Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Tortillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Tortillas

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2008

      The first time I made these, they were too thick, and they broke when folded, so the second time, I made some changes to the recipe, and they came out perfect. I don't think it was really my changes of ingredients but my change of rolling technique that made the difference: I cut a large Ziplock bag in half down the sides, so it opened out flat, then put the dough between the halves to roll it. I did not use any extra flour to roll them. About half way through, I had to cut a new bag, because the one I was using was beginning to stick. I didn't bother cutting circles, because I was working very quickly. Between the pieces of plastic, I was able to get the pieces very thin, and I think that made all the difference. For the record, however, the ingredient changes were: white rice flour instead of brown which I had used the first time (the recipe doesn't specify), Bob's Red Mill baking mix instead of chickpea flour (just the closest thing I had on hand), all tapioca flour instead of tapioca and potato starch (I used up my potato starch making gluten, egg, and corn free marshmallows) 1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum and no guar gum (don't have any, and I thought it needed more than the original recipe called for, to prevent breaking and make them more flexible), and regular butter (don't have coconut butter, and didn't want olive oil). Whether it was these changes, especially extra xanthan gum, that made them more flexible and easier to make them thin, or rolling them between pieces of plastic, I don't know. But, for any curious readers, there they are. After dinner, I took the leftovers and froze them between layers of wax paper. I did this also with the last recipe, and they kept well. I serve the rest of my family regular food, so this way, when they are having store bought tortillas, I can pull one out of the freezer and have one, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Recuded to water to 3/4 cup and used a Guar Gum because that is what I had. Made these 1st trying to roll out that dough and had a mess. DS like the flavor though and they were soft and pliable. Decided to buy a tortilla maker (the electric kind) and these were a HUGE success. DS ate 4 at dinner. Definitly a keeper as far as our future tortilla recipes go. They became hard in the fridge so we warm them up in a skillet with a little oil. Just like fresh!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Thanks for posting. I make these often, always a double batch because they freeze well. I use 3/4 cup brown rice flour, 3/4 cup white, 1/2 cup pinto bean flour, 1 cup sorghum, 1 cup of arrowroot, 2 teaspoons guar gum, no salt (because it improves the texture not to) and always only end up using only half of the water. The dough is a lot easier to work with if you spend 10 or so minutes kneading it. I don't put anything between them to freeze and don't find that they stick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I am not posting any stars, because I failed at my first attempt at making these tortillas. I rolled them out until they were so thin they tore as I was placing them on the skillet however; they didn't bubble but the entire tortillas thickened. They stayed almost doughy in the center and the were to heavy and dense to fold... I will give this recipe one more try just in case I made a mistake while following the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I made these bcz we're on a candida diet. They turned out great and were easy to work with. They cook up just like regular tortillas. I had a little too much flour on the outside from rolling, so picky DD didn't like them, but they taste good and are flexible. I used all guar gum and olive oil, although I will use coconut oil when I get some more. UPDATE: This made it into my Top Fav's of 2009 cookbook. Original Review 6-5-09.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      For me they work but are just not as good as Gluten-Free Flour Tortillas. I used a mixture of white and brown rice flour. All guar gum, no xanthan gum because we are corn free. I used less salt because of anothers comment on the texture with salt although doing it I dont see it wold affect much. I used olive oil and less hot water to until it reached the right consistency. Kneading the dough helps to make it less crumbly and rolling with a sheet of wax paper underneath as another reviewer described and a cut ziplock bag made it easy to make these thin and not stick so much so I definitely recommend doing that. I probably wont make these again since I feel I have found better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Yes, 6 out of 6 loved them too. I only used 1/2 cup water, but even that was a bit too sticky. I added a tablespoon or two of sweet rice flour then rolled them out on a greased sheet of tin foil. (a trick I learned from making gingerbread). I took the whole piece of tin foil and flipped it over into the hot fry pan. After just a few seconds, I could easily peel the foil back and the tortilla would keep it's shape and stay in the pan, then reuse the foil again. Also, if I turned the foil and rolled one small portion at a time continuing in a circle, they stayed quite round.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2013

      Maybe I did this wrong, I don't know. They broke when folded and were pretty tough. Flavor was good though. I did use brown rice flour, which is what I had on hand. I rolled them very thin between Ziploc like another reviewer suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      Came out alright, but were nothing spectacular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      My daughter loved these and asked me to make more! I subbed the flours for sorghum and Bob's flour mix, I used grapeseed oil and onion/garlic salt. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This recipe is unbelievable. I can't wait to go through my old recipes and start eating tortillas again. Thank you SO MUCH for posting this recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Fantastic!! My whole family loves them!!!! The only change I made (allergy reasons) was subst. the chickpea flour with sweet sorghom flour. Instead of rolling out the tortillas I used my tortilla press, using wax paper between the press. Oh so easy and extremely tasty. Thank you...Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      This is the first recipe for Gluten Free Tortillas I've made that have actually tasted GOOD! I used grapeseed oil instead of coconut butter or olive oil (which I'm allergic to) and the texture of the dough was very good. I initially tried to use my electric tortilla press and after having two of them turn out hard, I decided to roll them by hand and then cook them on the tortilla press. This worked great and I will most definitely make these again. These worked great with Taco Bell Chicken Fajitas and I even have a couple left over that I'll use to make a breakfast burrito in the morning. Thanks Bearhouse5 for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      5 stars- fantastic tortillas and nobody would guess that they were gluten-free. I made mine using the coconut butter, it didn't seem to add at all to the taste and for the extra expense - I think that I'll be using olive oil or vegan margarine in future. I did take me a while to get the nack of rolling them-but once I worked that out , the tortillas were quick to make. I think the trick was to start with a larger ball of dough for the first one and then transfer the left-over dough to the next ball to be rolled out. I used baking paper underneath the dough and extra rice flour dusting the rolling pin. I used your suggestion to 'flip' the dough of the baking paper into the pan. Dont be tempted to cook for too long. They seemed to settle more on cooling. These were perfect and able to be rolled easily when filled. Thankyou Bearhouse5 for posting such a useful and wonderful recipe. I'm really wishing now that I had doubled the recipe :) :) :) :) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Tortillas

    Serving Size: 1 (464 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.0
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    91%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 298.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    guar gum

    xanthan gum

    gluten free baking powder

    coconut butter

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes