Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Golden Five-Spice Sticky Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Golden Five-Spice Sticky Chicken

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2013

      Wow, this is delicious chicken. Loved the marinade -- it gave the meat so much flavor and made it deliciously tender. Glad there was plenty to go around as DH over-indulged -- I might have too! Served this dish with some coconut rice and a veggie. Definitely a memorable meal and I will be making this dish again very soon. Made for PRMR, April, 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Simple and tasty, this chicken dish delivers! I used boneless skinless breasts, as I keep them on hand, and marinated for only the minimum time. The flavor comes through, even without a long time for marinating. I will tuck this one away for when I'm short on time. Made for the Best of 2010 tag game. Thanks so much for sharing, Noo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      Yummm! I'm still eating this meal right now but I had to pause to review this! I cut the recipe in half and marinated the drumsticks for about 3-4 hours, using olive oil since I didn't have peanut oil. The chicken is so tender! It's been a while since I've used five spice powder, and the flavours are just wonderful. Forgot to add - I ended boiling the reserved marinade down on the stove first, before adding it back to the chicken for the rest of the cooking time. This really helped thicken the sauce and made a really nice glaze for the chicken. This'll definitely be made again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      Yum, sums up this dish very well Noo. What flavor, I used dry sherry and ground my own spices to make a fresh 5 spice powder, otherwise followed the recipe to a T. Made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. I marinated the chicken for 8 hours. This was so good, the chicken was wonderful, juicy, tender and full of incredible flavors, with a beautiful glaze. It was quick and very easy to make, resulting in a special meal, served with rice and asparagus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      The entire family loved this even the kiddos. This is a keeper recipe for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      I marinated the chicken thighs overnight. The marinade is great. The chicken was so tasty. I cooked it in the oven with the marinade. Thanks Noo :) Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      This is a fantastic chicken dish! I used skinless, boneless chicken thighs and the flavour was great! I marinated for 5 hours; the dish is super easy to put together and great for make-ahead dinners. I served with basmati rice and steamed broccoli. Easy clean up if you follow the advice and line the tray with foil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      More than 5 Stars! I broke the rules and made this with boneless skinless thighs, since I'm on a diet and really can't have the fat from the skin. Drained the fat after the first 35 minutes of baking, and then topped with the remaining marinade. I didn't really get a glaze, but that may because I didn't have the fat from the skin. The taste is wonderful. A keeper of a recipe. So glad I tried this! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      I followed this recipe as listed with amazing results. This is so tasty. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe, It has been added to our regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This was great. I followed your directions exactly. I left it in the marinade for about 8 hours. The flavors go together so well. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      If DH and I could rate this recipe 10 stars, we would! This chicken was incredible! It turned out juicy and rich with flavor. DH and I both ate every last morsel and were not ashamed to also gnaw every last nibblet from the bones, licking our fingers happily afterwards. The only variations I made were scaling down the recipe to serve two, using chicken quarters instead of separate thighs and drumsticks--and catering the seasonings to our taste. Since DH can't stand anise or fennel, I omitted these two seasonings from my spice mixture (which I suppose wouldn't be authentic Chinese five-spicey). DH and I thought the ginger added just the right accent to the dish. Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe! (Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #34)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Delicious! The chicken was very flavorful and tender. I marinated the chicken for about 4 hours. I did substitute chicken breasts because my family prefers white meat. I served it with brown rice and Ginger Broccoli. Thank you for the recipe. Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      I made half of the marinade since there were only 6 pieces of chicken. It was enough to cover the chicken perfectly. After roasting for 40 minutes I poured off the grease from the pan then poured the remaining marinade over. Even with this method the marinade did not get sticky. I think a person may want to reduce the marinade on the stove top then add it to the chicken during the last 20 minutes of baking. The chicken came out tender with a nice reddish brown color to it. This was my second time of using the five-spice, I think it is a spice you need to get use to. I will make this recipe again as it is really easy to fix. Thank you for posting. Made for *Zaar Cookbook Tag 2009* game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      VERY yummy. I marinaded the chicken all day ( used 2 thighs and 2 drums) I only had a mushroom soya sauce and used veg oil and only 4 HUGE garlic cloves.At first I thought the garlic was very strong but with cooking it mellowed wonderfully. You will need a napkin LOL Made for 1,2,3 Hit Wonders

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Loved it and so did everyone. The kids are already asking me to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I love 5 spice seasoning so when I saw this recipe I had to try. I used chicken breast because my family doesn't like the dark meat and it was just delish. Served with rice and vege and there was nothing left but empty dishes to wash. Thanks for a great addition to my chicken recipe collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      My kids fought over the last piece of chicken, so I will be doubling the recipe next time! My little one, who is a really fussy eater, cried when he thought it was all gone. I gave him a piece and he was happy as a clam! I loved the combination of Asian flavors and this has been added to my rotation for something different to make that my kids and I both enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      O'kay I used a whole chicken (about 2K) which I quartered and marinated about 9 hours. Initially cook in a lined baking tray for 30 minutes and then poured the marinade over and cooked for a further 30 minutes. Didn't end up with a sticky sauce but that is o'kay for the sauce over the moist chicken and the rice was absolutely delicious and the DH compared it to my Sate Chicken but just different and thoroughly enjoyed by all. The pic is my portion (breast with wing) and I was battling to get through it in the end, ate just over half with rice and steamed veg. Thank you Noo, made for Photo Tag, Spring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Golden Five-Spice Sticky Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 851.9
     
    Calories from Fat 493
    57%
    Total Fat 54.8 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 276.1 mg
    92%
    Sodium 1271.4 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 17.6 g
    70%
    Protein 62.9 g
    125%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    five-spice powder

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites