Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten & Yeast Free Italian Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten & Yeast Free Italian Bread

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2008

      This recipe is outstanding. I omitted the sugar, which I don't eat. I may have used a sprinkle of stevia. Also, I read the recipe wrong and used 3 whole eggs, and I added 2 tsp of baking powder. Pure perfection and way better than anything frozen you buy GF/YF anywhere! Thank you. maximezara

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2013

      Love this recipe. I followed other posters tip and used baking powder as well. Since I have had GF bread recipe failures in the past, I baked only half the recipe. Also used honey instead of sugar and Guar gum instead of Xanthan. Turned out really, really good. The best part is you dont need yeast which I am trying to avoid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      This is a great recipe with patience. After reading some reviews and trying a few variations....I changed it up a little.... I added 2 tsp of non-alum baking powder, I used 2 tsp of xan. gum instead of 3 and 1 tablespoon of sugar. After researching and experimenting...I used distilled water, sea salt and apple vinegar. Also, the kids that I am making the bread for are allergic to eggs, therefore, I substituted a gelatin mixture for the eggs. After mixing really well with a mixer, I decided to make dinner rolls instead of a loaf. It cooked well and all the way through. My friends couldn't tell it was gluten, yeast and egg free bread. I couldn't give it a full 5 stars because of all the modifications, but it is a really good bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      Very disappointed in this recipe - despite cooking an extra 15 minutes it turned out uncooked and very heavy - nasty will only be able to use it for bread pudding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Not sure if it was me, but this really stuck to the pan. The flavor is good, but it comes out very dense and chewy, almost like it's not done (even after 45 min.) Not sure if there's too much water? I might try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I loved this recipie soo much. I did one substitution though i omited one cup rice for one gluten free flour mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      tried this after I had read the reviews, and made a few changes of my own. I use a (purchased) bread flour mix for baking,cut the egg down to 1.5 whites and used 3tsp of baking powderand olive oil instead of butter. Also I have found that if using a loaf pan, the smaller and narrower, the better the loaf will rise. I have made this 3 times, using flours as described in the recipe and also with brown flour mix, each time I bake it is better. Next time I will use sparkling water instead of tap water, to give it a bit more lift. this makes great sandwiches and toast also keeps a few days. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Per LARavenscroft's suggestion, I added 2 tsp baking powder and reduced zantham gum to 2 tsp (also substituted with guar gum - no change in texture/flavour). IT TURNED OUT GREAT! Tastes very good (due to lack of yeast) and didn't break apart - great for sandwiches and toasted. Still a bit heavy but it's hard to make a gluten-free bread light. This would make a great cheese bread with/chives also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Made for My 3-Chefs 2008. While the flavor of this bread was very good, it came out of the oven very dense and kind of doughy. I think it may be missing baking powder. I'll try this bread again and add some baking powder in hopes that it would be a little bit lighter. I, too, am allergic to yeast so if I can get this a little lighter I will be one happy camper. Thanks Gluten Free for posting this and giving me a place to start.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten & Yeast Free Italian Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.1
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    17%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 484.8 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes