Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Toll House Chocolate Chip Mimicry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Toll House Chocolate Chip Mimicry

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2009

      I created an account just to rate this recipe -- it's that good. The cookies have a taste and texture that seems indistinguishable (to me, anyway) from a conventional Tollhouse cookie. They are crispy coming out of the oven and stay that way for at least a couple of days. On the third day or so they acquire a very pleasant chewiness as well, at least under my local conditions. The taste and texture is far better than any gluten free chocolate chip cookie recipe I've tried so far -- not too sweet, not grainy, not crumbly, not flat, not beany -- absolutely nothing to apologize for when offering them to those who also eat conventional cookies. I also like the fact that the batch is a manageable size: it's very quick and easy to make up a batch and it's not an evening-long project where I end up making a mountain of cookies. I have been substituting pine nuts for the pecans since regular nuts are a bit suspect for me. I also subbed flax seed powder + water (1 T powder [NOT meal] + 3 T water) as an egg substitute. I've also tried adding a little instant espresso to the mix (so far I've just tried a couple of tablespoons mixed with either the flour or the) for a bit of a coffee flavour. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      This is by far the best GF chocolate chip cookie recipe I've found. They are a little more crunchy than usual but still fantastic. Definitely bake for 10-11 instead of the full 12. Also, I would recommend using a silicon baking sheet. I had a little trouble with sticking on the regular cookie pans. A silpat mat did the trick.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      These are the best gluten free cookies i've attempted - and I've tried a lot... I used guar gum instead of xanthan, it's all I had. I also refrigerated the dough for a while before baking, to firm it up a bit. Baked for 10 min. instead of 12 and they were pretty great... a little flat but maybe that's because I used guar gum?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      These cookies do taste like the Toll House Cookies. Thank You my daughter is thrilled! I added Earth Balance soy free buttery spread to replace butter to make it dairy free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2012

      This is the only GF chocolate chip recipe I will make, however, I found the batter too thin, so added more flour to get it to the consistency of original toll house cookies. Had a dinner party last night and my foodie friends raved about them. Didn't tell them till the cookies were gone that they were GF : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      These were delicious! A well balanced combination of flavors, and they freeze great too. Mine sank in quite a bit because I forgot to add the xanthan gum, but they held together well and the taste wasn't any the worse for it ;-) Sorghum isn't available where I live, but I subbed GF oatflour. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      My wife nearly had tears of joy when she first tasted these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      These are fantastic! They are infact the perfect chocolate chip cookie. Even the batter was yummy! Thanks for posting Kristi :) UPDATE** I thought that these would follow the sad trend I have seen in so many other GF treats: great out of the oven, not so great the next day. WRONG! Still so good. Maybe even better since my mouth is not being scorched as I gobble them up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Kristi! These are wonderful! Nice big cookies that have just the right crispiness on the outside and slightly chewy in the center, just how I like them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Toll House Chocolate Chip Mimicry

    Serving Size: 1 (590 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    54%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 28.6 mg
    9%
    Sodium 180.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 13.6 g
    54%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca starch

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes