Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten & Lactose Free Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten & Lactose Free Bread

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2009

      Best best best gluten free bread ever! Tastes like real bread! I used 1 t. Honey and safflower instead of canola! I also let it knead for 20 in breadmaker, let rise in warm 200 degree oven and then cook about 40-45 mins! Awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      This is the best gluten-free bread recipe I have tried! It's tasty and not crumbly. Because I don't have a problem with cholesterol, I used 3 whole eggs rather than 4 egg whites & egg substitute. I also use olive oil instead of canola and bake using the old fashioned method rather than a bread machine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This recipe is wonderful. It is consistently very good, the best I have tried yet. I tried subbing a cup of sorghum flour for the rice and didn't care much for it that way, but I can sub for the starches with no problem ( I usually don't have potato starch so often use tapioca for it) but the potato starch does add a bit more softness if you have it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      I'm not giving this any stars until I try and make it again exactly as written. I didn't have all the flours, so subbed other flours instead. Maybe that threw things off, because my bread was really, really dry. So dry, in fact, that the texture was more like a crumb topping for a cobbler--no kidding! I make regular bread all the time, so was shocked and added a bit more water...enough for it to stick together and make a loaf. So far, it's been rising for 4 hours and it might have risen a 1/4 of an inch. I'm leaving it in my oven overnight to see if it rises more. I don't want all those expensive flours to go to waste. =( With all the positive reviews, I'm sure I did something wrong, so I'll try it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      I had no idea that gluten free rice bread could taste so good. I made it for my celiac mother-in-law and I will be making for my wife and I in the future as well. I used the 1 whole egg and 3 egg whites instead of the egg substitute as suggest in a side bar comment and I let it rise much more than to the top of the pan. I cross hatched the top and it looked terrific.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      This bread turned out so great! Wow! I've had a few recipes bomb the last few days and my girls were skeptical I'd ever be able to do GF/CF/SF bread successfully. Glad to prove them wrong! I didn't have egg substitute, so used 1 whole egg and 3 extra egg whites. And I used lemon juice instead of the apple cider vinegar. Worked well! I also let the bread machine do the mix and knead, then pulled it out before the bake cycle to finish it in a loaf pan in the oven. We will be making this regularly from now on! Thanks for sharing--

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      excellent bread recipe. One of the best

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Thanks for this, mine turned out really well. This was my first stab at gluten free bread, I've only done cookies before. The taste and consistency is really good. I was a litle unclear about the directions for the oven method, so I just went with what I knew from the few times I've made bread (mixed the yeast with 1/4 cup warm water and honey instead of sugar...and then added it in with the rest of the ingredients). The other change I made was that I used two whole eggs...mainly because I was low on eggs at the time. I imagine 4 egg whites would just make it that much lighter. I'll be making this one again, it was nice and simple.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I tried this recipe in my bread machine and it turned out beautifully. The top was bubbly and golden brown, and the taste was wonderful. I'm going to try the oven method next, since my bread machine lets the bread rise twice. Don't let the long list of ingredients discourage you. If you cook gluten-free, you probably have all of the ingredients anyway. Thanks for a bread recipe that tastes like real bread!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Thank you so much for providing an easy bread recipe for GF Bread. My 5 year old daughter has Autism and after enough research am now trying the GF diet for her. The store-brought GF bread is so expensive that I thought I'd try some homemade bread for her. I am so glad that she now has bread to send in her lunch box! The bread turned out very much like regular bread and I even sampled some and it tasted so yummy! The only change that I made is that I did not have Xanthan Gum (didn't realize that it was needed for the recipe)or any vinegar so I added some baking powder instead and did not add the vinegar and it still worked out well without it. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2014

