Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Waffles

    Average Rating:

    67 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 67

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2010

      These are AMAZING! We've made these at least once a week for the last year. We often make a double batch on the weekend and freeze some for quick use over the week (just pop them straight in the toaster and they are ready to go). For the freezer batch, we just do not let them crisp as much as the ones we are going to eat that day. We've have tried MANY variations based on what we have on hand and have learned a few tricks when preparing them. DO NOT USE A MIXER to mix these if you want them light and crispy. For the first 2 months I would use the kitchen aid to whip up the egg whites, mix everything else separately and fold in the eggs but was unable to get them light and crisp (though the batter did go further). For the next 8 months we tried to mix everything in the mixer and still found that they weren't as light and fluffy as we like them. And then one day the mixer was in use and I had to mix them by hand and they came out PERFECT! They were totally light and fluffy (though they only made 8 waffles and not 10 like they could make before). The last time I made these, we were out of eggs so we used egg replacer and found that they were even lighter and tasted better by our standards! We've made variations with soy milk, whole milk, skim milk, goats milk and buttermilk, but feel that buttermilk is the way to go for us. We serve with Syrup or Agave, strawberries and whipped cream! Thank you, Thank you Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      This is a great, versitile recipe. We are gluten/ egg and dairy free, so I subbed 3 tbs of water and a rounded tablespoon of ground flax for each egg. I also used coconut milk and a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar (for each cup of milk), and use virgin coconut oil for the oil. This morning I traded 20% of the flour for cocount flour ( add an equal part of liquid for the coconut flour because it absorbs so much liquid) and a little hazlenut flour. I always add vanilla, maple syrup and cinnamon too. I whip up a little fresh walnut pecan butter ( in a food processor fitted with an "s" blade, blend walnuts, pecans, a little salt, maple syrup and flax oil and water until it reaches the right buttery consistency) and add a few berries to top them off- and if I am feeling really decadent I add a dallop of coconut bliss (coconut icecream). You could also top with cashew cream if you can't do coconut. I quadruple the recipe, freeze them and we have an amazing breakfast for two weeks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2012

      These are INCREDIBLE!!! We used to make waffles all the time before my son became GF. I haven't been brave enough to attempt a GF waffle until this past weekend (it's been 6 years). OH MY GOSH, I'M SO GLAD I FOUND THIS RECIPE! This is seriously better than any other "regular" waffle we have ever made. This is officially our family waffle recipe from this day forward. Perfect flavor, PERFECT consistency, lightly crisp on outside, soft and delicious inside. Made extra and froze a few... and they reheat great. I can't say enough. I followed another suggestion of using a whisk, not a hand-blender. PERFECTION!!! Thank you Thank you for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      This recipe is a KEEPER, I used Maple whole milk yogurt and a splash of 1/2 and 1/2, and I added a touch more sugar and a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract. See photo of round stack. Oh yeah... definitely a keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      This is going into my favorites. Crispy outside & awesome softness inside.<br/>Changes: <br/>1/2 c br rice & 1/2 c white rice flours<br/>coconut oil instead of regular oil<br/>Made buttermilk out of 1.5 tsp apple cider vinegar and 1.5 c of 2% milk

