Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten-Free Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Rolls

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2011

      these are the best rolls ever! they were super easy and were delicious! i use them for sandwich rolls, hamburger rolls, breakfast rolls, etc. if you want the rolls to be for a sandwich, wet your hands and form the dough into a flat disk.let the dough sit out for about a 1/2 hour, it will rise slightly so you can use them for sandwiches. i like to freeze mine so that they stay fresh longer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      These are really good. I made them to freeze for Thanksgiving for my daughter who is gluten intolerant but had to sample. I agree with Wendy1872 that they are a cross between a popover and biscuit. I made just as the recipe stated. Since Pot. starch is hard to find for me, I might try substituting something else like rice flour or just more corn starch as other reviewers suggested. I baked mine in Yorkshire pudding tins as I wanted them so she could make a turkey sandwich with. I think they will be good for that with cream cheese, cranberries and turkey. I know my daughter will love them, thank goodness we found something. Now on to more GF recipes since I have about 10 different flours and starches in my kitchen now. We plan on a Thanksgiving GF bake fest so she has things to take back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Our whole family of 5 LOVES these rolls, and only one of us needs to avoid gluten. I have made a couple of alterations that make these even more like popovers: I use butter instead of shortening; I omit yeast (the baking soda and powder do the trick and the flavor is cleaner this way). Also, I mix the dry ingredients first, then cut in the butter, then add the wet ingredients at the end. Hmmm ... I am craving these, just thinking of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      What a great and easy roll for any occasion. I made these one afternoon and GF kiddo ate them up with honey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Very good! Followed recipe as written.A cross between a roll and biscuit. Soft and tender with a slight crust to the top. I used large foil muffin cups and made 9 decent size rolls and baked them for 19 minutes. Yummy fresh from oven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      These were really good. I am new at this gluten free diet and cooking, but found these to taste like the real thing. Like one reader I used 1/2 C. water instead of yogurt, which I was out of, plus I used 2 Tbls. Butter and 2 Tbls. Shortening. I also used Agave in place of the honey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      Ingredients inexpensive at health food store. Made 2 doz. in mini-muffin pan. Baked 15 min. Might add a touch more fresh yeast next time to rate 5 stars. Good gift for aged aunt who loves dinner rolls, but must keep gluten-free.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      Just made these rolls......So easy and delicious! Followed the recipe and they were perfect. Light and yummy! Kids loved them too! May have to make another batch for dinner...don't think they are going to last!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      I am new to the gluten free lifestyle, and I have tried several recipes for rolls and this one by far has won out. It is lite and texture is great, so much so, that my husband has enjoyed eating them. I am going to try it in a small bread pan and see how it comes out. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      I have made a multitude of modifications to this recipe, and it stood its ground with whatever changes I made. I've also made it exactly per recipe, and it was 5stars. But I just want to mention how flexible this recipe can be, should you sub several things. Very forgiving, and definately a keeper!
      My favorite method of baking has been to spoon it into my large biscuit cutter set on a baking sheet. I smooth it down, remove the cutter, dip it in water, set it back on the cookie sheet, and start the next one.
      My kids love these sliced in half for sandwiches. And happy kids make this a very grateful mama. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      Sorry made these twice now, both times they came out the same....flatter than my pancakes...they did puff in oven and when taken out like big cream puffs, then like a tire with a slow leak, down they went. They second time I cooked them a lot longer than I did the first batch, and that still wasnt the problem. I even left a little batter in the bowl, for half hour to rest, and baked the last few, no different. My yeast is active, as I tested in warm water with sugar, froths nicely.. Tasted fine, but flat flat..I will have to discard this recipe, as it doesn't work for me...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2011

      They were wonderful, easy and light.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      WOW! these are definately my new favorite gluten free baked good! (my husband's 2nd fav, as he prefers things with chocolate!) These are so EASY and they teaste great! almost like a croissant! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      Wow! These rolls are awesome! My twin step daughters and my granddaughter can't have wheat and I know they will love these. I love them:) THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      I am going to leave my original review and add another review. I have now made these rolls they way they were intended (except still without sour cream and used 1/2 cup warm water - see below) and they are very yummy and biscuit like. I did use it for pizza crust and we liked it better than the flat rice crusts. I did use a little shortening and Italian flavorings. I have also used this recipe as "gnoccis" in a soup, but I used egg replacer instead of the eggs, and they turned out better than when I tried to use real eggs. They were denser and more "pasta" like, and more dumpling like (from what I remember real dumplings being like) when I used the real eggs. First Review: Ha! Too Funny. As soon as I popped these into the oven, I realized I forgot to add the butter/shortening. I spread a little butter on the top while they were baking. They fluffed up nice and were a little spongy, but everyone loved them anyway. I didn't use sour cream either, I used 1/2 C warm water, and let the yeast and sugar sit in it for about 10 minutes. I think I might try my goof up as pizza crust, and see how it goes. = )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      The gluten free member of my family didn't like them (I think he is still feeling sorry for himself), but the rest of us loved them! I decreased the sour cream by 1/4 cup and replaced with warm water and a pinch of sugar according to directions on my yeast packet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      These are great! The best rolls we have had since being GF.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      These rolls are wonderful and they freeze very well. Thanks for the recipe. Kelly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      It was amazing my for my little boy to have his first dinner roll in 2 years!! I've been holding off because the recipes just didn't seem right. This one is perfect! Next time I'll use butter flavored shortening and maybe a little dill or rosemary to add more flavor. Tastes similar to Pillsbury Crescent Rolls! YUM! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Awesome rolls! I didn't have potato starch so I used white Rice Flour and it was still awesome. I also let them rise for a little before I baked. Best rolls we have had in my 7 years of being gluten free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (683 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 290.7
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    47%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 70.2 mg
    23%
    Sodium 550.0 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites