Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Yellow Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Yellow Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2009

      YUM! YUM! YUM! Thank you for posting this cake recipe. It made excellent cupcakes and opened the door to so many more ideas like cinnamon apple upside down cake! OOOO I can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      This recipe is very tasty!!! I made cupcakes for my son's birthday party and served them to 8 other non-gluten-free kids and a number of adults. They were a hit with everyone!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      This recipe was very easy to follow & turned out just great! I made them into little cupcakes and they were such a hit (especially with the people that DIDN'T have the gluten allergy!). I even had left over batter that I added into a loaf pan (I was without a cake pan at the time) and it had to cook about 40-45 minutes, but came out just as good as the cupcakes! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This was the first gluten free baking recipe that I tried . . . within two weeks of my daughter's Celiac diagnosis. I made cupcakes and they turned out great. They also freeze well (un-iced) so that you can make a batch and save some for a later date. I also buy my white rice flour at an asian market. It's cheaper and a finer grind which yields a better cake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Thank you for sharing! I was giddy with joy to have such a "real cake" cake. It's hard to bake and cook for everyone and not get to enjoy the good stuff. Now, I had to tell the family to leave MY CAKE ALONE and go get your own! THANKS! I finally get cake! YAY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      I love this recipe. This was my first at a gluten free cake and was so grateful for a recipe that tasted like normal cake i almost cried. These cupcakes in my opinion are very light, you could squish them flat if you get what i am saying. But that doesn't bother me because this is so good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I loved this cake! It was the first GF cake I have made. I followed the directions exactly, except I added a teaspoon of lemon extract- that is my husbands favorite and it was for his birthday. It was so good, the texture was incredible too. Will make this one over and over.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2014

      I've made this a few times. I read somewhere that gluten free flours need to be mixed more than usual so the 2nd time i tried that and the cake came out really well and moist. I used cream cheese icing and was a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      Do NOT turn this recipe into cupcakes! Most recipes can be for cake or cupcakes, but this turned out terrible for cupcakes. They were overly moist, extremely dense (yet somehow really porous at the same time), and after a day tasted really awful. They were acceptable in taste immediately out of the oven, that's the only reason I gave 2 stars instead of 1.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Awesome recipe. I made my son's wedding cake with this recipe and it was enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      If I'd made this alone and not tasted it next to other recipes, I'd have been happy with it. But, I was testing 3 recipes to see which yellow cake would hold up to refrigeration for a Boston Cream Pie. This was my least favorite; the flavor was odd compared to the other two and the rice flour made it hard and dry when the cake was cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      This came out a little dense and tasted too eggy for DH and I. I did replace the milk with a little less rice milk to be dairy free. I used gluten free baking powder and guar gum in an equal amount in place of xanthan gum because of a corn allergy. I used helmans olive oil mayonnaise to be soy free and alcohol free vanilla extract. I had to use a loaf pan like another reviewer baking the cake for 45 minutes. The top of the cake got a little dark by the time it was cooked through. 2nd day DD (toddler) and I ate this cut into large cubes with fresh hulled strawberries and almond milk for a good dessert. I don't think I will make this again because of the eggy taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Yellow Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (46 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.6
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    25%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 34.1 mg
    11%
    Sodium 258.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.9 g
    43%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes