36 Reviews

We adore gnocchi, and this was such a good way to enjoy it! definitely a make-again. I have never cooked the gnocchi in the sauce before, I usually cook it in a pan of boiling water for about 7 - 10 minutes, until the gnocchi float to the top, and then combine them with the sauce. I used your method and it worked well, but I did add about 1/2 cup of extra water to the sauce, since the gnocchi seemed to be absorbing too much liquid and making the whole thing stick to the bottom of the pot. That 1/2 cup seemed to be just enough. I made the sauce exactly as stated, but I did add a tiny pinch of sugar, after tasting, I always add a pinch to my own tomato sauce to take away that slight acidity, and I guess I am used to it, I felt it was needed! personal taste! I used my own fresh basil from the garden. Quickly prepared, this was excellent, just the best comfort food, thank you so much for sharing, Sarah-Jayne. Made for Veg*n swap#17

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth December 10, 2009

Yummy. Did boil gnocchi just to floating stage before assembling dish. Also added about 1/2 cup of jarred spicy pasta sauce-to add some richness-and a pinch of sugar-to cut acidity. Will make again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
french toast March 16, 2010

Can't believe I've forgotten to review this recipe, it's fantastic. Such wonderful comfort food and a snap to make. I love to add things in too, like mushrooms, fresh spinach, leeks, etc. Make this often and I love it!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moor Driver March 08, 2009

I made this for dinner tonight and wow! Is it ever good! I used about 1/2 package of shredded mozzarella instead of buying a ball of cheese and tearing it up and it had a lovely, brown crust of cheese over the top. I have one portion remaining to enjoy for lunch.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irmgard August 14, 2008

This recipe was quite simple to prepare and a tasty change for my family. I also only used 1/2 a very large red capsicum but I added almost a cup full of sliced mushrooms. I also seasoned well with salt and pepper. Very nice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busyozmum October 21, 2008

What a delicious and easy recipe! I didn't have any fresh mozzarella on hand so I used a shredded Italian blend. It still turned out great but I know that it would be even better with the fresh. I also subbed a zucchini for the red pepper which added a lot of color. This is a great recipe Sarah, Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
esmerelda smoot September 17, 2008

This was delicious!! I used my own homemade potato gnocchi for this recipe and for the first time EVER, my husband said how good it tasted! It will always be my stand-by recipe whenever I make gnocchi in the future. Rather than dicing up the onion and red pepper, I rough chopped it in my food processer to save time and bring the juices out. A heavenly dish...thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hudakore January 30, 2014

Great go to meal! Super easy and inexpensive. We like our stuff saucy so I used 2 cans Italian-style tomatoes. As suggested in previous reviews I boiled the gnocchi for a couple of mins before adding to the sauce. We like a ton of garlic so I used several cloves that I grated on a micro plane grater. It turned out I didn't have any bell peppers so I just left it out and it was still delicious. If there is a costco near you they have great mozzarella for a good price. It comes in 2 one pound packages and I used a whole pound. Really wish I would have doubled this because we ate it all! Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyLin October 18, 2010

Very simple to throw together and nice flavor to sauce. I'm just not sure I like gnocchi as much as some other pastas, it's a texture thing for me...seems like they get mushy and doughy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Gal March 23, 2010

We made this last night for dinner. It was our first time trying gnocchi so I'm glad we found a recipe that was very good. I think I'm going to add some fresh black olives next time. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ARathkamp March 05, 2010
Gnocchi & Tomato Bake (With Freezing Instructions)