71 Reviews

These are AMAZING! We've made these at least once a week for the last year. We often make a double batch on the weekend and freeze some for quick use over the week (just pop them straight in the toaster and they are ready to go). For the freezer batch, we just do not let them crisp as much as the ones we are going to eat that day. We've have tried MANY variations based on what we have on hand and have learned a few tricks when preparing them. DO NOT USE A MIXER to mix these if you want them light and crispy. For the first 2 months I would use the kitchen aid to whip up the egg whites, mix everything else separately and fold in the eggs but was unable to get them light and crisp (though the batter did go further). For the next 8 months we tried to mix everything in the mixer and still found that they weren't as light and fluffy as we like them. And then one day the mixer was in use and I had to mix them by hand and they came out PERFECT! They were totally light and fluffy (though they only made 8 waffles and not 10 like they could make before). The last time I made these, we were out of eggs so we used egg replacer and found that they were even lighter and tasted better by our standards! We've made variations with soy milk, whole milk, skim milk, goats milk and buttermilk, but feel that buttermilk is the way to go for us. We serve with Syrup or Agave, strawberries and whipped cream! Thank you, Thank you Thank you for the recipe!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gluten Free Berry's January 19, 2010

This is a great, versitile recipe. We are gluten/ egg and dairy free, so I subbed 3 tbs of water and a rounded tablespoon of ground flax for each egg. I also used coconut milk and a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar (for each cup of milk), and use virgin coconut oil for the oil. This morning I traded 20% of the flour for cocount flour ( add an equal part of liquid for the coconut flour because it absorbs so much liquid) and a little hazlenut flour. I always add vanilla, maple syrup and cinnamon too. I whip up a little fresh walnut pecan butter ( in a food processor fitted with an "s" blade, blend walnuts, pecans, a little salt, maple syrup and flax oil and water until it reaches the right buttery consistency) and add a few berries to top them off- and if I am feeling really decadent I add a dallop of coconut bliss (coconut icecream). You could also top with cashew cream if you can't do coconut. I quadruple the recipe, freeze them and we have an amazing breakfast for two weeks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin L July 19, 2010

These are INCREDIBLE!!! We used to make waffles all the time before my son became GF. I haven't been brave enough to attempt a GF waffle until this past weekend (it's been 6 years). OH MY GOSH, I'M SO GLAD I FOUND THIS RECIPE! This is seriously better than any other "regular" waffle we have ever made. This is officially our family waffle recipe from this day forward. Perfect flavor, PERFECT consistency, lightly crisp on outside, soft and delicious inside. Made extra and froze a few... and they reheat great. I can't say enough. I followed another suggestion of using a whisk, not a hand-blender. PERFECTION!!! Thank you Thank you for posting this recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thenillers March 19, 2012

This recipe is a KEEPER, I used Maple whole milk yogurt and a splash of 1/2 and 1/2, and I added a touch more sugar and a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract. See photo of round stack. Oh yeah... definitely a keeper. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
InvisiGyrl July 26, 2011

This is going into my favorites. Crispy outside & awesome softness inside.<br/>Changes: <br/>1/2 c br rice & 1/2 c white rice flours<br/>coconut oil instead of regular oil<br/>Made buttermilk out of 1.5 tsp apple cider vinegar and 1.5 c of 2% milk

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimauger April 20, 2014

This is a great recipe. I just used BETTY CROCKER'S ALL PURPOSE GLUTEN FREE RICE FLOUR BLEND because it contains,rice flour, potato starch and tapioca I used 1 3/4 cup to make up for the three first dry ingredients and it was wonderful. The GF folks loved it and so did everyone else. Thanks for sharing this recipe. This is truly life changing for us!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen W. February 25, 2014

Incredible waffles! I wish I had this recipe when I first went wheat-free a couple of years ago. Crisp on the outside, fluffy and tender inside, I don't know if any wheat waffles could be better! They are very versatile too. I avoid dairy and eggs, so I used rice milk mixed with lemon juice for the buttermilk and just omitted the eggs altogether. The dairy and eggs weren't missed at all. I didn't even need egg substitute, although next time I might try using the EnerG egg replacer, like another reviewer suggested. I can see me making this recipe every weekend too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks February 21, 2014

I have been gluten free for about a year now and have yet to find a good waffle recipe until now. This is an excellent recipe, about as close to wheat waffles that I have found. I did substitute the buttermilk with 1 cup of almond milk and 1/2 cup of yogurt. I also added 1/4 cup more of brown rice flour to thicken it up a bit. I can't tell you the joy I felt when I was eating my waffles. I sprinkled toasted pecans, fresh strawberries and a little whipped cream on top. Even with all of that on top I could still taste the wonderful flavor of the waffles along with the great texture and that's what is missing with most gluten free foods is the texture. After reading the reviews I did add 1 teaspoon of vanilla by the way. I have a recipe for pancakes using whole wheat flour and white flour, we substituted the wheat with brown rice flour and for the white flour we used white rice flour and the recipe worked perfectly. Thanks so much to E.Bennett for posting this delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetvinnie1_7683593 February 07, 2014

Fantastic! I used So Delicious coconut milk with vinegar in place of buttermilk and substituted corn flour (not corn starch) for half of the brown rice flour. These were the best waffles I've ever made, and that includes wheat-based varieties.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizzyizzie March 30, 2013

Thank you for this recipe! It's our first attempt at making waffles since our daughter's allergy test results meant no more wheat or eggs in our shared recipes. We made the recipe using 1/4 c. additional brown rice flour, the ground flax seed & water substitution and rice milk (no dairy used by us either). Our Krups 4-slice Belgian waffle maker made 9 light, fluffy waffles. We'll use the recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buschways January 05, 2013
Gluten Free Waffles