70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe was fabulous. If anyone uses the cookbooks by Annalise Roberts this is the same flour blend she uses, so it was easy for me since I already keep that mixed up. I made it the first time exactly by the recipe. Second time, added more sugar and some vanilla. I also whipped the egg whites first before folding them in. Also, have found it does not need quite as much liquid (live in the Pacific Northwest so my flours are probably more humid!). They were wonderful!! We make these often. On a regular large Belgian Waffle Iron it makes 3 waffles.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonniemae June 08, 2012

Light and crispy, reheated in toaster they taste like fresh! Great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marg.haffner May 16, 2011

Wow! I love when a GF recipe is BETTER than wheat based one - and this is a winner that the whole family loves. I followed suggestions and mixed by...hand so easy! Next batch I'll try blending the dry ingredients ahead of time, then add the eggs, and liquids when I'm ready to cook.
Thank you, thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Nae April 30, 2011

Terrific!!! I made these this morning in response to my 4-year-old's request for boxed waffles, and they were wonderful. This is my first attempt at waffles, and these were foolproof. I made them according to the original recipe, except that I used 1/2 brown rice flour and 1/2 sweet rice flour, and I used a combo of Greek yogurt and milk instead of buttermilk (didn't have any). I mixed by hand as another reviewer suggested. The waffles came out light, fluffy, and perfect. I did double the recipe and ended up with 20 waffles (!) so I'm guessing my waffle make must be smaller than most. The extras are freezing for future breakfasts as I type. Thank you for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NewlyGF May 16, 2010

Perfect! I used my Food Network Waffle Maker, preheated on the sear setting and put a little butter on the iron before carefully pouring in the batter (so it almost ran to the edges, but not all the way). I cooked them for 4 minutes and they came out perfectly (5 mins was too crispy for us). This made a little over 12 waffle squares in my waffle maker (4 squares/batch). I used canola oil, substituted cornstarch for potato starch and used 2% milk with ~1 tsp vinegar to make buttermilk. I used a scant tsp of salt since others warned against a full tsp, but I think a full tsp would have tasted just fine. These really did taste like the real thing. My "gluten-eating" husband agrees! I love E Bennett's idea about using these for making strawberry shortcake!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Elizabeth December 13, 2009

YUMMY! The batter will look thin, too thin, but its just fine! I was a little worried at first, but I tried one out and it was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlamingoSushi September 26, 2009

Wow!!! These are great> I use the "Montina" all purpose baking flour. (Rice) High protein. AC

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
althac February 21, 2009

These worked out great for us! We used unsweetened almond milk and added 2 tsp of bourbon vanilla and 2 tsp of chia seed for nutrition. My kids devoured them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelephunter February 03, 2009

Great! I used eggs and only had 1 cup of buttermilk, so used 1/2 cup of regular milk. I put all the dry ingredients in a sifter and sifted them into the wet mixture. The waffles in my waffle maker took 4.5-5 minutes to cook. They were light and crispy on the outside and just a wee bit chewy on the inside. Wonderful! The waffles did stick in my waffle iron, so I needed to spray the iron before each batch with cooking spray. This recipe is very similar to Carol Fenster's waffle recipe, which I've been having trouble with lately (too dense and heavy). Your recipe has just the right tweaks to make it perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elainegl January 21, 2006

These are the best waffles I've ever eaten. I used brown rice flour, regular reduced fat milk, omitted the sugar and made them savory by adding a tablespoon each of fresh finely chopped rosemary and thyme. I had to use more brown rice flour to thicken the batter--about 4 heaping tablespoons extra. I made them in a Belgium waffle maker. I can hardly believe how beautiful and delicious they are. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christinefish May 12, 2015
Gluten Free Waffles