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      This is a great recipe. I just used BETTY CROCKER'S ALL PURPOSE GLUTEN FREE RICE FLOUR BLEND because it contains,rice flour, potato starch and tapioca I used 1 3/4 cup to make up for the three first dry ingredients and it was wonderful. The GF folks loved it and so did everyone else. Thanks for sharing this recipe. This is truly life changing for us!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      I have been gluten free for about a year now and have yet to find a good waffle recipe until now. This is an excellent recipe, about as close to wheat waffles that I have found. I did substitute the buttermilk with 1 cup of almond milk and 1/2 cup of yogurt. I also added 1/4 cup more of brown rice flour to thicken it up a bit. I can't tell you the joy I felt when I was eating my waffles. I sprinkled toasted pecans, fresh strawberries and a little whipped cream on top. Even with all of that on top I could still taste the wonderful flavor of the waffles along with the great texture and that's what is missing with most gluten free foods is the texture. After reading the reviews I did add 1 teaspoon of vanilla by the way. I have a recipe for pancakes using whole wheat flour and white flour, we substituted the wheat with brown rice flour and for the white flour we used white rice flour and the recipe worked perfectly. Thanks so much to E.Bennett for posting this delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Fantastic! I used So Delicious coconut milk with vinegar in place of buttermilk and substituted corn flour (not corn starch) for half of the brown rice flour. These were the best waffles I've ever made, and that includes wheat-based varieties.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Thank you for this recipe! It's our first attempt at making waffles since our daughter's allergy test results meant no more wheat or eggs in our shared recipes. We made the recipe using 1/4 c. additional brown rice flour, the ground flax seed & water substitution and rice milk (no dairy used by us either). Our Krups 4-slice Belgian waffle maker made 9 light, fluffy waffles. We'll use the recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      This recipe was fabulous. If anyone uses the cookbooks by Annalise Roberts this is the same flour blend she uses, so it was easy for me since I already keep that mixed up. I made it the first time exactly by the recipe. Second time, added more sugar and some vanilla. I also whipped the egg whites first before folding them in. Also, have found it does not need quite as much liquid (live in the Pacific Northwest so my flours are probably more humid!). They were wonderful!! We make these often. On a regular large Belgian Waffle Iron it makes 3 waffles.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Light and crispy, reheated in toaster they taste like fresh! Great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      Wow! I love when a GF recipe is BETTER than wheat based one - and this is a winner that the whole family loves. I followed suggestions and mixed by...hand so easy! Next batch I'll try blending the dry ingredients ahead of time, then add the eggs, and liquids when I'm ready to cook.
      Thank you, thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Terrific!!! I made these this morning in response to my 4-year-old's request for boxed waffles, and they were wonderful. This is my first attempt at waffles, and these were foolproof. I made them according to the original recipe, except that I used 1/2 brown rice flour and 1/2 sweet rice flour, and I used a combo of Greek yogurt and milk instead of buttermilk (didn't have any). I mixed by hand as another reviewer suggested. The waffles came out light, fluffy, and perfect. I did double the recipe and ended up with 20 waffles (!) so I'm guessing my waffle make must be smaller than most. The extras are freezing for future breakfasts as I type. Thank you for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      Perfect! I used my Food Network Waffle Maker, preheated on the sear setting and put a little butter on the iron before carefully pouring in the batter (so it almost ran to the edges, but not all the way). I cooked them for 4 minutes and they came out perfectly (5 mins was too crispy for us). This made a little over 12 waffle squares in my waffle maker (4 squares/batch). I used canola oil, substituted cornstarch for potato starch and used 2% milk with ~1 tsp vinegar to make buttermilk. I used a scant tsp of salt since others warned against a full tsp, but I think a full tsp would have tasted just fine. These really did taste like the real thing. My "gluten-eating" husband agrees! I love E Bennett's idea about using these for making strawberry shortcake!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      YUMMY! The batter will look thin, too thin, but its just fine! I was a little worried at first, but I tried one out and it was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Wow!!! These are great> I use the "Montina" all purpose baking flour. (Rice) High protein. AC

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      These worked out great for us! We used unsweetened almond milk and added 2 tsp of bourbon vanilla and 2 tsp of chia seed for nutrition. My kids devoured them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      Great! I used eggs and only had 1 cup of buttermilk, so used 1/2 cup of regular milk. I put all the dry ingredients in a sifter and sifted them into the wet mixture. The waffles in my waffle maker took 4.5-5 minutes to cook. They were light and crispy on the outside and just a wee bit chewy on the inside. Wonderful! The waffles did stick in my waffle iron, so I needed to spray the iron before each batch with cooking spray. This recipe is very similar to Carol Fenster's waffle recipe, which I've been having trouble with lately (too dense and heavy). Your recipe has just the right tweaks to make it perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2014

      Yup, these are as good as they are rated. My girls (6 and 4) have been having a hard time converting to a GF lifestyle, but these certainly make breakfast EASY! They LOVED them, so my happy girls means a happi mammi! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2014

      We are not gluten free but I am aquiring a few recipes. Anything I come across, we try at home first. These were well worth the extra preparation. I ground the rice and tapioca myself and soaked them overnight in homemade buttermilk for a lemony flavour. I added vanilla extract and almond meal for depth. I admit that I was very wary but they came out so light and crispy! My entire family gave this a passing score without knowing they were gluten free. That says a lot since most times the complaints for the gluten free dishes are that "it is missing something"... This one IS a keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (806 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 352.5
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    37%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 77.3 mg
    25%
    Sodium 727.3 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites