38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I accidentally used regular sugar and then remade them with the "icing" or powdered sugar. I have to say the regular sugar made the better cake. They were more light and spongy. Fabulous! The recipe with powdered sugar was more dense and dry.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindaedi June 12, 2011

These were extremely good- I was suprised! My daughter's friend is coming over today- she has wheat alergies- so I immediately knew where to look for a recipe for her and now us! I had a bit of a scare when I added the eggs/vanilla. I think I should have added 1 at a time, beating between- but of course I dumped them in all at once. The mixture looked very frothy with some butter mixture floating around and not incorporating. Adding the cornstarch seemed to sort it all out ;) The texture was spongy but firm. It took a few extra minutes in the oven to complete. I put half the mixture into 6 tins and added 1Tbs of coco powder to the rest for a chocolate taste. Turned out good too! Thank you so much for helping me to make our friends with different dietary needs feel welcome in our home!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aderendal June 22, 2007

I thankfully do not have gluten issues but this recipe seemed like just what I wanted for making strawberry shortcake from scratch. Just took it out the oven and paired it with the locally grown strawberries and homemade whipped cream. Personally I think it is way better than the shortcakes in the stores.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anastacey June 19, 2010

Not like the traditional shortcake, but for gluten free, I give it 5 stars. Easy to make. I've never used that much cornstarch in one recipe, but I followed your recipe completely using free range eggs (from my 3 girls). The shortcakes were very yellow. Thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toni in Colorado June 07, 2011

Great recipe! My 10 year old just went gluten free and I was looking for something special to bring to church for snacks that she could eat. I found that the recipe made almost double the amount stated when I put one heaping spoonful into standard baking cups. I recommend refrigerating the batter between batches as it tends to melt and separate due to all of the butter. Everyone at church enjoyed these and couldn't believe they were gluten free!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
perhapskj May 17, 2011

Just finished enjoying these tasty lil cakes.... Excellent taste, crumb, could not tell they were gluten free! From some of the other reviews that didn't turn out, in my opinion is the results will always vary depending on where you live. ( Sea level - high altitude) I myself live at 3500 ft above sea level therefore took extra time to whip during the first part and cooked at the same temperature, but for 17 minutes (2-3 minutes longer) Will be making these a staple of my summer baking, Thanks!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mumzie April 24, 2011

Well I just took them out of the oven (very excited since all the reviews were great) and the bloody things looked lovely, nice and high then they deflated and are now like hockey pucks (all wet and slimey on the inside even though I left them in the oven for a few extra min) I can't figure out what happened as I followed the recipe exactly. Any ideas would be welcome.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lndowney March 26, 2011

Tried this tonight. the flavor was good and plenty sweet. I do wonder why they came out hollow on the bottom. we flipped them upside down and stuck strawberries inside of them. Followed the recipe so don't know what happened. they did not turn out like a muffin.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yukon_dawn August 15, 2009

This recipe was perfect as is! I made it twice in the past 2 days, once for my husband's birthday, and I was so pleased with it, as well as everyone else (kids and adults alike). My dad said it was the best he'd ever had - wheat shortcake included!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spyderk July 09, 2009

What a great start to my GF recipe collection -- I am new at this GF stuff. Made these for company, but decided to indulge on them myself, even though I don't have to. Good enough for gluten eaters to enjoy. I may become GF by choice! Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
parker4jc July 07, 2009
Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake