158 Reviews

Wonderful!! We haven't had turkey in years because they always came out dry. I finally gave up and then quite by accident I ran across this recipe searching for something else. I doubted it, but tried it and followed the recipe to the letter (except for the ginger), and it was just perfect. Moist, golden, flavorful and relatively easy to do. So we thank you Gay and Alton, for bringing the turkey back into our Thanksgiving. I will never make it any other way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pies & cakes & cookies ohmy! July 10, 2011

This was the first turkey I've ever made and the best turkey that most of my guests have tasted. Not going to try anything else but this recipe in the future! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseCupcake April 11, 2011

Used this recipe basically but changed a few items ... all in all best turkey we ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie January 25, 2011

My first ever attempt at Thanksgiving and roasting a turkey. It came out better than any other turkey I've ever had. All of the meat was juicy and perfectly cooked. My only concern is the part of the directions that says to boil the brine until the solids are dissolved; I doubt that the allspice berries or peppercorns would have ever dissolved. I am guessing that the salt was supposed to dissolve completely. Regardless, it was perfect! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
likethebird November 29, 2010

I am replacing our brine recipe with this one! This was way to easy! Love brining! I agree with Mean Chef: you owe it to yourself to try it. Never ever will roast a turkey without brining! This is a good recipe to try, if you have never brined before, it's very simple and easy! Used a large stock pot after buying a ice chest to brine in....never thought about using the stock pot before...if you have one, they are great! Turkey fits in, already has a lid and it's food proof! No Worrys!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis November 26, 2010

I think this is the only way to cook a turkey! I have brined a turkey the past three years: Once using another recipe from here...then using a brine in a jar (way too salty)...and then this. This was intensely flavorful and juicy. Best of all...NO BASTING!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammy & Scott Saunders November 26, 2010

The best turkey my family and I have ever had! The turkey was moist, flavorful and the skin was crisp and golden. The white breast meat was moist and just right. The dark meat was even more flavorful. This was my first turkey and I definitely do not regret it! I got rave reviews and all of my guests were impressed. At first I was weirded out that my kitchen smelled more like apple pie than turkey during the first 1-2 hours of baking. It took 4.5-5 hours of baking at 325 to make a 14 lb turkey. This is becuase I did not roast at 500 for the first stage as my oven caused the power in my house to flicker when i turned it to 500. I had just enough brine to cover my 14 pound turkey. I tried the roaster bag for the brine as someone on the boards suggested but it burst and the brine leaked out. So I transferred it to a 5 gallon bucket. So, do not use the bags! I also had a hard time finding vegetable stock, after looking at a few stores I found it at walmart. If you are looking for a turkey recipe you won't go wrong with this one. I can't wait to get into the leftovers. I have now been making this recipe without fail for several years and it always comes out fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pepper Monkey November 24, 2010

LOVE! Never enjoyed turkey until we used Alton's recipe couple years ago...now I look forward to Nov when the first turkeys start showing up in the markets!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paleomama November 21, 2010

Best Turkey I have ever cooked

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wparkerjr November 09, 2010

I've never been a fan of Thanksgiving turkey as a child. This was my first time cooking a turkey, and I had worked myself up in to such nervousness because of how hard it was supposed to be! But this recipe made it simple, and the bird was perfect and SO delicious. It was so easy and juicy in fact I went out and bought a second turkey after Thanksgiving JUST for sandwich meat. My only complaint with the recipe as-written is one of taste - my husband and I don't care much for rosemary, and the flavor of it permeates the turkey. I leave it out now, and to my tastes the bird is perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tenshi November 09, 2010
Good Eats Roast Turkey