9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is outstanding. I omitted the sugar, which I don't eat. I may have used a sprinkle of stevia. Also, I read the recipe wrong and used 3 whole eggs, and I added 2 tsp of baking powder. Pure perfection and way better than anything frozen you buy GF/YF anywhere! Thank you. maximezara

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maximezara December 05, 2008

Love this recipe. I followed other posters tip and used baking powder as well. Since I have had GF bread recipe failures in the past, I baked only half the recipe. Also used honey instead of sugar and Guar gum instead of Xanthan. Turned out really, really good. The best part is you dont need yeast which I am trying to avoid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelyjenkins July 27, 2013

This is a great recipe with patience. After reading some reviews and trying a few variations....I changed it up a little.... I added 2 tsp of non-alum baking powder, I used 2 tsp of xan. gum instead of 3 and 1 tablespoon of sugar. After researching and experimenting...I used distilled water, sea salt and apple vinegar. Also, the kids that I am making the bread for are allergic to eggs, therefore, I substituted a gelatin mixture for the eggs. After mixing really well with a mixer, I decided to make dinner rolls instead of a loaf. It cooked well and all the way through. My friends couldn't tell it was gluten, yeast and egg free bread. I couldn't give it a full 5 stars because of all the modifications, but it is a really good bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lily393 February 09, 2012

Very disappointed in this recipe - despite cooking an extra 15 minutes it turned out uncooked and very heavy - nasty will only be able to use it for bread pudding.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Foxy April 11, 2011

Not sure if it was me, but this really stuck to the pan. The flavor is good, but it comes out very dense and chewy, almost like it's not done (even after 45 min.) Not sure if there's too much water? I might try again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead July 26, 2009

I loved this recipie soo much. I did one substitution though i omited one cup rice for one gluten free flour mix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
funnyhoney February 15, 2009

tried this after I had read the reviews, and made a few changes of my own. I use a (purchased) bread flour mix for baking,cut the egg down to 1.5 whites and used 3tsp of baking powderand olive oil instead of butter. Also I have found that if using a loaf pan, the smaller and narrower, the better the loaf will rise. I have made this 3 times, using flours as described in the recipe and also with brown flour mix, each time I bake it is better. Next time I will use sparkling water instead of tap water, to give it a bit more lift. this makes great sandwiches and toast also keeps a few days. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
idarefsky December 22, 2008

Per LARavenscroft's suggestion, I added 2 tsp baking powder and reduced zantham gum to 2 tsp (also substituted with guar gum - no change in texture/flavour). IT TURNED OUT GREAT! Tastes very good (due to lack of yeast) and didn't break apart - great for sandwiches and toasted. Still a bit heavy but it's hard to make a gluten-free bread light. This would make a great cheese bread with/chives also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzyQ in Oshawa July 09, 2008

Made for My 3-Chefs 2008. While the flavor of this bread was very good, it came out of the oven very dense and kind of doughy. I think it may be missing baking powder. I'll try this bread again and add some baking powder in hopes that it would be a little bit lighter. I, too, am allergic to yeast so if I can get this a little lighter I will be one happy camper. Thanks Gluten Free for posting this and giving me a place to start.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft June 22, 2008
Gluten & Yeast Free Italian Bread