10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent beef curry, and a wonderful addition to an Indian banquet. I made this with rump steak, so it was tender within 40 minutes. Because my lid wasn't very tight-fitting, I was almost out of liquid by then, so I added a bit extra coconut milk. I have a big crop of fresh Thai hot chillies, so used those in place of the chilli powder. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy May 24, 2010

I'm South Indian, and I think this is a delicious beef curry! To avoid the hassle of grating the ginger, I threw the onions and ginger into the blender. Cooked those down first, and then added the garlic, so that the garlic wouldn't burn and taste bitter. I did my cooking in a pressure cooker, and once the meat was browned and the spices and creamed coconut added, I added only 1/4 cup of water, and pressure cooked it all for 30 minutes. After pressure cooking, I adjusted for salt, and added 1-2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar to brighten the flavor--it's not Goan without vinegar! A delightfully rich and tender beef curry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purpleyeris May 31, 2015

Loved this, and wouldn't change a thing! It's definitely one of the better beef curries that I've tried. I made this a day in advance as I usually do with curries, and the flavors really mellowed and deepened after a night in the fridge. Delicious- thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer May 01, 2013

YUM! I did make half the amount of meat but kept the rest of the ingredients the same.
Made for ZWT #8 Lively Lemon Lovelies. Namaste

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ September 04, 2012

Oh my, this was super delicious. I really enjoyed the blend of spices and flavors going on in this dish. I serve it over rice as suggested in the directions, and the sauce really flavored the plain basmati rice quite nicely. This dish was the highlight of my week. Thank you for sharing your recipe, PaulaG. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal August 22, 2012

Very good, lots of flavors and super easy to make. I served over rice but really wished I had made some Indian bread to go with it. Thanks for posting. ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio June 26, 2010

Just made this - rather than over rice I served it with Bombay Aloo (a potato dish; the BBC website has a good recibe for it) and it was a resounding success. Many thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marion.bulmer December 08, 2009

Deeeeeelish - I totally cheated though... which meals that if this is followed precisely it should be 10 star worthy! I used ALL dried ingredients (I live in Podunk Town right next to Middleofnowhere Valley, so my selection is very limited). 1.5 tsp ground cardamom; Fennel (same); 6 tsp ground cloves; 1 entire cinnamon stick; Fenugreek & Peppercorn (same); 3 tsp ground coriander and cumin; and 1.5 cup coconut milk (no water); the remainder stayed the same. Very very very tasty meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene November 17, 2009

We eat lots of curries and our usual question is "would you be happy paying for this at the local Indian restaurant"?. This one received a resounding "YES" from both of us. It's fabulous. Like Paula says, it's super quick to put together (I think the hardest thing was finding the various seeds and spices in the pantry) and tastes wonderful I made it for the two of us with all the spices and liquid and half the oil and meat (we love lots of sauce). And I'm not fond of cinnamon and especially the sticks, so I just used half a teaspoon of powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 04, 2009
Goan Beef Curry