Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Good Eats Roast Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Good Eats Roast Turkey

    Average Rating:

    157 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-157 of 157

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2006

      My dad hates roast turkey and insists on a fried turkey every year. Last year he was working so he couldn't fry his usual turkey, so I opted to try this recipe. I left out the allspice berries, ginger and the aromatics. I knew he would never go for it and to tell you the truth, not to crazy about it myself. But this was the absolute best turkey. He complained about not having a fried turkey, until he took one bite of this. He ate nearly the whole turkey himself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      I was scared to use this recipe for my first thanksgiving, but boy am I glad I did! People said it was the moistest turkey they had ever had. My 19lb turkey cooked in under 3 hours! It's not as hard as it sounds--I did the brining in a large paint bucket lined with a garbage bag, outside overnight on my deck. I am recommending this recipe to everyone I know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      This recipe is incredible! My turkey was soooo moist and flavorful. I did make a few changes: I put a blend of butter, rosemary, garlic, salt, and pepper under the skin and I also left out the cinnamon stick before cooking. Aside from that, I did everything as directed and it came out excellent. I had a 15lb turkey and it took about 2 hrs & 45 minutes total. Thank you so much for posting this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      Tried this and our turkey was so moist and tender! I even made my own vegetable stock. It's definitely worth the extra effort. I'll be making my turkey this way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2005

      I wish I could give this 10 stars because our Thanksgiving turkeys were a huge hit, thanks to this recipe. We doubled it and brined two fresh 10 lb. turkeys to juicy perfection. The only change was that we could not find allspice berries but the brine seemed fine without them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2005

      made this for the meat eaters in my family - they really enjoyed it. very tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      I've been making our Thansgiving turkey following this recipe exactly for the past 2 years, and it always turns out fantastic. Normally I'm one to tinker with recipes, but his one really doesn't need it at all. If you've never brined a turkey before, this is so easy, and produces a fool proof, amazing turkey. I highly recommend this method to anyone looking to do something different with thier turkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2005

      By far the best turkey we have ever had! Completely moist and falling off the bone. My somewhat skeptical DH also said it was the prettiest bird he ever had. We brined overnight (probably a total of 16 hours) and had to add an extra gallon of water b/c our container was so large. I couldn't find allspice berries anywhere so we added ground allspice to the brine. We also added butter and some of the fresh herbs under the skin. BEAUTIFUL! My boys (5, 3 and 1) kept sneaking into the kitchen HOURS after the meal to get bites - not of pie or fudge, but of this great turkey. Thanks for taking the time to post our new holiday tradition turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      This was my first brining, and without question, will be the method and brine recipe I use in 2006 as well. This recipe has some flexibility in it: I was using a cooler and had to refresh the brine to balance out the ice I was adding to keep it cool. I attempted to keep the ratio's correct, but I am sure it was not exact. It didn't matter, because the bird was not salty nor did it impart an overpowering taste. I brined for 2 days The brine also cut my cooking time by about 45 minutes and the moist leg bones were falling off the bird! (DH thanks this recipe for making turkey carving much easier than past years!). It was fantastically complimented by the Cornbread/Apple Stuffing Cornbread, Sausage, Apple, & Pecan Stuffing. As there is much debate on brining: I would recommend it as ‘insurance’ to a moist turkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2005

      Very easy, very juicy! I cooked breast-side down for extra tenderness. Took about 3 hours total for my 14lber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      What a difference the brine makes. I had never made a turkey brine before, thought this looked and sounded like a good one to try. It was fantastic, I will always brine my turkey from now on. I have to admit though, I stopped with the brine, I wasn't brave enough on Thanksgiving to try the aromatics. I got a little nervous about using the rosemary and sage as my husband really hates rosemary, and I was a little afraid to do that. I will try that on a small bird, later. I also injected the bird with butter while it was cooking, and put about 1/4 inch water in bottom of pan. I also slipped some butter under the skin on the breast. This was the best turkey ever! I may be sorry that I "chickened" out on the rest of the recipe, I will check that out when I am not serving sooo many people. Again, great brine and good directions. Thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2005

      I did use a different brine, however I will never roast a turkey without using this method again. In the 30 minutes roasting at 500 degrees, the skin turned brown and picture perfect. My 19lb bird was fully cooked in just under 3 hours and all my guest raved about how pretty and tasty it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      By far the best turkey I have ever roasted. I followed the recipe exactly. I brined the bird overnight. My 16 lb bird was fully cooked ready to serve in 2hrs 15 minutes. Caution when the bird is at 500 some smoke may occur. When I took it out of the oven I tented the bird in foil and let it rest for an hour - It was still hot when I carved it.. The breast meat was so tender & moist and the bird was golden. Thanks Gay for posting this excellent recipe - I'll never cook my turkey any other way

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2005

      The absolute best turkey you will ever taste, without a doubt. I have tried dozens of turkey recipes and none produce the same results as this recipe. Brining is definately the key to a moist turkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2004

      What can I say that hasn't already been said? We know that the brining process helps to make the turkey moist and juicy. It is nicely seasoned throughout. I brined the turkey using my water bath canner. Worked perfectly. I will never cook a turkey again without brining. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      I used this last year for thanksgiving dinner and it was a hit. everyone wanted the recipe! This ones a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2004

      Absolutely the best turkey I have ever had in my life (and my DH totally agrees!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Good Eats Roast Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (745 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 733.6
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    44%
    Total Fat 36.4 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 308.7 mg
    102%
    Sodium 295.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 92.7 g
    185%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rosemary

    sage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites