14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were a good healthyish treat. I will definitely make them again. thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lexi L March 15, 2011

Yummy! Excellent addition to my Christmas goodies list as my husband can't eat wheat or dairy.
Definite 2 thumbs up, even with my girlfriends who are chocoholics and don't have dietary restrictions. I added some maple syrup to sweeten them a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pastawendy November 27, 2010

Whoa!! These were outrageously creamy good! Super easy and shockingly wonderful. Because of a chocolate allergy I substituted carob, added some cinnamon and a tiny amount of stevia to sweeten a bit (maybe 1/8 tsp-probably didn't even need it). DH and I are trying out the RAW diet and these were perfect. We'll be taking these to the family reunion, they are sure to be a hit! Thank-you for a wonderful treat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tropicgal March 30, 2010

These were good. I've been eating them as snacks all week. They seem to hold up for about 5 days in the fridge. These are not sweet at all, very healthy tasting. This is fine for me, but if I were serving these to guests I'd probably add in some agave nectar to sweeten. I added some of the walnuts to the food processor by themselves to get them finely ground (for rolling them in), set those aside and then mixed the rest. It was a little thick to process, even with my decent food processor. Blenders would not work for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet March 05, 2010

Yummy! And so nutritious. I don't recommend trying to make this in a blender. I had to do it in batches. This has inspired me to buy a food processor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose March 19, 2009

Just made these. Very yummy!!! I used the blender since we don't have a very good food processor...I guess food processors (not necessarily ours) are better than blenders at this recipe, because it took forEVER to blend. Next time I'm so totally chopping the dates and nuts before combining. Fab recipe, Yogi! Thanks!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizzlizzita February 04, 2009

My friend made these today. Let me just say YUM! She used almonds instead of walnuts and about 1 1/2 cups of dates. I printed out the recipe and took it to the grocery store to buy the ingredients to make my own.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Sherry~ January 21, 2009

These were fantastic....i used half walnuts and 1/4 pecans 1/4 hazelnuts because thats what i had on hand....they were a little "wet" which may have been the combo of nuts i used so i added a bit more cocoa and they came out fine. thanks for sharing this great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angel-mae & cleopatra's mummy November 20, 2008

SO good...made 1/2 batch (portion and pocketbook control {{lol}}-i used organic raw walnuts, 3 dates, fresh blueberries (bought bulk and frozen by me for special treats just like this one) ... rolled them in unsweetened natural coconut flakes...want to make them again and again...they will probably join my Holiday goodies plates 'cause they are so YUM- will play with other things to roll them in and plan to "hide" an almond in the center of some next time...these were berry, berry good for me- THANKS!!! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free July 31, 2008

Wow! These were good, and I didn't even do a very good job of making them! I made half a batch and even that overwhelmed my little bitty food processor. Next time, I will grind the walnuts by themselves before adding the other stuff. I coated some with cocoa, which had its pros and cons. Everyone tried them, even my picky eaters. Great recipe! Thanks! Reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 April 05, 2008
'Good for You' Berry Truffles