10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A keeper! An easy recipe that turned out great!! I prepared the dough in the bread machine using the 'Wheat' setting, and baked it in the oven at 385 F for about 22 minutes. I used a loaf pan that is slightly longer than average, and got 18 slices out of it. The bread was crisp on the outside, and tender inside, and sliced nicely. (I always wait for the bread to cool completely before slicing.) Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truebrit March 28, 2010

I forgot the sugar!!! :-0 Cant wait to try it again with it! I have to say it is the best recipe I have tried using whole wheat. It was moist and light. Unfortunately, it kinda caved in a little I guess this is because I forgot the sugar! Duh!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Farzana February 18, 2010

3rd bread I tried with my dad's bread machine. This bread was delicious!! Had mine as toast in the morning but can't wait to try it fresh for a sandwich!! Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redsie October 30, 2009

This was good bread. I am not sure exactly what I am looking for to call a bread great but I'll know it when I find it. I love that its all whole wheat flour. I would like to try it again using the dry milk , I didn't use it this time because i didn't have any.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 February 18, 2009

A very easy, very light recipe -- we loved it! This is one bread that still tastes great once it's cooled and a day old (beyond that I don't know; we have six people in our family so nothing I make lasts much longer than that). I didn't use a bread machine, though, and it took me three tries to get it right: The first time I accidently knocked the pan while I was moving it during the second rising, so it deflated pitifully and ended up pretty dense, and the second time I only cooked it for a little over twenty minutes and it still had some dough in the center, then finally (yay!) I got it right at 375 degrees for about half an hour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EvaP June 26, 2008

I did recipe BECAUSE of the wonderful reviews! Thank you gals! It was every bit as good as you all said it was! Thank you for sharing this fabulous recipe! xo LA :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L.A. Stewart - way upstate N.Y. June 03, 2008

I am not sure what happened to my loaf of bread but it was probably a 1/2 pound loaf. When the bread machine was kneading I had a sticky ball of dough but in the bottom of the pan was still some dough that was a little runny. I used the whole wheat setting and will try again using the basic setting. Even with my mistake somewhere the bread was very good. It had a nice crispy crust and was soft and tender inside. Loved the flavor, so much better than store bought. This bread would be great with a bowl of soup or stew and sandwiches. Thank you LikeItLoveIt for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 March 09, 2008

This bread is awesome. I am a gestational diabetic and have been looking high and low for a 100% whole wheat - EASY to make - bread machine recipe and this one was perfect (and I HATE whole wheat bread). I tried it last night and it came out just awesome - probably the best whole wheat bread I've ever tasted. It's so much better than store bought - plus I know exactly what's in it. And unlike all the other "whole wheat" recipes I find, this one doesn't call for ANY white flour. I ate 3 big slices last night when it finished, 3 at lunch today and then used it for a turkey sandwhich at dinner tonight. It holds up well, is easy to cook (I'm a newbie cook!!), smells heavenly and tastes great - not too dense, not too dry. I used Country Crock butter instead of margerine and only 1 tablespoon of sugar and it still turned out fine. This is a definate keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coleroo February 19, 2008

This is an excellent basic whole wheat bread recipe to use from day to day. The loaf is rather large so I have the bread machine make the dough, then I split it in two and then raise in two regular size loaf pans. I bake at 375 degrees until done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thelamars4 December 31, 2006
Good 100% Whole Wheat Bread