Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gomashio (Toasted Sesame Salt) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gomashio (Toasted Sesame Salt)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2003

      This gomashio is so much better than what I have been buying in the grocery store, that I will just have to continue making it myself with this great recipe. I excitedly gathered my ingredients and placed them into my seldom used mortar, then energetically began the grinding process. Five minutes later, I wasn't quite as energetic and only a few of the seeds were pulverized. So...I just poured 1/4 of the mixture into my spice grinder and gave it a one second spin...voila...perfectly ground seeds. Thank God for modern appliances! As a reward for my efforts, I immediately used this toasted sesame salt as a light dip for some celery and radishes. Delicious. Sharon, thanks not only for this recipe but also for the encouragement to eat it for our health's sake!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2003

      Hi! Thanks for a great recipe. Just wanted to let you know that since you are using the food processor, be sure to only let it grind for a few seconds (not until fully ground) or you will damage the precious oils from the seasame and loose nutrients. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2003

      Hiya, Just wanted to let you know that the correct name is actually "Gomashio" the "Goma" means seasame seeds and the "Shio" means salt in Japanese.I have lived in Japan and found this gomashio to be the yummiest thing ever! I put it on everything. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      Absolutely fabulous!!! I just made some bread and sprinkled it with olive oil and the Gomasio and was in heaven! I will use this on everything! My sea salt never turned gray, but more of a light tan color. Thanks for a great seasoning that I will use ALWAYS! I've been trying to reduce my salt, and this is just the thing I've been looking for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      Thanks for introducing me to such a great condiment!!!This is wonderful and I can't wait to put it on EVERYTHING!!.....salads,rice, hummus,sandwiches,steamed vegetables,the list could go on and on.Thanks again for a great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      This taste very good, My DH is really going to enjoy using it. He is a diabetic,We both love the taste of sesame. Thank you for posting the Recipe, Sharon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Finally, I found brown sesame seeds in an Asian grocery. Thankyou for this wonderful seasoning. So far, I've tried it on fried rice and on chicken. and just love it. It did take me more than 7 minutes to make, maybe because I didn't have the heat on high enough. I also decided to use my blender rather than my mortar and pestle. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2008

      just to let you know...amazing in Hummus Hummus by Charisma Ramshandni I skipped the salt and tahini and used gomashio! YUMMY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      Delicious on everything. It took me quite a while to get the salt to turn any other color than white. Maybe because I used Kosher salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      LOVE LOVE LOVE this seasoning! Great vegan substitute for parmesan topping on pasta dishes. Like you, my husband loves the stuff and gets really psyched whenever I make it. I use a coffee grinder to get a fine texture. Highly recommended to top off a vegan lasagna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      Delicious! I will keep this on hand as a staple. We had it over brown rice and the flavor was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      This stuff is pretty good! I've always loved the taste of sesame! I have to admit that I cheated though, so I don't know if the benefits will be the same. I had purchase a package of sesame powder from the oriental food store not knowing what I was going to do with it. Well, I saw this recipe and thought what the heck. I'm assuming the sesame seeds were toasted before they were ground. All I had to do was to toast the salt and mix it all together. Voila! By the way, storage instructions on the package of sesame powder said it had a shelf-life of 1 year! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      I just made this and it is wonderful! I was making a spice basket for different people and this is going in for sure! I am shocked that two things so simple can be made into something that tastes so complex! I did substitue kosher salt because I had it on hand. Thanks for the great recipe! Jen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2004

      This is just wonderful! So easy to make with spice grinder. I will never be without it. I'm using it on everything!!! Thanks so much for this recipe. I like the idea that salt is healthy for me. I make all of my own spice mixtures because I like knowing what's in them and it's also more economical. I tape recipe onto side of jar. So when get low I have recipe right there. Love giving spice mixtures for gifts and this is one that will go on my treat list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gomashio (Toasted Sesame Salt)

    Serving Size: 1 (54 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10464.6 mg
    436%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brown sesame seeds

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes