Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Good Eats Roast Turkey Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Good Eats Roast Turkey

    Average Rating:

    157 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 157

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2008

      What can I say that everyone else already hasn't?! Very juicy and great flavor. It will definitely be a recipe that I keep and pass on to my children.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Brining the bird definitely made all difference in roasting the turkey! This is the moistest turkey I have ever had, I also rubbed some sage on the outside of the bird and it came out beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      this was amazing! even today, three days after, it is still moist. it smelled even better. this is my turkey recipe from now on. thanks for posting. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This was our first time cooking a Thanksgiving turkey and Alton's recipe made a delicious, moist bird! We left out the sage and rosemary per my husband's preferences and we didn't have candied ginger, and it was still great. Rather than buy a gallon of decent quality veggie stock (we have MSG-sensitivities in the family), we made our own using Recipezaar Vegetable Stock. (We didn't have any leeks, but it came out great anyway.) We will definitely use this recipe again - this was one of the best turkeys I've ever had!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I followed the direction exactly, but cooked an 18 lb turkey. I cooked it for about 3 hours until my themometer reached 161F. I allowed it to sit for about 10 minutes covered with foil. When my husband began carving it, we noticed the breast meat was still bloody inside. We put it back in the oven and baked it until the temperature reached 170F. The meat was tender, juicy, and flavorful and I'll probably use this recipe again, but I will definitley cook it to 170F next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      AMAZING! The only way to cook a whole bird. I cooked a 22 lbs. bird for T-day. For the larger bird, i bought a new kitchen trash can to actually brine in (of course clean it first, no matter how new). And then put the trashcan in a large stockpot with ice water to keep cool. I used plastic wrap to cover. I brined for a total of 12 hours. I doubled the brine recipe to make sure to immerse whole bird, as to avoid disturbing while brining. I added %50 to the Aromatic ingredients cause of the bird size. Other than that followed the recipe totally. Adding a little bit of broth or water to the bottom of the roasting pan helps keep the dripping from burning during the initial 30 min 500 degree cook. But if you don't do that it's no big deal. Buy a probe thermometer, it's worth it. And don't forget to let the bird rest after cooking and before carving for at least 20 minutes. I let mine set for about 40 minutes. This recipe is AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      The only way I will make a turkey and works best on the least expensive turkey you can find. I have roasted 3 this way to rave reviews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This is the only way we will roast turkey from now on. I used a fresh turkey and brined it in a 5 gallon bucket for 7 hours. I made my own vegetable stock and it was worth the extra effort. McCormick's sells Crystallized Ginger for those who couldn't find the candied ginger. I made a compound butter that I slathered underneath the skin. My DH was joking about the "potpourri" smell from the aromatics cooking. I also added a 14-oz can of chicken broth to the roasting pan at the beginning so the high heat wouldn't burn the drippings. This was so good and moist. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Our Thanksgiving turkey looked beautiful and every morsel of meat was juicy and delicious. We'll never make another turkey without using the brine and cooking method from this recipe. I had made my own vegetable stock for the brine and after cooking the brine ingredients together I thought the liquid had a bitter, nasty smell. I was worried about how the taste would be, but pushed forward anyway and it turned out my fears were groundless. The only thing I would do differently next time is add some water to the roasting pan at the beginning. The high heat burned the juices that came from the aromatics and the bird early on and I had to strain the charred pieces out of the pan drippings (although there was no burned taste and the drippings were very good in the gravy). We were amazed at how moist the white meat was - absolutely the best ever. (To make veggie stock I used 1-1/2 Gal. water, some old, dried up baby carrots, coarsely chopped celery and onion, frozen green beans, a little cabbage and some leftover peas - simmered a couple of hours. Just scrounge around in your fridge and freezer for the ingredients - easy and cheap.) For brining the bird, I didn't have a 5 gal bucket that I trusted to be 'food-grade', so I put the turkey and brine in an oven-roasting bag, then in a trash bag and set it in a styrofoam cooler with ice packs on top. You could also use the roasting bag to line a 5 gal bucket, if you like. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      This was my first turkey attempt and even though I forgot to remove the bag of giblets (whoops!), it was a total success! I was so proud of it I started taking pictures before it was even done! I left it in the brine for 12.5 hours in a garbage bag lined ice chest and was glad I did. My critics were tough. I had no idea, but I have a family of turkey experts!! Even though the turkey was aboslutely beautiful, they all politely ho-hummed it a bit... but then the eating began! My dad said it looked a bit over cooked while he was carving it, but after tasting it, appologised and said that if you can cut it with a fork and it melts in your mouth then it is perfect (like this one). I also had an 84yr old woman continually say how delicious and wonderful it was as she was eating it (litterally, like 10 times)! Thanks for a great crowd pleasing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      fantastic. we buttered under the skin with 1/2 cup of herbed butter as well. turned out perfect! 18 lb turkey was gone in seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      Wow, wow, wow! I've cooked many a bird, but this was far and away the best. I bought a 5 gallon bucket at Smart and Final and brined away. It was DELICIOUS! The whole family was thrilled!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      Definitely worth the extra effort! I brined mine in one of those orange home depot "paint" buckets that you can buy for like $5 with a lid. Then, stored overnight in a large ice chest filled with ice. Worked great. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      I will NEVER cook a turkey any other way. The only thing I did different from the recipe was rub fresh herbs and butter under the skin just before cooking. My husband says both my mom and his were jealous that my first turkey ever turned out so much better than the ones they'd been making for the last 20 years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2008

      Used this for my first Turkey, and it was amazing. I used just water, rather than stock, and I didn't have any rosemary. It still came out luscious and juicy and totally delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      I really enjoyed this receipe, I have even retrofitted it to use on Gamehens. Thank you, it is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Best turkey ever, Very moist and simple to prepare. I let mine soak in the brine overnight and into the next day, total of about 16 hours,, came out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I made the usual 2 turkeys christmas day, brined them both with this recipe and barbequed one, oven roasted the other, they both came out amazing but the oven roasted one was like no other turkey I've ever tasted! It was that good! I will NEVER cook a turkey again without brining it. I froze some leftovers in a ziplock and when I defrosted it, was still the most juicy, flavorful turkey I"ve tasted, ever! I've seen Altons show on this, but didn't think it would be this good. Thanks so much for taking the time to post/and share this with us! This doesn't really take to much time, just do it the night before. P.s. I followed brine instructions exactly with the exception of candied ginger, I used powdered ginger. As for the aromatics, I didn't use the apple, I just put a whole onion incavity sprinkled with some ground cinnamon, ground sage and dried rosemary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Very Good. Brined the turkey for 12 hrs...came out very moist!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I used this recipe this Christmas to make my first ever turkey for the new in-laws and it turned out great! I did not use the aromatics since I opted to stuff my bird. I didn't get a lot of drippings since most of the juices stayed in the meat. But I still got a delicious gravy with what there was plus a little chicken stock. This will definitely be the recipe I use in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Good Eats Roast Turkey

    Serving Size: 1 (745 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 733.6
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    44%
    Total Fat 36.4 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 308.7 mg
    102%
    Sodium 295.8 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 92.7 g
    185%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rosemary

    sage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites