31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were very good but like someone stated in a review they rose beautifully like a popover then deflated. They were soft and tasty, so I did give them 4 stars. I used "Thai" superfine rice flour and cornstarch because that is what I had maybe that is why they fell. Someone commented on leaving out the yeast and I may try that because the yeast does not dissolve since all the ingredients are thick and cold. I assume it is more for taste and smell.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3RiversCook October 28, 2014

Just made these rolls......So easy and delicious! Followed the recipe and they were perfect. Light and yummy! Kids loved them too! May have to make another batch for dinner...don't think they are going to last!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen T. December 21, 2013

I am new to the gluten free lifestyle, and I have tried several recipes for rolls and this one by far has won out. It is lite and texture is great, so much so, that my husband has enjoyed eating them. I am going to try it in a small bread pan and see how it comes out. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
makeitso2010 June 19, 2013

Sorry made these twice now, both times they came out the same....flatter than my pancakes...they did puff in oven and when taken out like big cream puffs, then like a tire with a slow leak, down they went. They second time I cooked them a lot longer than I did the first batch, and that still wasnt the problem. I even left a little batter in the bowl, for half hour to rest, and baked the last few, no different. My yeast is active, as I tested in warm water with sugar, froths nicely.. Tasted fine, but flat flat..I will have to discard this recipe, as it doesn't work for me...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andypandy September 10, 2012

They were wonderful, easy and light.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rockigirl October 04, 2011

WOW! these are definately my new favorite gluten free baked good! (my husband's 2nd fav, as he prefers things with chocolate!) These are so EASY and they teaste great! almost like a croissant! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianarae00 July 04, 2011

Wow! These rolls are awesome! My twin step daughters and my granddaughter can't have wheat and I know they will love these. I love them:) THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulamannisto December 31, 2009

I am going to leave my original review and add another review. I have now made these rolls they way they were intended (except still without sour cream and used 1/2 cup warm water - see below) and they are very yummy and biscuit like. I did use it for pizza crust and we liked it better than the flat rice crusts. I did use a little shortening and Italian flavorings. I have also used this recipe as "gnoccis" in a soup, but I used egg replacer instead of the eggs, and they turned out better than when I tried to use real eggs. They were denser and more "pasta" like, and more dumpling like (from what I remember real dumplings being like) when I used the real eggs. First Review: Ha! Too Funny. As soon as I popped these into the oven, I realized I forgot to add the butter/shortening. I spread a little butter on the top while they were baking. They fluffed up nice and were a little spongy, but everyone loved them anyway. I didn't use sour cream either, I used 1/2 C warm water, and let the yeast and sugar sit in it for about 10 minutes. I think I might try my goof up as pizza crust, and see how it goes. = )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joelle S. November 11, 2009

The gluten free member of my family didn't like them (I think he is still feeling sorry for himself), but the rest of us loved them! I decreased the sour cream by 1/4 cup and replaced with warm water and a pinch of sugar according to directions on my yeast packet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doreensavus October 15, 2009

These are great! The best rolls we have had since being GF.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purpleirismama March 29, 2009
Gluten-Free Rolls