed it. Thanks Maito! I will be making this again. Made for veg*n swap.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enjolinfam August 06, 2008

This was such a nice change from regular taco salad. I substituted light sour cream for the yogurt and added some taco seasoning to the dressing. The dish worked very well without any meat. Yummy! Thanks Maito!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz October 19, 2007

WOWEE! This salad is POPPING with FLAVOR! It really satisfied my craving for tacos which I can't have because I'm trying to eat healthier. I used white vinegar in the dressing and Pace mild chunky salsa...I didn't use the yogurt in it but served the salad with sour cream. I think the dressing is a new tangy FAVORITE! I used everything for the salad but omitted the chips. For optionals, I cooked ground turkey with taco seasoning, garlic salt, pepper and tabasco and I used sliced black olives, green onions, jack cheese and 2 percent cheddar. YUMMY! This is a KEEPER for sure! Made for the Went to the market game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Engrossed October 06, 2007

The creamy, tangy dressing (I used Paul Newman's salsa and lots of lime juice) make this salad! With a pound of ground turkey breast, this can be six meal-sized portions. This is great to have in the fridge for lunches all week - leave the dressing and chips off until just before serving, and add a new item or two every day to keep it interesting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen June 08, 2011

Delayed this two days to buy kidney beans, then forgot to add them! They're important because beans and corn provide a complete protein and they add such a rich color! To preserve colors for the photo, I tossed the dressing with only the lettuce and cilantro and added the colorful toppings afterward; I'd suggest this for serving also. We may have compromised the "healthful" aspect a bit with taco-seasoned ground beef, but the salad was beautiful and delicious and the recipe very adaptable. Made as a prize for Top Favorites of 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn March 04, 2010

This made a really tasty lunch today and the best thing is that I had everything on hand. : ) I added tomatoes, avocado, red bell pepper, green onions, red onions, black beans, cilantro and Monterey Jack cheese. I doubled the dressing and added a little more seasoning and a touch of mayo to thicken it (even though I initially used Greek yogurt). Made for the For Your Consideration tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration January 12, 2015

We really enjoyed this salad, just didn't much care for the dressing that much. I prefer a mixture of light mayo and taco sauce, but this was a nice change. I used the avocados, cherry tomatoes along with green onions, black olives and jalapenos. Wonderful combination. Just overlooked the kidney beans which would have been great in this. Thanks for sharing. Made for I Recommend Tag Game. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 10, 2009

This was tasty and healthful, 5 stars even though I made several changes. I omitted avocado and cilantro because BF doesn't like it. I used black beans and lined the plate with refried beans (cause I had some leftover). I included low-fat sour cream in the dressing. As for optionals, I included fresh basil (on my salad, not on BF's:)), green onions, black olives and low-fat Mexican mix cheese. I added salt and pepper too. Super quick and easy. I loved the tangy dressing too. I would make this again, thanks again Maito!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend March 06, 2008
Good for You Taco Salad