      Our family is less than a week into trying to go gluten and dairy free for our daughter, for whom we are trying to resolve some serious behavior issues. Last week I bought some gluten and dairy-free bread at the store, and it is AWFUL. It feels and tastes like a sponge, and it was very expensive. My daughter is a picky eater, so I was feeling like finding something to send her to school with for lunch was going to be unmanageable, but then I decided to try baking some and found this recipe. I just had my second slice - it is AMAZING!!!! I would not know it was missing wheat. I was only going to have one tiny piece, but had to have a second one. The only deviation I made from the recipe was three eggs instead of the egg substitute and egg whites, and I used the oven recipe because my breadmaker doesn't have a gluten-free setting. What a relief - my daughter can eat peanut butter sandwiches for lunch again! I am a happy mom right now. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Pretty good bread. I will say that my dough didn't rise before I baked it and didn't spread out so the way it was in the pan, was the way it baked. Still turned out good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      I only had one egg, so used one whole egg and 2 TBS of milk. I used flax meal as my egg substitute. This did not rise very high, but isn't super gummy. I replaced potato starch with white rice flour, and replaced cornstarch with tapioca flour (due to severe allergy to corn). This made a HEAVY loaf, not fluffy and YES you can tell this is a gluten free bread. Like most homemade GF breads, this tastes like french toast without the flavorings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I make this bread for my gluten and dairy free dad and he loves it. I make it into 4 mini loaves and do half of them with sugar & cinnamon and raisins. I usually soften the raisins ahead in water and baking soda. I have also experimented with substituting agave nectar for the sugar and it works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

    • on August 31, 2009

      Made it is my bread machine. It turned out great. I love the taste and texture. I am going to try it in the oven to see if it turns out different.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This is the most amazing gluten free bread I've ever baked - and I've baked a lot! It wasnt too sticky so I was able to knead the dough and braid into challah. The flavor was delicious but more importantly, the texture was almost like real challah! I used 1 whole egg and 3 egg whites instead of the egg powder and will do it exactly the same next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      This bread is good! i'll be making this often, I think, as I'm very happy with the result. It's fluffy and flexible, easy to slice thin without being at all gummy. I substituted one cup of rice flour for a cup all purpose GF flour that had guar gum in it, because I didn't have any xanthan gum. I also used three whole eggs, like PetiteKitchen suggested. Prep time was 15 minutes mixing and measuring ingredients, 45 minutes rising and 40 minutes baking in the oven. It came out looking exactly like the loaf in the photograph ;-) The children gobbled it up, and I could hardly keep myself from doing the same!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      I made this today using 2 c. rice flour, 3/4 c. tapioca flour, 1/4 c. garbanzo flour. Then, I didn't have any egg substitue so, I just tossed in 1/3 c. ground flax seed. I also used 3 whole eggs. I put the whole batch into one of my larger loaf pans. It took an hour to rise to the top of the pan. When I put it in the oven though, it did not rise more, if anything it actually ended up sinking back down a bit. I'm guessing it is because of the changes I made. The bread itself is quite good. I just wish I would have used a regular loaf pan instead of the larger one, I'm guessing the loaf would have been taller, and made better sandwich bread. As it is, this loaf turned out quite flat, more like a meatloaf shape than a bread shape. It is pretty good though...better than the store bought rice bread. I will try again when I get some potato starch, and will omit the flax, and try the smaller pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      This recipe is great. I used 1 cup brown rice flour and 1 cup white rice flour. I used honey in place of the sugar. I also used an extra tbsp of rice flour instead of the egg substitute . I used 2 eggs instead of 4 egg whites. I used olive oil instead of canola oil. Also I cover the bread with a tin foil tent after it has baked about 30 to 35 minutes. Then be sure to bake it the full 45 minutes . When I have baked it a only 40 minutes and it is nice and brown,, it appears to be done but it seems to fall a little and it really effects the texture. It seems to get a little wet and gummy .I think it is better to overcook it a little than to under cook. When baked right my family can't even tell it from regular bread. Also be sure to let it cool a little in the pan before tipping it out. It is much more sensitive to falling than regular bread. Be sure to let it cool completely before slicing. It also makes great french toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten & Lactose Free Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (990 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2322.7
     
    Calories from Fat 549
    23%
    Total Fat 61.0 g
    93%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3794.5 mg
    158%
    Total Carbohydrate 397.7 g
    132%
    Dietary Fiber 12.6 g
    50%
    Sugars 42.1 g
    168%
    Protein 40.3 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Red Star active dry yeast

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites