27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Best best best gluten free bread ever! Tastes like real bread! I used 1 t. Honey and safflower instead of canola! I also let it knead for 20 in breadmaker, let rise in warm 200 degree oven and then cook about 40-45 mins! Awesome!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Intolerances Cook July 29, 2009

This is the best gluten-free bread recipe I have tried! It's tasty and not crumbly. Because I don't have a problem with cholesterol, I used 3 whole eggs rather than 4 egg whites & egg substitute. I also use olive oil instead of canola and bake using the old fashioned method rather than a bread machine.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Max's Grandma May 25, 2010

This recipe is wonderful. It is consistently very good, the best I have tried yet. I tried subbing a cup of sorghum flour for the rice and didn't care much for it that way, but I can sub for the starches with no problem ( I usually don't have potato starch so often use tapioca for it) but the potato starch does add a bit more softness if you have it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kacantu1 December 28, 2008

I'm not giving this any stars until I try and make it again exactly as written. I didn't have all the flours, so subbed other flours instead. Maybe that threw things off, because my bread was really, really dry. So dry, in fact, that the texture was more like a crumb topping for a cobbler--no kidding! I make regular bread all the time, so was shocked and added a bit more water...enough for it to stick together and make a loaf. So far, it's been rising for 4 hours and it might have risen a 1/4 of an inch. I'm leaving it in my oven overnight to see if it rises more. I don't want all those expensive flours to go to waste. =( With all the positive reviews, I'm sure I did something wrong, so I'll try it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Epicurian February 02, 2012

I had no idea that gluten free rice bread could taste so good. I made it for my celiac mother-in-law and I will be making for my wife and I in the future as well. I used the 1 whole egg and 3 egg whites instead of the egg substitute as suggest in a side bar comment and I let it rise much more than to the top of the pan. I cross hatched the top and it looked terrific.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sinc February 01, 2010

This bread turned out so great! Wow! I've had a few recipes bomb the last few days and my girls were skeptical I'd ever be able to do GF/CF/SF bread successfully. Glad to prove them wrong! I didn't have egg substitute, so used 1 whole egg and 3 extra egg whites. And I used lemon juice instead of the apple cider vinegar. Worked well! I also let the bread machine do the mix and knead, then pulled it out before the bake cycle to finish it in a loaf pan in the oven. We will be making this regularly from now on! Thanks for sharing--

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paigetables July 02, 2009

excellent bread recipe. One of the best

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foxy June 26, 2009

Thanks for this, mine turned out really well. This was my first stab at gluten free bread, I've only done cookies before. The taste and consistency is really good. I was a litle unclear about the directions for the oven method, so I just went with what I knew from the few times I've made bread (mixed the yeast with 1/4 cup warm water and honey instead of sugar...and then added it in with the rest of the ingredients). The other change I made was that I used two whole eggs...mainly because I was low on eggs at the time. I imagine 4 egg whites would just make it that much lighter. I'll be making this one again, it was nice and simple.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner October 10, 2008

I tried this recipe in my bread machine and it turned out beautifully. The top was bubbly and golden brown, and the taste was wonderful. I'm going to try the oven method next, since my bread machine lets the bread rise twice. Don't let the long list of ingredients discourage you. If you cook gluten-free, you probably have all of the ingredients anyway. Thanks for a bread recipe that tastes like real bread!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glutenfreecook August 10, 2008

Thank you so much for providing an easy bread recipe for GF Bread. My 5 year old daughter has Autism and after enough research am now trying the GF diet for her. The store-brought GF bread is so expensive that I thought I'd try some homemade bread for her. I am so glad that she now has bread to send in her lunch box! The bread turned out very much like regular bread and I even sampled some and it tasted so yummy! The only change that I made is that I did not have Xanthan Gum (didn't realize that it was needed for the recipe)or any vinegar so I added some baking powder instead and did not add the vinegar and it still worked out well without it. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LDSMom128 October 04, 2007
Gluten & Lactose Free Bread