Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten-Free Naan / Roti (Indian Flat Bread) - Version #1 Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Naan / Roti (Indian Flat Bread) - Version #1

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2009

      I love this bread and am very happy to have it GF. One issue - I think the milk/sugar/yeast mixture was left out of the instructions once after the first paragraph. And, once I added it I had to add a lot more rice and tapioca flour to get the dough to the right consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      Excellent gf naan. I made a couple of changes due to the ingredients I had on hand - I used low-fat milk and in place of the yoghurt I used lite sour cream.
      The dough was very sticky (just like all gf dough!). I used a freezer bag dusted heavily with rice flour, then dredged the dough each side in the flour and put another freezer bag on top, before rolling out.
      Thanks for the recipe, it works really well and tastes almost like real bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      My family loved it. I made it along side Curry Chicken and it was wonderful. It was not that hard to make. The stickiness of the doe was made easier to handle by adding lots of rice flower to the hands, rolling pin and table. It was nice to have bread on the table with dinner since me and my youngest have celiac disease.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      This was surprisingly wonderful. I don't know if it's just me, but the dough was terrible to handle (maybe I did something wrong). I don't mention this as a negative, just to let others out there (like me) not to fear if it doesn't have a great consistancy. It turned out DELICIOUS and even my non-Celiac friends love it. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      OMG! This was soooo good! Way better than the real naan I've had, LOL! I might try the recipe using wheat flour to compare. But I found it light and tasty... I brushed with garlic butter to make garlic naan and YUM. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      This is amazing! It is so nice to have really good gluten free bread ready in only minutes. I placed my pizza stone in the oven to preheat while the oven preheated. The only substitution was to use almond milk in place of the whole milk. The dough was easy to handle with lightly floured hands. It was rolled out on parchment paper with a lightly floured rolling pin. The bread was allowed to brown on one side and then flipped to cook on the other. My yield was 8 nice size naan. This is something I will be making again and again. Thanks much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      Awesome recipe! It tastes just like real naan! The only trouble i had was with rolling the dough out. After throwing the rolling pin through the window, cover a tablespoon worth of dough in flour and work it between your hands into a flat bread about the size of your hands. I then pan fried it for a few minutes on each side instead of using the oven. It also works well when you cover it in garlic. Just make sure to use a decent amount of spray oil on either side of the bread. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      I just made this naan with substitutions and it came out amazing! Soooooo yummy even with all the tweaking. He's allergic to wheat, dairy, egg, nut, etc. I substituted the milk with soy milk, yogurt with soy yogurt and egg with Ener G egg substitute and topped it off with soy butter after baking. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. Thanks for posting! He can finally have normal tasting bread that is soft... so I now have a happy 3 yr. old and a very happy mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Delicious! I made this with Butter Chicken and it was awesome. I forgot to buy plain yogurt, so I used sour cream. My liquid measuring cups had mL measurements, but I used 2 c. rice flour and 6 Tbsp. tapioca starch and it worked out well. Added some garlic butter on top and it was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Naan / Roti (Indian Flat Bread) - Version #1

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.1
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    18%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 36.7 mg
    12%
    Sodium 228.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    gluten free baking powder

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites