Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Goi Cuon (Vietnamese Cold Spring Rolls) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Goi Cuon (Vietnamese Cold Spring Rolls)

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2010

      A few tips- I haven't made this particular spring roll recipe, but have made others- The rice paper is easier to manage if you have a slightly wet paper towel on your work surface. This helps keep it from sticking and/or tearing- If you need to prep these ahead of time or have left overs, you can store them in the fridge in an air tight container. Mine didn't get hard, but I also soaked the rice paper for 40 seconds each and they were not too soggy.The trick for storing them is not to let them touch, because they will stick together- Also wet enough paper towel (squeeze out excess water) to line the container beneath the rolls, and lay some across the tops. I had made a few too many but they were still just as good two days later and hubby even took some to work for lunch. I hope someone finds this helpful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      What can I say, but fabulous? This is one of my favorite things to order in Asian restaurants, but the homemade version gave me such satisfaction! hehe! The dipping sauces are essential in my opinion...but this recipe is a definate keeper! Thanks HeatherFeather!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      Great recipe. I added some shredded carrot, but everything else was the same. I used both dips and enjoyed both. I did put a damp paper towel down on the counter so they didn't stick, but they rolled up very easily. The key is to make sure everything in thin cut and small so it rolls easier. Perfect recipe, light healthy and easy, Thx, I will absolutely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      I have always loved spring rolls whenever I go to vietnamese restaurants....This recipe taste exactly like what they serve in the restaurants! Plus they are low fat and easy to make (once you maste the folding process).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      Spring rolls with fish sauce, are very easy to make, and they are one of my favorite Vietnamese foods. My friend Lien showed me how to make these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      WOWOWOWOWOW. Thank you SO MUCH for taking the time to post this. They were absolutely delicious and the best part was that I could add extra of my favorite ingredients (like cilantro) to tailor it to my taste. We added shrimp to our's and loved the flavor. I can't say enough about how EASY and awesome the results were. Instead of the Hoison sauce though, I copied a sauce at a local Thai restaurant. I added sweet chili sauce, chopped peanuts, peanut oil or a little peanut butter, and sriracha. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      My family LOVES vietnamese spring rolls and these were just as good as the restaurants. We used shrimp only, easy on the cilantro and mint and no sprouts. Bought a bottled dipping sauce for time sake. Fantastic and consumed, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      Incredible! I didn't use chicken, but added carrots and green onions. These are really hard to wrap, but after doing a few I got the hang of it. These tasted just like the spring rolls at my favorite Thai restaurant. Thanks for the amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      I LOOOOOOOVVVVVEEEE spring rolls... i was a bit scared to try these at home, but they turned out great!!! i left out the mint and cilantro because to me mint is soooooo strong that i cannot taste anything else... what i put in is, mango, lettuce, pineapple, cucumber, green pepper, carrots, bean sprouts, vermicelli noddles, cooked chicken and peanuts... it was delicious, not the exact same as when i order at the restaurant but still just as fun and good..

      what i found helpful for the rolling process was to put your piece of lettuce (i used romaine lettuce) cut into the length of desired spring roll (about 1 inch gap on each side).

      Stuff your spring roll as desired on top of the lettuce and then tuck in one side of the rice paper underneath the lettuce and then roll it a bit, tuck in the sides and then finish rolling letting the spring roll sit on top of the seam to make sure it doesn't spring on ya!

      good luck every one and happy eating!!!

      i just wish i could manage to make the peanut sauce i'm used to eating them with at my fav restaurant....:( next time i go i'm bringing some home for sure!!!!lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      these were just as good as you order in the restaurant. I can say that I'll be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      These are good. The first time I made such and had a lot of trouble rolling them but it wasn't for company so that's OK. I used just cooked chicken breast which I sprinkled with sea salt. For the lettuce I used a combo or baby spinach and baby arugula as that is what I had on hand, English cucumber, no bean sprouts and sliced green onion. I made a separate dip because of allergies which was pretty good using lime juice, minced garlic, cayenne in a very small amount, sesame oil from unmixed Middle Eastern tahini, a little of the tahini (to replace peanut butter, allergy) & brown sugar. If I could roll these better I would make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2012

      These were great! I omitted shrimp, because we don't eat it, and I added a little more chicken. They were easy once all the prep was done. I need to practice on my wrapping and rolling a little more, but everyone in the family enjoyed them. The rice papers were not that difficult to work with, especially with Allison 333's suggestions. We will indeed have this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      This was my first time ever making spring rolls. I made mine vegetarian and added a few more ingredients, shredded cabbage instead of lettuce, chopped peanuts, and scallions. The rice paper was larger than I thought and were the same size as a small tortilla. After wrapping, I cut them in half and they were just the right size for our guests. I used Thai Dipping Sauce for Spring Wrap or Egg Rolls for the dipping sauce and got great compliments for each! I definitely will make these again and thanks for the great instructions you provided! Great job HeatherFeather!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      OUTSTANDING!!! These are the real deal, just like you'll get in a restaurant! I made a few tweaks for personal taste, I used Thai Basil, no mint (thought it'd be a little much), and added some carrots and cucumbers cut into matchsticks. I left out the chicken, and it was GREAT!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      These were a lot easier to make than I had expected. I left out the shrimp since I didn't have any on hand. Next time I think I'll make sure the chicken is chopped a bit finer since it's a pain to bite the large pieces out of the rolls. I also used the peanut sauce from "Pan-Fried Tofu with Spicy Peanut Sauce" recipe (#69191) which was perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Great recipe, fresh tasting and easy to make, i used "Vietnamese Peanut Sauce - Dipping Sauce for Fresh Spring Rolls" that's posted here as well and it complimented the dish very well. Will make it again! thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2013

      Awesome. nice healthy snack and very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

    • on August 06, 2012

      This was a great summer dinner! The kids loved making their own. Added carrots. Don't omit the cilantro or mint. Great combination. Used a Asian peanut sauce for dipping. Will be making this again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2012

      I usually add some julienne cucumbers (with the skin on for some texture). Mint or cilantro are great, but i always choose one or the other. Also, the spring rolls are good with sweet chili sauce (the bottle kind) or a quick (Thai) peanut sauce. Best lunch around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Goi Cuon (Vietnamese Cold Spring Rolls)

    Serving Size: 1 (1247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 32.4
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    43%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 19.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 64.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice paper sheets

    fresh cilantro leaves

    fresh mint leaves

    vermicelli rice noodles

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes