Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2011

      I accidentally used regular sugar and then remade them with the "icing" or powdered sugar. I have to say the regular sugar made the better cake. They were more light and spongy. Fabulous! The recipe with powdered sugar was more dense and dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      These were extremely good- I was suprised! My daughter's friend is coming over today- she has wheat alergies- so I immediately knew where to look for a recipe for her and now us! I had a bit of a scare when I added the eggs/vanilla. I think I should have added 1 at a time, beating between- but of course I dumped them in all at once. The mixture looked very frothy with some butter mixture floating around and not incorporating. Adding the cornstarch seemed to sort it all out ;) The texture was spongy but firm. It took a few extra minutes in the oven to complete. I put half the mixture into 6 tins and added 1Tbs of coco powder to the rest for a chocolate taste. Turned out good too! Thank you so much for helping me to make our friends with different dietary needs feel welcome in our home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      I thankfully do not have gluten issues but this recipe seemed like just what I wanted for making strawberry shortcake from scratch. Just took it out the oven and paired it with the locally grown strawberries and homemade whipped cream. Personally I think it is way better than the shortcakes in the stores.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      Not like the traditional shortcake, but for gluten free, I give it 5 stars. Easy to make. I've never used that much cornstarch in one recipe, but I followed your recipe completely using free range eggs (from my 3 girls). The shortcakes were very yellow. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      Great recipe! My 10 year old just went gluten free and I was looking for something special to bring to church for snacks that she could eat. I found that the recipe made almost double the amount stated when I put one heaping spoonful into standard baking cups. I recommend refrigerating the batter between batches as it tends to melt and separate due to all of the butter. Everyone at church enjoyed these and couldn't believe they were gluten free!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Just finished enjoying these tasty lil cakes.... Excellent taste, crumb, could not tell they were gluten free! From some of the other reviews that didn't turn out, in my opinion is the results will always vary depending on where you live. ( Sea level - high altitude) I myself live at 3500 ft above sea level therefore took extra time to whip during the first part and cooked at the same temperature, but for 17 minutes (2-3 minutes longer) Will be making these a staple of my summer baking, Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      Well I just took them out of the oven (very excited since all the reviews were great) and the bloody things looked lovely, nice and high then they deflated and are now like hockey pucks (all wet and slimey on the inside even though I left them in the oven for a few extra min) I can't figure out what happened as I followed the recipe exactly. Any ideas would be welcome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Tried this tonight. the flavor was good and plenty sweet. I do wonder why they came out hollow on the bottom. we flipped them upside down and stuck strawberries inside of them. Followed the recipe so don't know what happened. they did not turn out like a muffin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      This recipe was perfect as is! I made it twice in the past 2 days, once for my husband's birthday, and I was so pleased with it, as well as everyone else (kids and adults alike). My dad said it was the best he'd ever had - wheat shortcake included!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      What a great start to my GF recipe collection -- I am new at this GF stuff. Made these for company, but decided to indulge on them myself, even though I don't have to. Good enough for gluten eaters to enjoy. I may become GF by choice! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Yum! Easy to whip together, and great tasting! I think even gluten eaters would enjoy this! Thanks for the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Tis recipe was GREAT!!!! I am so excited to have it! I tried these last night, and they were absolutely WONDERFUL! The kids and I just ate them warm out of the oven with butter. We couldn't get enough! The flavor reminded me of the vanilla pound cake that I used to make in my pre-gluten-free days, and the texture was like a cross between a sponge cake and angel food. If you served these to anyone, they would NEVER know that they were gluten free! I did not find them to be too "eggy" like some of the others. I thought that they were just heavenly! Perfect, yummy recipe! I will be making these again and again! Thanks GFGirl!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      This recipe was very good. My whole family liked them. I would make them again. Even though they were good for shortcakes...they tasted more like a cream puff to me. (just one more option for this recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This is such a fantastic recipe! It's amazing that it has so few ingredients and is so simple and quick to prepare. When plain, the muffins taste a little more eggy than most cake, but if that bothers the cook, the egginess is drowned by anything you put on the muffins. They're a fabulous blank slate for all sorts of toppings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      This is yummy, but can be made healthier without sacrificing taste. I used half butter and half canola oil, and used 4 egg whites / 3 yolks (instead of 4 whole eggs) to decrease the saturated fat almost by half, and it still tasted great. Incidentally, if you run out of corn starch (as I did after 1/2 cup), you can use potato starch for the balance and it still turns out fine. Next time I might try all oil and no butter; will post how it goes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2012

      Well, I just had one of these out of the oven and they are miraculous. I made with granulated sugar and to me, they tasted kind of like corn muffins. I have not tried them with berries yet, but I am sure they are delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      Spring is here and the strawberries are amazing so I made this recipe for GF Shortcake and I love it!! Fuss free and easy especially with my Kitchenaide stand mixer. I used white sugar and added the eggs one at a time and mixing well....I thought I over mixed it but the batter was light and fluffy. Perhaps they have too much baking powder in them? As they cooked the middles grew large and topped over the edge and there is an after taste of the baking powder, but you only notice it if you eat them plain.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      What a wonderful recipe! Wifey gave it two big thumbs up, and she's the gluten intolerant of the house. I was out of icing sugar (powered sugar) so I used regular granulated sugar, and they turned out pretty great! They look just like muffins, and are almost as spongy as Angel food cake, we love em.

      I served them with French Vanilla ice cream, in place of whipped cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This is just as advertised! Soft, spongy, sweet. I will make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      These were good and different. I thought they tasted eggy but my husband didn't notice. Thanks for a great quick desert!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Strawberry Shortcake

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 172.4
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    48%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 82.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 130.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites