Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Good Eats 40 Cloves and a Chicken (Alton Brown) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Good Eats 40 Cloves and a Chicken (Alton Brown)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 01, 2010

      This recipe has always intrigued me, and I have always wanted to make it ever since I first saw it in an old James Beard cookbook some 20 plus years ago. This version was so easy to put together,
      AFTER I peeled all of those darn cloves...(my hands stunk for hours afterward)!!! I did use all chicken thighs and they did come out juicy and falling off the bone. I also chopped up a yellow onion, which I added, and it was a wonderful addition, since the onion took on a delightful sweetness which added great flavor to the overall dish. A great dish that will get made often here, only NEXT TIME I will make sure and use the pre-peeled cloves!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Sorry all you Twilight & True Blood fans - this recipe officially wiped out the entire vampire race... I couldn't believe the amount of garlic I peeled for this recipe. DELICIOUS! I ran outside to dump my garbage in the compost bin and could smell this cooking across my yard. It was amazing. I used drumsticks and thighs only (on sale at the grocery). Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly with PERFECTLY SCRUMPTIOUS results! Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      This was really great... the house smelled *wonderful* as it was cooking, and the end result tasted equally good. :) I used all chicken breasts -- boneless and skinless -- and a blend of chopped thyme, rosemary and sage. I followed the recipe as directed up for steps 1 and 2, but then instead of the oven finished these off in the crock pot. The chicken became so tender the meat was falling apart! Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe I will surely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      This was so easy and my goodness did the chicken fall off the bone! I love Alton Brown and this recipe does not disappoint. I used my cast iron skillet and then after it was done i threw a couple of the cooked cloves into my mashed potatoes. Great meal and so quick and easy. I was going to put it in the crockpot like another reviewer but was running late this am so next time I will. Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      LOVE this stuff! I cut the recipe in half but still use all of the garlic. LOL Like another reviewer, I leave the skin on the garlic while cooking. Then you pop them out of the skins after the dish is done. Yes, it is messy that way, but it is SO good! Sometimes, I also add some fresh rosemary, cutting back on the thyme. Thanks for posting 2Bleu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I love making chicken this way. I didn't have any thyme so I used fresh rosemary instead. It is so easy and delicious. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      This is a good dish and we've made it many times, but I prefer the twist of similar recipes and leave the garlic unpeeled. Then when its all baked, it pops right out of the skin onto crusty toasted bread, and spreads like butter. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Yummy, yummy!! I think I'll try to chop the thyme a little next time to get more of the flavor out, but the garlic was wonderful and the chicken was cooked just right. Thanks for posting this one guys :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Have made this several times and it is always wonderful. Make sure to serve the oil and the garlic cloves with the dish and lots of bread. Sop some of the flavorful oil with the bread and spread with the soft garlic. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Good Eats 40 Cloves and a Chicken (Alton Brown)

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 488.6
     
    Calories from Fat 361
    74%
    Total Fat 40.1 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 106.9 mg
    35%
    Sodium 247.9 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 26.0 g
    52%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes