Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Good Eats Roast Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Good Eats Roast Turkey

    Average Rating:

    158 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 158

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2007

      You will never make your turkey another way. It is well worth the work. NOT opening the oven after tenting the breast is key. Worth it to invest $20-30 in a meat probe that allows you too monitor temperature from outside the oven. Last year we were worried it would be dry because there was no juice in the bottom of the pan. We wondered where it all went, then we cut the turkey. As you slice it, juice litterally comes pouring out like cutting very ripe fruit. If you use fresh herbs I would use 1/2 or 3/4 what the recipe says or it may be overpowering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      After 2 years, this is now a tradition at my house. My husband was skeptical (his childhood Thanksgiving turkey memories range from undercooked to exploding birds) but now he looks forward to our turkey around the holidays. He is truly a fan of this recipe. He starts anticipating the bird during the trek to Home Depot to pick up a 5 gallon bucket. He also volunteers to get up around 3 am to flip the bird (no, not like that!) He also is in charge of outfitting the turkey with its foil armor, and in charge of setting the thermometer. The two of us really have a blast sharing turkey prep/cooking duty -- it's an enjoyable holiday tradition! My family never really had a problem with dry turkeys but even so, my mom and sister rave over this recipe too. It's a lot of work, but once or twice a year is totally worth it! I leave out the candied ginger (couldn't find it the first year I made it). I also don't use an apple or cinnamon for the aromatics -- just seemed weird to me and turned out great anyway. Give it a try, you will be amazed how perfectly your turkey will turn out! It makes great sandwiches and soup -- assuming you even have any left!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      Love AB and LOVE this turkey! I've been making it for 3 thanksgivings now. Everyone wants to come to my house for the turkey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I tried this on the Xmas turkey and I have to say the turkey turned out to be the best I have ever ate (if I may say so myself!!). The white meat was very tender. The only downside is how messy it is to set up the brine. Having your turkey in a bucket gets you very strange looks but it is REALLY worth it. Give it a try you will not regret it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      Thank you soooo much. This is a great way to prepare a bird. I have never "brined" a turkey, or anything for that matter and it made it incredible. I will not make a turkey or whole chicken without brining again. It made the meat so juicy and flavored all the way through. My in-laws were very impressed!!! (Brownie points...lol.) I want to thank you for our non-dry holiday turkeys from now on....lol. Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

    • on January 05, 2007

      Made up this recipe for Chritmas Supper Everyone really enjoyed. The white eat was as moist the dark meat. This one is really worth the extra efford.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This was the first year my DH and I hosted christmas and this was our very first Turkey. We were nervous!!! But the directions were so very easy to follow and it turned out great! It was the best Turkey any of the family members have ever had. My grandma is still saying that this is the only way to cook a turkey. Needless to say we are now in charge of hosting Thanksgiving and Christmas. Great Recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      This is the second year I have used this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly except that I had a fresh turkey, and substituted ginger powder for the candied ginger. This year, having read other suggestions about brining turkey, I increased the amount of salt, as I used 2 gallons (8 liters) of water to cover the turkey. I also followed other suggestions, and brined the turkey one day and left it overnight to dry out for better browning. I cooked it late on Christmas morning (10 a.m.), so it was perfectly done at 1 p.m. For those who found it too pink, I have read that this is the result of a free-range turkey, the meat of which will always be pink. My thermometer showed that it was done, and I was able to convince my husband of this, as he was ready to put it back into the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      We prepared our Christmas turkey Alton's way and will continue to do so from now on. Not only does the bird taste great, it also looks like everyones dream of a perfect roast turket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2006

      This is so good. What a delicious turkey and so moist. This is the only way that I will make turkey in the future. Well worth the brining time and it was really really easy to do! It was picture perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2006

      I've made my turkey using Alton's method the last few years now and everyone loves it! The brining colors the outside of the meat a little... leaving a slight pinkish color on the outside. That color is all the flavor! Good eats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      This made for such a wonderfully-flavored, juicy turkey. I ended up using a well-cleaned cooler for the brining period because we don't have a 5-gallon bucket, and our 19.5-lb bird was too big for even my biggest pot. It was cold enough here that I could simply leave it outside overnight. Thanks for posting this great recipe. --Heather

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      We will never open the oven door, baste or stuff another turkey. Two years in a row we have made this for Thanksgiving, and it was a hit. We used a 20 lb. turkey, and it still worked fine with these amounts. I used powdered allspice, as I couldn't find the whole berries. I didn't know how to get the stuffing cooked, as there was no room in the oven, so I used a crockpot and added broth to keep it moist. This is our new tradition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      This was the best turkey I have ever made/eaten! Everyone loved it, and could not get over how moist and delicious it turned out. The only difference to mine, was I added some apple cider just because I wanted to use it up. FANTASTIC, and a new tradition in our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      We watched this episode twice on Food Network this Thanksgiving season and my daughter said this was the one she wanted me to use this year. So I used it for our 25# turkey. I wonder if I could have left it in the brine for 24 hours since it was such a large bird? I love the quick browning method for the turkey the first 30 minutes. Your bird looks like it came out of a magazine! The aromatics smells wonderful. It took 3 1/2 hours for the temp of the breast to read 161 degrees. Just had to made note of that for next time for myself. Thanks Gay for posting Alton's recipe and thanks to Alton Brown for this great recipe and all helpful insturctions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      OMG!!! My family thanks you! I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving and they are having me to make another one today! VERY juicy and tender. I can't thank you enough. I will NEVER make it any other way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      This was my FIRST Thanksgiving and after reading many good reviews, I decided to use this recipe. I looked up on Food Network the videos of Alton Brown explaining the reasoning behind it all and after seeing that and making my own beautiful, moist bird, I have to agree with everyone else, this is the best turkey i've ever had. My guests were a bunch of Marines, and they loved it, but I can't wait to make this next year for our families!! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      I kinda mixed this recipe with another when making my Thanksgiving turkey this year. I had just finished making a bunch of crystalized ginger a few weeks ago, so it came in handy for the brine. I didn't have any veg. stock, so I used plain black tea like I did last year. I added onions, garlic, and orange halves to my turkey when roasting, as well as rubbing the turkey with butter before hand. The meat was so tender, moist and full of flavor I know I will be keeping this recipe/idea around from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      This is the only way i will make and eat turkey now! something to make it even better-- use an injector syringe and shoot some of the brine into the fat parts- thighs, breasts, that kind of thing- a couple syringes full per breast does great for us! you can actualyl see the meat puff up a bit when you do it- and it makes alton brown's already wonderful recipe that much better! and then stuff a bit of fresh rosemary and fresh sliced garlic under the skin. as alton says-- good eats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Good Eats Roast Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (745 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 733.6
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    44%
    Total Fat 36.4 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 308.7 mg
    102%
    Sodium 295.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 92.7 g
    185%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rosemary

    sage

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes