22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i have attempted this recipe now 4 times and it finally didn't fall!

I basically kept recipe same (subbed almond flour for sorghum) but i put it in a small loaf pan and actually baked it an extra 20 minutes until the toothpick came out clean.

the other 3 times i baked it, it fell (so disappointing!) and was not baked enough inside so i read online that the pan may be too large for the dough to fully bake inside if it rises really high (which mine always did).

i tried this recipe so many times bc even though the dough fell the other times it was still really tasty, so i am super pleased that i have figured out how to make it work here.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cSquaredInUxbridge August 26, 2011

This bread is excellent! My 5 year-old & 8 year-old love it too!! I use my bread maching on light crust cycle. I make two versions 1 without egg whites for my son, I also reduce the amount of flax seed meal to 2 Tablespoons, add 1 Tablespoon more of veg. oil and honey each so it's nice and moist. The crust with the egg whites added is just like a fine bakery bread. Yum!! Thank you for a great recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
517776 June 25, 2007

I use this recipe all the time-it is my all time favourite. Because i live at higher elevations, it tended to fall (as others have found), so I did some tweaking and added another 1/4 cup of flour. I found the amaranth flour overwhelmed the flavour, so I substituted either millet flour or Quinoa (1/2 cup rather than the 1/4 cup). I found this to take care of the falling bread. I also cook it 5 to 10 minutes longer (testing with a wooden skewer for wet clinging batter). Hope this helps.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babsax March 20, 2010

I was delighted to find this recipe and some others have noted it did deflate a bit while cooling. All in all the texture is good, the bread slices well. It holds up to freezing and defrosting. I'll try making it again as another reviewer stated add additional flour to see if this makes a difference.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG October 29, 2010

The bread was much better than any in the stores but we hate the tatse of ameranth. I substitue teff for darker almost whole wheat type taste and garbanzo/fava flour for a white verision that are much less yeasty flavoured. We also make it in a bread machine on gluten-free setting with a light crust and it works great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wexlercd October 07, 2007

The first time I made this I forgot the flax seed meal and the bread slumped so far it practically turned back into dough. I decided to give it another chance because of the rave reviews and did everything exactly but was disappointed by how much it fell. However, it didn't fall as much as the first time, the slices still looked like real bread and it tasted really great. Next time I plan to leave out the two egg whites and see what happens. Since flax meal is sometimes used as egg replacer in vegan recipes, maybe that is the secret. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yankiwi September 14, 2009

This was the best I have tried so far. I had to make a few substitutions for ingredients I didn't have or can't use. Here they are: -Buckwheat flour sub for Amaranth flour -Potato Starch for Corn Starch -Egg Replacer for Eggs It has a good color and flavor but the texture was a little doughy and I couldn't get it to dry out at all. I don't know if it had to do with the substitutions I made though. I am new to gluten, corn, egg free baking! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dairy Free 4 B November 04, 2007

I had posted mine here (under Gluten-Free Flax Bread), but I am glad that you enjoyed it. It truly is a miracle! Great name :) (I'm Laurie from the celiac forums, just to clarify!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie150 March 17, 2007

Very good! Baked longer than stated.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dancerdeb October 28, 2014

This was my first attempt at making GF bread and all in all I was pleased. I did take the suggestion from one of the ccoks in a past review to increase the agave and oil. This was a good idea to add moistness to the bread. I did some tweaking to the recipe myself. I used 3/4 C Garbanzo bean flour instead of 1/2 C Aramath flour. Instead of 2 T of Agave I used 3 T. Instead of 2 T of oil I used 3 T of melted butter. I also used my bread machine and it only made about half the normal size loaf, so I suppose it fell too. It rose like any other bread would in the bread machine. I do agree that if this is made the traditional way a smaller pan should be used and I believe that would take care of the "falling issue". When I make this bread next time, I plan on experimenting with another type of flour instead of the garbanzo flour and trying molasses instead of agave. I am also going to use a smaller pan and make it in the oven instead. I feel the bread was moist but some what chewy. This is probably from the bread machine over working the dough. When I make the new loaf I will repost my results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DawnRenee62 February 24, 2013
Gluten-Free Multigrain Miracle Bread