18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, this is delicious chicken. Loved the marinade -- it gave the meat so much flavor and made it deliciously tender. Glad there was plenty to go around as DH over-indulged -- I might have too! Served this dish with some coconut rice and a veggie. Definitely a memorable meal and I will be making this dish again very soon. Made for PRMR, April, 2013.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry April 25, 2013

Simple and tasty, this chicken dish delivers! I used boneless skinless breasts, as I keep them on hand, and marinated for only the minimum time. The flavor comes through, even without a long time for marinating. I will tuck this one away for when I'm short on time. Made for the Best of 2010 tag game. Thanks so much for sharing, Noo!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl February 15, 2011

Yummm! I'm still eating this meal right now but I had to pause to review this! I cut the recipe in half and marinated the drumsticks for about 3-4 hours, using olive oil since I didn't have peanut oil. The chicken is so tender! It's been a while since I've used five spice powder, and the flavours are just wonderful. Forgot to add - I ended boiling the reserved marinade down on the stove first, before adding it back to the chicken for the rest of the cooking time. This really helped thicken the sauce and made a really nice glaze for the chicken. This'll definitely be made again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu August 24, 2010

Yum, sums up this dish very well Noo. What flavor, I used dry sherry and ground my own spices to make a fresh 5 spice powder, otherwise followed the recipe to a T. Made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. I marinated the chicken for 8 hours. This was so good, the chicken was wonderful, juicy, tender and full of incredible flavors, with a beautiful glaze. It was quick and very easy to make, resulting in a special meal, served with rice and asparagus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 21, 2013

The entire family loved this even the kiddos. This is a keeper recipe for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori January 27, 2013

I marinated the chicken thighs overnight. The marinade is great. The chicken was so tasty. I cooked it in the oven with the marinade. Thanks Noo :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 25, 2011

This is a fantastic chicken dish! I used skinless, boneless chicken thighs and the flavour was great! I marinated for 5 hours; the dish is super easy to put together and great for make-ahead dinners. I served with basmati rice and steamed broccoli. Easy clean up if you follow the advice and line the tray with foil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini January 26, 2011

More than 5 Stars! I broke the rules and made this with boneless skinless thighs, since I'm on a diet and really can't have the fat from the skin. Drained the fat after the first 35 minutes of baking, and then topped with the remaining marinade. I didn't really get a glaze, but that may because I didn't have the fat from the skin. The taste is wonderful. A keeper of a recipe. So glad I tried this! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 02, 2010

I followed this recipe as listed with amazing results. This is so tasty. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, It has been added to our regular rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenbeatrice September 14, 2010

This was great. I followed your directions exactly. I left it in the marinade for about 8 hours. The flavors go together so well. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* January 12, 2010
Golden Five-Spice Sticky Chicken