31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

these are the best rolls ever! they were super easy and were delicious! i use them for sandwich rolls, hamburger rolls, breakfast rolls, etc. if you want the rolls to be for a sandwich, wet your hands and form the dough into a flat disk.let the dough sit out for about a 1/2 hour, it will rise slightly so you can use them for sandwiches. i like to freeze mine so that they stay fresh longer

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaf96 December 06, 2011

These are really good. I made them to freeze for Thanksgiving for my daughter who is gluten intolerant but had to sample. I agree with Wendy1872 that they are a cross between a popover and biscuit. I made just as the recipe stated. Since Pot. starch is hard to find for me, I might try substituting something else like rice flour or just more corn starch as other reviewers suggested. I baked mine in Yorkshire pudding tins as I wanted them so she could make a turkey sandwich with. I think they will be good for that with cream cheese, cranberries and turkey. I know my daughter will love them, thank goodness we found something. Now on to more GF recipes since I have about 10 different flours and starches in my kitchen now. We plan on a Thanksgiving GF bake fest so she has things to take back.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BMac November 14, 2010

Our whole family of 5 LOVES these rolls, and only one of us needs to avoid gluten. I have made a couple of alterations that make these even more like popovers: I use butter instead of shortening; I omit yeast (the baking soda and powder do the trick and the flavor is cleaner this way). Also, I mix the dry ingredients first, then cut in the butter, then add the wet ingredients at the end. Hmmm ... I am craving these, just thinking of them!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allisonbaker June 02, 2009

I have made a multitude of modifications to this recipe, and it stood its ground with whatever changes I made. I've also made it exactly per recipe, and it was 5stars. But I just want to mention how flexible this recipe can be, should you sub several things. Very forgiving, and definately a keeper!
My favorite method of baking has been to spoon it into my large biscuit cutter set on a baking sheet. I smooth it down, remove the cutter, dip it in water, set it back on the cookie sheet, and start the next one.
My kids love these sliced in half for sandwiches. And happy kids make this a very grateful mama. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oumrayan January 07, 2013

What a great and easy roll for any occasion. I made these one afternoon and GF kiddo ate them up with honey.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
T-nini January 28, 2010

Very good! Followed recipe as written.A cross between a roll and biscuit. Soft and tender with a slight crust to the top. I used large foil muffin cups and made 9 decent size rolls and baked them for 19 minutes. Yummy fresh from oven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wendy1872 November 28, 2008

These were really good. I am new at this gluten free diet and cooking, but found these to taste like the real thing. Like one reader I used 1/2 C. water instead of yogurt, which I was out of, plus I used 2 Tbls. Butter and 2 Tbls. Shortening. I also used Agave in place of the honey.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sallyjimmceuen November 27, 2008

these are so tasty. nice and soft. good delicate flavor and very easy to make. i also skipped rolling it in my hand. i used an ice cream scoop sprayed with nonstick spray. make them a good uniform size each time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisann09 December 24, 2007

Ingredients inexpensive at health food store. Made 2 doz. in mini-muffin pan. Baked 15 min. Might add a touch more fresh yeast next time to rate 5 stars. Good gift for aged aunt who loves dinner rolls, but must keep gluten-free.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frangel May 17, 2003

LOVE this recipe! I have been looking for gluten free bread recipes that would satisfy the entire family. Everyone thought they were wonderful. I can't wait to make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
uga1uga1_10307255 November 05, 2014
Gluten-Free Rolls