82 Reviews

I was looking forward to trying this recipe, and I was quite pleased.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lloyd 007 August 06, 2014

I think this crust is one of the best. I bake mine on a cookie sheet. I bake mine first and then add the sauce and toppings. I also sautee my veggies first. I add a little more sweetener and salt too my dough because I like it that way. I use fresh chopped rosemary in the dough when I have some.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lan619 April 13, 2013

This tastes incredible!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angievb March 13, 2013

I'm pretty new to GF baking, and we always had pizza every Friday night so not being able to eat pizza like we used to has been very disheartening.

I tried this because I had the ingredients on hand (for the most part)...many GF pizza crust recipes call for a mix of several kinds of flours that I just haven't gotten around to purchasing yet. I used brown rice flour, and substituted 1/2 the amount of tapioca flour with cornstarch as one reviewer did, and 2 TB of nutritional yeast in place of the dry milk. I also used an egg instead of gelatin. I also used honey for the sweetener, because I remember someone commenting somewhere on a GF bread recipe that honey helps mask the "gf-ness".

This dough was very easy to make and pretty tasty. It's apparent from the comments that some people thought this was just like "real" pizza crust, and, while it did not have a particularly noticeable gluten-free kind of taste, it did not have the texture of regular wheat pizza crust. This could be because I did not use tapioca flour, I intend to purchase some and make this again as written.

Over all, very good and I will make it again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Frugal Cheflady December 12, 2012

I was really pleased with how this turned out! I'm so tired of those dried-out Gluten free frozen pizza crusts that are ridiculously expensive. So, so happy to FINALLY find a truly delicious pizza crust that doesn't taste like a wanna-be pizza crust. I added a bit of garlic salt and it smelled so wonderful while it was cooking. I followed other reviews advice, and I did it on the grill- *AWESOME!*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rayraytron5000 August 21, 2012

First attempt at homemade pizza from scratch since going gluten-free and although there were a few hiccups it was pretty good! We didn't have the right size of pan so half the pizza ended up too burnt to eat, but what was salvaged had a very nice texture for gluten-free. I do wish it could have come out thicker, so I'll have to experiment with different pans or increase the recipe to get a thicker crust (which I prefer over thin). In place of the tapioca we used cornstarch and did not use the Italian seasoning as I dislike that form of seasoning. I'll be sure to try it again soon enough!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleyanders February 11, 2012

This pizza is amazing for gluten free. Before going GF I was a pizza snob and made all my own dough in the bread maker which was better than any chain pizza. There are some mom and pop places that are better. So I really never expected to find a GF pizza I liked but to my surprise this is an excellant pizza even against wheat and flour versions. And It took about an hour including having to run to the store for cheese and toppings that I didn't know I was out of. I will try making bread sticks out of it next time and add a little cheese in the crust for fun. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zgirl74 October 22, 2011

Awesome recipe. New to cooking Gluten Free food. This was so delicious!

I would add 2-3 minutes to the crust cooking time to crisp it up a bit more, and only cook with toppings for 15 minutes next time. SO GOOD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flyAddict September 29, 2011

Excellent! Love this recipe... Thank you sooo much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judell May 31, 2011

Thank you! Thank you! THANK YOU!!! I have been gluten and refined sugar free for about 2 years now and have been searching for a good pizza crust and I've finally found it!! I'm also pregnant and have been craving pizza so my baby thanks you too, LOL I was skeptical at first because I've been let down by so many recipes, mixes, and frozen pizzas but this is so good it's just like regular pizza--it's crunchy and chewy which is something a lot of GF pizza crusts lack. I loved it so much I created an account so I could review it :) (And we'll pretend I didn't eat the entire thing myself, haha!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shugrshell May 13, 2011
Gluten-Free Pizza Crust