16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Finally a gluten free corn bread recipe that makes moist muffins. These muffins are really good! I used 2% milk instead of the soymilk. This recipe makes 24 mini muffins and I baked them for 12-15 minutes (depending on your oven). Next time I will add some cheddar cheese and a 1/2-1 can of green chiles.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redhott549 December 30, 2012

Delicious! I was skeptical since many other recipes were too dry; but, this is terrific! I might not add as much sugar. My finicky husband has a sweet tooth so he loved them! Rare occasion.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlyingAngel December 02, 2012

I need more stars! These muffins are AMAZING! They are gone in a heart beat both by those gluten intolerant and those not. I never make less than double and when company's coming, I have to triple the recipe to keep 'em happy! Thank you so much for posting this incredible recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viedvacker January 06, 2012

My first attempt at baking something gluten freewas a huge success! I used 2% milk and sprinkled a bit of sugar on the muffin tops before baking. I'm really impressed with this amazing recipe. If I could give more than five stars...I would. Thank you for sharing (((Latin Chef)))

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunny Day November 08, 2009

Thank you for providing an edible, great alternative to those of us who can not eat wheat! These muffins were amazing! I made them just as written, but used regular milk instead of soy milk. The only thing I'll do differently next time is make more of them!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cjl0601 September 28, 2009

wow!!! these are delish!! better than even regular wheat corn muffins. I can now say after trying many corn bread recipes I have finally found THE one!! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blessedby6children June 19, 2009

I made these for my mom who is on a gluten free diet. I left out the xanthan gum and baked them in a mini muffin pan. We all loved them! Thanks for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 16, 2013

SO good! And sweet, just like I like it. I made these as mini-corn dog muffins with some Hebrew Natl hot dogs cut up and pushed in the middle and my kids LOVE them (and they freeze great - so easy meal when needed). Thank you for sharing the recipe! And great for my GFCF 6 year old, especially. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ResearchNerd May 29, 2013

Used almond milk, half xylitol, half sugar, omitted vanilla and added chili powder, garlic salt and chopped chicken hot dogs to make corn dog muffins.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa823 March 16, 2013

WOW! I'm attending a chili cook-off tomorrow and am on a GF regimen. I didn't have cornmeal, so I substituted corn flour. Also, skim milk instead of soy. I used eggs because we had them in the house, but for people looking for an egg-free substitute, try 1tbs ground flaxseed meal and 3tbs water per egg.

I baked at 375, splitting the mixture up into 6 silicon/reusable muffin cups. Less wasteful and they're non-stick, so it takes away the grease-the-pan step. Honestly, I should have used 12 cups because they ballooned up like crazy, which I expected given how full the cups were hehe, just lazy. Took about 15 minutes total to come away with a clean test (toothpick/reusable chopstick poked in the center to check for doughiness.)

Everyone here agrees they taste WONDERFUL! I'm worried they won't make it to the cook-off tomorrow, haha! Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CptnShiy October 26, 2012
Gluten Free Sweet Corn Bread Muffins