14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The first time I made these, they were too thick, and they broke when folded, so the second time, I made some changes to the recipe, and they came out perfect. I don't think it was really my changes of ingredients but my change of rolling technique that made the difference: I cut a large Ziplock bag in half down the sides, so it opened out flat, then put the dough between the halves to roll it. I did not use any extra flour to roll them. About half way through, I had to cut a new bag, because the one I was using was beginning to stick. I didn't bother cutting circles, because I was working very quickly. Between the pieces of plastic, I was able to get the pieces very thin, and I think that made all the difference. For the record, however, the ingredient changes were: white rice flour instead of brown which I had used the first time (the recipe doesn't specify), Bob's Red Mill baking mix instead of chickpea flour (just the closest thing I had on hand), all tapioca flour instead of tapioca and potato starch (I used up my potato starch making gluten, egg, and corn free marshmallows) 1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum and no guar gum (don't have any, and I thought it needed more than the original recipe called for, to prevent breaking and make them more flexible), and regular butter (don't have coconut butter, and didn't want olive oil). Whether it was these changes, especially extra xanthan gum, that made them more flexible and easier to make them thin, or rolling them between pieces of plastic, I don't know. But, for any curious readers, there they are. After dinner, I took the leftovers and froze them between layers of wax paper. I did this also with the last recipe, and they kept well. I serve the rest of my family regular food, so this way, when they are having store bought tortillas, I can pull one out of the freezer and have one, too.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thomasjam05 June 10, 2008

Recuded to water to 3/4 cup and used a Guar Gum because that is what I had. Made these 1st trying to roll out that dough and had a mess. DS like the flavor though and they were soft and pliable. Decided to buy a tortilla maker (the electric kind) and these were a HUGE success. DS ate 4 at dinner. Definitly a keeper as far as our future tortilla recipes go. They became hard in the fridge so we warm them up in a skillet with a little oil. Just like fresh!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Silly Goose October 12, 2009

Thanks for posting. I make these often, always a double batch because they freeze well. I use 3/4 cup brown rice flour, 3/4 cup white, 1/2 cup pinto bean flour, 1 cup sorghum, 1 cup of arrowroot, 2 teaspoons guar gum, no salt (because it improves the texture not to) and always only end up using only half of the water. The dough is a lot easier to work with if you spend 10 or so minutes kneading it. I don't put anything between them to freeze and don't find that they stick.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef# 616082 September 07, 2008

I am not posting any stars, because I failed at my first attempt at making these tortillas. I rolled them out until they were so thin they tore as I was placing them on the skillet however; they didn't bubble but the entire tortillas thickened. They stayed almost doughy in the center and the were to heavy and dense to fold... I will give this recipe one more try just in case I made a mistake while following the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate February 07, 2010

I made these bcz we're on a candida diet. They turned out great and were easy to work with. They cook up just like regular tortillas. I had a little too much flour on the outside from rolling, so picky DD didn't like them, but they taste good and are flexible. I used all guar gum and olive oil, although I will use coconut oil when I get some more. UPDATE: This made it into my Top Fav's of 2009 cookbook. Original Review 6-5-09.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead January 04, 2010

For me they work but are just not as good as Gluten-Free Flour Tortillas. I used a mixture of white and brown rice flour. All guar gum, no xanthan gum because we are corn free. I used less salt because of anothers comment on the texture with salt although doing it I dont see it wold affect much. I used olive oil and less hot water to until it reached the right consistency. Kneading the dough helps to make it less crumbly and rolling with a sheet of wax paper underneath as another reviewer described and a cut ziplock bag made it easy to make these thin and not stick so much so I definitely recommend doing that. I probably wont make these again since I feel I have found better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 08, 2009

Yes, 6 out of 6 loved them too. I only used 1/2 cup water, but even that was a bit too sticky. I added a tablespoon or two of sweet rice flour then rolled them out on a greased sheet of tin foil. (a trick I learned from making gingerbread). I took the whole piece of tin foil and flipped it over into the hot fry pan. After just a few seconds, I could easily peel the foil back and the tortilla would keep it's shape and stay in the pan, then reuse the foil again. Also, if I turned the foil and rolled one small portion at a time continuing in a circle, they stayed quite round.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
She-Ra June 22, 2008

Maybe I did this wrong, I don't know. They broke when folded and were pretty tough. Flavor was good though. I did use brown rice flour, which is what I had on hand. I rolled them very thin between Ziploc like another reviewer suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyojess November 10, 2013

Came out alright, but were nothing spectacular.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew Mollmann June 10, 2009

My daughter loved these and asked me to make more! I subbed the flours for sorghum and Bob's flour mix, I used grapeseed oil and onion/garlic salt. Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherriballard79 August 23, 2008
Gluten Free Tortillas