Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Oreo Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Oreo Cookies

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 11, 2010

      I want to update my review. We have made these several times now. Recently I had to stop eating corn and dairy because my 4 month old infant is sensitive to them and I am nursing. So...for the cornstarch I substituted equal parts tapioca flour and arrowroot. I used Spectrum shortening in place of butter, and almond milk in place of milk. Worked out just fine. You will need to add a bit more milk than listed if you do this however. Another thing I discovered...I was going to use my cookie press for these but the dough was too thick HOWEVER...I did find that you good put a mishapen log of doughin the cookie press and press the dough down toward to die and then just remove the whole log. What you end up with is a perfectly round dough log and better looking cookies...more uniform. I sliced them up and put a piece of parchment over each cookie and then presed the bottom of a juice glass over the top to flatten them out a bit. They look much nicer this way:) My 3 year old helped make these with me. They were really easy. His comments about the dough.. "That looks like mud mommy. It's really good". They ARE really good. The only thing I will change next time is to double the filling. We ran out before filling all the cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      These are terrific! Modifications I made: ~ 2 tsp. ground flax seed for egg substitute ~ I was out of vanilla, so I left it out. ~ did not add milk. I simply rolled small portions into a ball and smashed them to about 1/8 inch with the bottom of a glass. Perfect! I look forward to adapting this recipe, minus the cocoa, for sugar cookies during the holidays! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      These are great and really easy to make. Everything turned out just the right consistency. I used ground flax seed for the egg substitute and lowfat canola spread instead of butter. Thanks a lot for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2011

      I rarely write reviews for recipes I make. I am usually dissuaded by "registering" and the 2 minutes of effort that takes. That being said, I baked, I ate, I registered. Worth every second. Since going gluten-free, I'd forgotten how much I missed my double stuf friends until I discovered this recipe and the delicious results. I followed the recipe almost exactly (I had no egg substitute so I just threw in an extra egg white to the wet ingredients) and it turned out wonderfully. Highly recommended. I know Xanthan gum is expensive, but it's worth the investment.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Son loved it! We used all rice flour and egg replacer... worked great... it was a bit hard to work with and I have an issue with the 1/8 cutting... LOL... I will have to work on that... But they were very very good!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      They taste great! I subbed coconut oil for the butter and shortening, brown rice flour for the white and ground gluten free oats for the cornstarch. Next time I would use the brown rice flour or the oats but not both as they are a little dry but the taste is perfect. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Awesome!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!! My kids are casein & gluten intolerant so I subst. the butter with 1/2 c. organic spectrum shortening and 1/2 c. applesauce. I also used Karma Ice cream (gluten & dairy free) for a nice ice cream sandwich!! They are killer!!!!! Thanks Again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      This makes GREAT chocolate cookie crumbs for cheesecakes or whatever else. I ended up making two huge cookies, and leaving them out overnight. The next day, I broke them up and ran them through the blender. It made about 5 cups of cookie crumbs, which should be enough for two 10" cheesecakes. Oh yeah, and the wife and kids liked the chunks of cookies by themselves. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      I never would have guessed these to be gluten free! I made them for a friend whose diet is gluten free and she and the whole family were amazed at how great they tasted! No more expensive pre-packaged for them!:) The only thing I had any difficulty with was the filling and it wasn't even a problem. Just had to add more then the 2 tablespoons suggested hot water to get the consistency right for spreading. Perhaps I didn't have it quite hot enough to begin with. I had to quit "sampling" them before delivering because they were so good! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe I've passed on to my friend! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      First try was a great success. I brought them to my sister's house for treats for the kids. They were enjoyed by all and only one celiac among us! Outstanding dough - so easy to handle. I started slicing the roll of dough as suggested, but found myself reshaping the dough. I decided to make walnut size balls and flatten them with my hand. Worked out great! If you prefer a chewier cookie, cook 1 minute less. The icing was right on the money! Tastes just like the real thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      These cookies are fantastic! My 2 uong daughters have never had an oreo, but I have. These taste the same. The only thing I did different is use powdered egg replacer for the egg. Wonderful! Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2006

      So close to the real thing that I was in heaven. These will be made often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      Very good-I didn't make the filling and the cookies were great without it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      I have a nephew who is on a gluten/casein/soy-free diet and I wanted to make some cookies that he could eat at our family Christmas Eve get-together. I just finished putting these together and wanted to thank you for providing a recipe that is tasty and more importantly, is going to help a little boy feel included in the festivities. I altered the recipe to make them dairy-free by using almond milk and soy-free by using a soybean oil free shortening (Spectrum brand) for the filling. I left out the egg subsitute as well because all of the brands I found had soy in them. I had to use quite a bit of the almond milk to make the dough workable (it is very stiff), but be patient and make sure your dough isn't too dry when you roll and wrap them or they'll just fall apart when you cut them. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      I saw this in Bette Hagman's, "The Gluten-Free Gourmet Makes Dessert" I think but was afraid to try it. Thanks to GlutenFreeGirl for posting it AND to all you reviewers for giving me the guts to try it. I had to make it egg , refined sugar and dairy free as well so, I subbed an additional teaspoon of egg replacer and 2 tbsp water for the egg, (just added with the dry ingredients and the water with the wet ingredients) changed the butter to Spectrum shortening and subbed 1/2 agave and 1/2 honey for the sugar and didn't need to add any rice milk. Gluten, vegan, and refined sugar free for the allergic kids in my life! Great! Thanks again! Oops I forgot one thing. The dough is not that easy to handle, when I sliced it, it was deformed, not nice circles. So, I did one batch by rolling between parchment paper, using a glass (you can use a cookie cutter too) to cut circles, putting the sheet in the freezer for a few minutes and then removing the circles and baking. The scraps can be re-rolled. Another faster method I used was shaping into balls then dipped the bottom of a glass in some sweet rice flour and flattening. The cut outs looked much nicer, but they both taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      oh so nice and tasty. i was thoroughly impressed with this recipe and can't wait to make them again. it's an actually easy recipe to follow and takes less time than i thought it would. like i said, very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      Excellent! We have tried the gluten free oreo type cookies from the store and weren't impressed at all, but these are delicious and less expensive, too! I used two teaspoons of ground flax seeds for the 2 teaspoons of egg substitute, I used turbinado sugar for the white sugar, and I used non-hydrogenated, organic coconut oil for the shortening. We will definitely be making these again! (My husband recommends making a slighter larger batch of filling, as he likes to sort of double-stuff them!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

    • on July 21, 2007

      These cookies are WONDERFUL!! It took me a little while to get used to the dough, but the taste is perfect! My kids couldn't get enough! To make perfect shapes, I put the dough into a cookie press and compressed it as much as I could to make the dough stick together. I put it in the refrigerator, and then I just squeezed the handle a little and cut off a little bit of dough. They were perfect! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Great recipe, worked well with rice milk, dairy-free marg and egg replacer for a gluten/egg/dairy/nut free biscuit - we loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Oreo Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 45

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 97.2
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    38%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 91.3 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.5 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes