12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM! YUM! YUM! Thank you for posting this cake recipe. It made excellent cupcakes and opened the door to so many more ideas like cinnamon apple upside down cake! OOOO I can't wait!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAMASARAH September 06, 2009

This recipe is very tasty!!! I made cupcakes for my son's birthday party and served them to 8 other non-gluten-free kids and a number of adults. They were a hit with everyone!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homeschoolmama July 12, 2008

This recipe was very easy to follow & turned out just great! I made them into little cupcakes and they were such a hit (especially with the people that DIDN'T have the gluten allergy!). I even had left over batter that I added into a loaf pan (I was without a cake pan at the time) and it had to cook about 40-45 minutes, but came out just as good as the cupcakes! Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Deda March 24, 2008

This was the first gluten free baking recipe that I tried . . . within two weeks of my daughter's Celiac diagnosis. I made cupcakes and they turned out great. They also freeze well (un-iced) so that you can make a batch and save some for a later date. I also buy my white rice flour at an asian market. It's cheaper and a finer grind which yields a better cake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darn210 March 09, 2008

Thank you for sharing! I was giddy with joy to have such a "real cake" cake. It's hard to bake and cook for everyone and not get to enjoy the good stuff. Now, I had to tell the family to leave MY CAKE ALONE and go get your own! THANKS! I finally get cake! YAY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sher440 February 04, 2008

I love this recipe. This was my first at a gluten free cake and was so grateful for a recipe that tasted like normal cake i almost cried. These cupcakes in my opinion are very light, you could squish them flat if you get what i am saying. But that doesn't bother me because this is so good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valgal123 January 17, 2008

I loved this cake! It was the first GF cake I have made. I followed the directions exactly, except I added a teaspoon of lemon extract- that is my husbands favorite and it was for his birthday. It was so good, the texture was incredible too. Will make this one over and over.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kacantu1 December 10, 2007

I've made this a few times. I read somewhere that gluten free flours need to be mixed more than usual so the 2nd time i tried that and the cake came out really well and moist. I used cream cheese icing and was a hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oishi December 03, 2014

Do NOT turn this recipe into cupcakes! Most recipes can be for cake or cupcakes, but this turned out terrible for cupcakes. They were overly moist, extremely dense (yet somehow really porous at the same time), and after a day tasted really awful. They were acceptable in taste immediately out of the oven, that's the only reason I gave 2 stars instead of 1.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sportsync August 02, 2013

Awesome recipe. I made my son's wedding cake with this recipe and it was enjoyed by all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
norajm November 20, 2011
Gluten Free Yellow Cake