Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Good and Garlicky Sweet and Sour Pork Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Good and Garlicky Sweet and Sour Pork

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2010

      Great flavor and very easy. I had thinly sliced pork sirloin and did not need to simmer it in the juice for more than a minute. I used rice wine vinegar and ginger root, and a 14 ounce can of pineapple was plenty. I'll use even more garlic next time, and may throw in a couple tablespoons of ketchup. I also plan to add broccoli and use a red bell pepper for more color.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Absolutely SPECTACULAR!!! Wow was this amazing!!! I used a pork tenderloin and, in my opinion, it was the perfect cut of meat! I followed this recipe closely and increased the garlic by quite a bit. Didn't taste the garlic in it at all. I added a can of water chestnuts as well. Even my 4 and 6 year old thought this was super yummy. The pork was perfectly tender and the pineapple juice really permeated the meat. Served this over brown rice. HEAVEN!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      What a wonderfull recipe! I used a small can of pineaple which was plentry"for us and I did add some snowpeas,served over rice.Thanks for a lovely recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      What a great recipe to find while looking for something to go with a bowl of leftover fried rice! I cut up two very thick boneless pork chops I had on hand and used 1/2 ea. large red and green peppers. I put in the garlic halfway through the pork browning step, since I was worried I'd burn it like I usually do! I used two carrots sliced thinly diagonally for extra taste and color, but I put them in a few minutes before the other veggies so they would all be the same texture at end of cooking time. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper to taste. A great change from the syrupy, too-sweet sauces in most sweet 'n sour recipes. Thanks for a recipe I'll make often -- next time with fresh or leftover chicken!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This was delicious! We quadrupled the recipe and filled the rice cooker with basmati. One thing we found is that we needed to add extra spice when multiplying it so much... Thanks for a delicious and easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      Very tasty and quick. I had fresh pineapple available and used about two cups tight packed. I'd use more garlic if you want a strong garlic presence; it was barely discernible using the recipe amount. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      Certainly an attractive main dish! I made change and that was to use mushroom liquid because I did not want the alcohol in it. I sliced the carrots very thin but they did not cook in the suggested time. Not a big deal but I would add them a bit sooner. This recipe was good and simple to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Delicious! The steaming of the pork left it really tender and the only change I made was serving over white rice because it was all I had on hand. The only change I'll make next time is to use red bell pepper instead for a bit of added color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      Great Sweet and Sour. I did add water chestnuts and bean sprouts but made as written using fresh ginger root in the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      Fantastic recipe thanks! Loved the fact that it wasn't deep fried, and even though we just used the meat and vegie quantities we had in the fridge, it still turned out extremely yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      I really loved this dish. Not only was it one of the easiest things to prepare, but it tasted awesome! I'm not a pork girl, so I used chicken instead and it turned out great! I'm making this for the rest of my life. My half-life, unborn & unfertilized egg children are going to pass it on to their kids. Thank you, Bratty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      The entire family ate this up! Good taste, easy to make, and there are leftovers for tomorrow. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      I really like the flavor of this sauce - not too sweet but not too sour either. By not deep frying the pork, it's a much healthier dish also, which I really like. I used fresh pineapple instead of canned (and used water in place of the reserved pineapple juice) and it was really delicious. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      This recipe is very reminiscent of the Sweet and Sour Pork recipe I used steadily as a young bride many years ago, that was in the Betty Crocker Cookbook. The flavor and sauce is identical. I used a red bell pepper as that was all I had on hand. Thanks for the stroll down memory lane, bratty! : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      I made this tonight for dinner. Although I had to use chicken instead of pork because my husband doesn't eat pork, I thought it was very good. I was looking for a good, healthy recipe and was very pleased with this. I also added a small yellow bell pepper, and I think next time I may also add some red pepper and maybe water chestnuts. It isn't like the typical sweet and sour that you get at buffets and such, but actually I much prefer this style. Thank you for a very nice recipe, I'm sure I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I thought this was very good! I made it exactly as written, and the sauce turned out nice and thick. I've always been a bit afraid to mix fruit in with my meat, but I'm happy to report that the complimenting flavors of this dish was a huge stepping stone to getting over that! Thanks so much for posting your recipe, it is a real winner :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      MMM one of the best sweet and sour we've had and I will certainly make it again!! I used fresh pinapple because I happened to haveit in and subed chicken broth for the juice, worked out beautifuly! Also used Splenda brown sugar mix and fresh grated ginger. I just make half a recipe and served it over left over brown rice fried. Lushious dinner, thanks for posting! august 2008 - back again, yum!! our gandson loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Good sauce. I used chicken instead of pork and added some frozen stir-fry veggies. All in all a tasty dinner, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2007

      Um, I can't believe I am reading this correctly...255 calories for such a tasty and satifying dish?!!! I loved this. I did add 2 celery stalks and some quartered mushrooms to use them up and I served over basmati rice. Next time I will use a red pepper for additional color contrast but really loved this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Good and Garlicky Sweet and Sour Pork

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 240.0
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    13%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 59.0 mg
    19%
    Sodium 311.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 24.0 g
    96%
    Protein 20.6 g
    41%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes