45 Reviews

Lovely, fluffy pancakes. I've tried a lot of recipes always looking for that one perfect one and this is at the top. I made two changes. Added 1 teaspoon of vanilla, I just do as like the added flavor and something I haven't done before but wanted to try. Exchanged the milk for club soda, made them even lighter and fluffier Soooo good, will be using this again thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 March 09, 2013

I read the reviews thinking "oh no, i'm going to make another flat batch :(" I did let the mixture sit for half an hour or so before making them into pancakes. This recipe is awesome and they do come out puffy and fluffy for me, similar to a nice big fat soft crumpet! I love this recipe and have always struggled to make pancakes; I am just so terrible at them! This recipe is gooooood! mines come out about a cm thick and that does beat my past attempts... yummy yummy yummy!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EMonika December 10, 2012

I'm not sure I have ever tasted a better pancake! This recipe is everything you expect from a pancake, light and fluffy with just the right amount of sweetness. I have tried many pancake recipes on this site and also from many cookbooks. However, this recipe stands above all others I have tried in texture and flavor. I will be sure to use this recipe again and again! Thank you, love4culinary!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev February 17, 2008

Angela...you werent kidding here, these are so good plain and good with your BF idea of the cinnamon and sugar swirl. I added a little almond extract to some and that was super too. These are my pancakes to make from now on, in fact my BF requested a second batch for the freezer! TY

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE April 29, 2003

Not to sure what some people are complaining about, maybe your baking power is dead, or you have over mixed the batter, if it's to thin thicken it with alittle more flour, mine were thick and fluffy, all i did different is added a little bit of pure vanilla and a handful of blue berries. this is honestly the best scratch pancake recipe i've found to date. once again if you over mix something like this it'll go flat and no fluff to it.... These are AWESOME if you do it right

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakergirl75_3616740 July 07, 2013

I made these other day, and I was very happy with outcome. I did "sour" my milk before I began with vinegar, to have the buttermilk effect. I added a dash of cinnamon, and cut down on just a tad bit of milk because of some of the reviews that said it was a little runny which caused thinness. My outcome was fluffy, thick pancakes. I use to make fluffy pancakes recipe from allrecipes.com, however this will now be my go to recipe for pancakes =). Thanks for sharing Love4culinary, appreciate you sharing your recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Substance777 August 30, 2012

This recipe is definitely over-rated, all 24 of you! Pancakes were NOT extra fluffy [at all] and quite sweet (even though I only added two tablespoons of sugar); however, if are you looking for a pancake with crepe-like qualities, this is the one for you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatzl May 27, 2012

While these were delicious, I have to agree with Elz'smom that these were not fluffy and in fact very flat. I was hoping they would look like the picture but they were very thin instead. I followed the recipe exactly so I know it wasn't a mistake that I made.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
criskub March 10, 2012

These pancakes are fabulous! Ever since I got this recipe I have never made pancakes any other way! The pancakes do come out reallly thin, but they are delicious! I tried adding a little bit of butter and less oil, and they came out perfect! Thanx!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkicing March 04, 2012

Lightest fluffiest pancakes ever!!!! I can only imagine that the people who ended up with flat pancakes using this recipe accidentally used baking soda instead of baking powder. Common mistake that will make this recipe fall flat. Pun intended! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frostykist February 25, 2012
Golden, Extra Fluffy Pancakes