11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mmmmm.... such an easy recipe. I made this while I was babysitting my neice and nephew. The first batch didnt have time to cool off. 2nd batch we had to make double. Will be making this often.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carly75 February 08, 2003

I am rating this as this is similar to my recipe I double the recipe 10 tbsp. white sugar.4 tbsp. corn syrup, 2 teaspoons baking soda. I also when cooking when sugar is dissolved and starts a full rolling boil...bubbling across the top set the timer to three minutes. Remove immediately, add soda, stir down,...secret to this is to pour out onto a jelly roll pan with a silicone sheet, no buttering, just cool and lift right off, and break into pieces.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy June 27, 2007

I love Hokey Pokey just a couple of little hints ......
1. Mix together the golden syrup and sugar before you put it on the heat dont ask why but it seems to make the Hokey Pokey cook better.
2. Try to put your pot in water straight away after you get the Hokey Pokey out work fast this way there is very little left in you pot -really easy to clean.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
what21 August 24, 2010

Delicious and couldn't be easier. I cooked it for six minutes but had the heat turned way down after it came to a boil so it probably could have gone the full seven. Lots of fun, like a chemistry experiment after the baking soda was added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yankiwi December 16, 2008

So easy, no thermometer to mess with but I have to say i agree with Andypandy seven minutes was way to long, I found that swirling the pan occasionally til it just started to change color then pulling it from the heat and adding the soda worked. The first time it was way to burnt as I was trying to wait the seven minutes ;) But this was my first time being successful with hokey pokey (my mom's favorite)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladymedic December 15, 2008

Wow! What amazing stuff! I love Hokey Pokey ice-cream, so had to try this. I was shocked at the complete change in texture and colour after stirring the baking soda through. And so quick. I burned ours a bit too & found it difficult to spread it flat in the pan, but it was only my first go. Next time I'll be prepared for what's to come! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt September 30, 2007

Wow, what fun! I read the warnings about how quickly it can burn - but when it froths up in such a manic way it's hard to act quickly! Tastes fab! I doubled recipe and used half syrup, half honey. Dunno how I'll ever clean the pan but so what!!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina and Dave September 23, 2006

Wow! This was called honeycomb when I was growing up. Though it is difficult to not burn it. My DH has been able to make it not only once but twice. The second time he made it with honey. It didn't survive 30 minutes after it hardened though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fionnros September 05, 2006

Looked in Edmonds and used 5 TBSP sugar. Only note is get out of pan QUICK once baking soda is added and frothed up. Mine tasted a bit burned due to my slow response time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwiwife July 19, 2006

This was so yummy! My inquisitive side got the better of me so I tried it, not knowing what "Hokey Pokey" is, as soon as I added the baking soda I knew! It's like the crunchie part of a Crunchie! Great for an Ice-cream topping or home-made Crunchies and so simple. Thank You

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MikeH January 22, 2006
Golden Syrup Candy (Like Hokey Pokey)