29 Reviews

I have three little dogs, toy poodle, bichon and rescue dog - pomeranian-schnauzer mix. Before I even got these out of the oven, all three were underfoot waiting for them. They had to have one as soon as they cooled enough. Maggie, Abby and Kate give this ten stars. Kittencal thanks for another great recipe. My main cookbook is filled mostly with your recipes. If it is a Kittencal recipe, you know it is great. Thanks

Just made these again for about the 900th time. I add a little extra water so I can just pat out in a jelly roll pan and cut with a pizza cutter. I added a cup of peanut butter as I had some to use up. We also added a little Yorkie to the mix (the dogs - not the recipe), as if we needed another dog. They all loved them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea October 09, 2011

It's a Kittencal, of course it's good!!<br/>I've made these for our dogs for a while now and they LOVE them!! WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY better than those found in stores!! The only changes I've made were to use bacon grease in place of oil, and hot milk in place of water (when I was out of powdered milk). Always a huge success! Store well, too!! Thanks for another winner, Kitten!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pawsfurthought June 05, 2013

My dog loves these! I used chicken bullion because I didn't have beef, but that didn't make any difference to Luna! These were very easy and cost effective too. I will definitely make these over and over again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs_Rodz March 10, 2012

First time in making my hounds home made gourmet treats!! Nice follow thru recipe! I did however improvise - I added 1/2 can pumpkin pie filling and flax seed! I did a "tester" to see if they would eat the dough and they did. ;-) . so ... it's a 5 star hit here and 10 plus when cooked! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iluv2cook59 January 17, 2010

I made these for the dogs of my friends and family for Christmas, and I've only gotten good reports back. These were really easy to make (although I did need to add more flour to get a workable dough) and apparently dogs love them, so I'm sure I'll make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moonpoodle January 05, 2010

Awsome!! the only changes I made was that I didn't have any beef bouillon so I used beef broth in place of the bouillon and water it came out great!! The pups love them and the cat stole one with no shame whatesover! lol thanks I love your recipes!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
halloweencat01 December 15, 2009

Hi Carol!! Just a posting a review for my friend! She asked me for a doggie biscuit recipe and of course I knew you would come through for her - lol!! She made these and her pooch scarfed them down!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose December 14, 2009

2 big dogs and 1 cat loved these treats - we doubled the recipe and I let my little girl go crazy with it ....there will be special xmas shaped treats for our pets and other 4 legged friends! In lieu of the oil we used some drained fatty beef drippings from browning hamburger meat and the beef bouillon was a dry beef soup base.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay December 10, 2009

I made these exactly as the recipe stated, but the dough was way too fluid to roll, so I poured the dough out onto a lined baking sheet and baked for 30 minutes. Then I cut the treats into pieces. The treats never got hard after cooling, so I had to bake them again until they hardened enough to store. Sorry, Kittencal, I usually love your recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakedapple42 September 27, 2009

Teddy loved them! So easy to make and as you know whats gone into them, very safe. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Efimia March 21, 2009
Good Doggie Dog Treats