13 Reviews

This recipe is fantastic. A roomate of mine in college used to make this for our house of five poor college students. Twenty-three years later, I am still making it for my family with parsley potatoes and garlic green beans. I use 6 skinned whole chicken legs. This also can be cooked in a crockpot. Give this recipe a try.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M March 13, 2003

Good stuff! This was Easter dinner this year, and Mom agrees with the 5 stars. Very easy to mix up, and the just pop in the oven and forget it. Great blend of flavors. I used chicken leg quarters.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani April 21, 2003

We had this last night, I used 4 chicken thighs and made half the sauce. We LOVED this recipe, it will be repeated many times at our house. Recipe Fairy, thank you so much. Mary

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary in OR April 24, 2003

I baked this covered with foil, the last 15 minutes uncovered. The instructions did not say to cover but the chicken was very good and moist and the sauce did not cook away.Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song February 08, 2008

This is easy and taste wonderful. I make it to impress my company. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen riley June 18, 2007

This chicken recipe is easy and fabulous. Thank you for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloob July 04, 2005

I made this in a crockpot...cooking about 3 hours on high and though my chicken legs were literally falling off the bone, they were strangely dry. I don't get how chicken cooked in rich (yummy) sauce could be dry...something I did? That's why I am not rating. I'll make it one more time on low heat next time....Thank you for posting. P.S. Could Russian dressing and Red French be one and the same? I did use Russian, but it was hard to find.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Dalton April 07, 2005

I used to make this all the time, pre-diabetes. It's very good and easy. There's another recipe on Zaar that's pretty much identical to this, but with a different name. It's been around for centuries, and I'm sure it will be around for centuries more. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ August 26, 2004

I liked how easy this was to get into the crockpot but liked the flavor even more. The flavor saturates the meat but is not overpowering. This will make a nice variation to my usual crockpot fare. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratwoman August 25, 2004
Golfer's Chicken