15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe has been around for at least 45 years, believe it or not. My sister-in-law's mom used to make them when I was little, and then my sis-in-law took over. She uses a hot sausage, so I don't care for them But with a mild or sage sausage, they are terrific.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martie Vacek October 05, 2014

My Grandma used to make these when I was young. I made these for our super bowl party and most everyone seemed to enjoy them. I halved the recipe. Thanks for sharing this one, brings back fond memories.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeeperAtHome February 04, 2009

I made these for superbowl. DD ate the topping off of one, I had 2 and DH had 4 Everyone's opinion was a little different. So we averaged it to 3 stars. Thanks for the tip on how to freeze them. I'll freeze what is left and DH can pop 4 into the oven when he needs to grab something quick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom February 07, 2010

My mom used to make these. We called them "Little Pizza's". They're great to have in the freezer - just pull out a few for a quick snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzybob February 06, 2010

My mom made these all my life for partys. She called the "Mrs. Somebody's Mistakes". We love these, especially DH. These are a GREAT SuperBowl item, because in my opinion, all superbowl food should be finger foods! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ICULUV2cook2 January 31, 2008

These are great appetizers...I did a freezer meal session and made these. Quick to whip together. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KLC October 22, 2007

I love this recipe and have been making it for years. I put some pizza sauce on the bread. These are great to have in the freezer for a quick appetizer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie July 05, 2007

My kind of snack -- easy, makes a lot, and people like them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melazycook May 25, 2007

Froze and used these for 3 different get-togethers and got great comments. Best served warm,, but taste good room temperature too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjack March 30, 2007

Well, I was optimistic...but this appetizer didn't do it for me. I had a house full of people for a Superbowl party. (Bears vs. Colts - 2007) And there was quite a bit leftover. Once it cooled the meat combo became "gummy". Maybe it was because we were rooting for the Colts?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sadie88 February 08, 2007
" Go Bears!" Party Ryes