Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten-Free Multigrain Miracle Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Multigrain Miracle Bread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2011

      i have attempted this recipe now 4 times and it finally didn't fall!

      I basically kept recipe same (subbed almond flour for sorghum) but i put it in a small loaf pan and actually baked it an extra 20 minutes until the toothpick came out clean.

      the other 3 times i baked it, it fell (so disappointing!) and was not baked enough inside so i read online that the pan may be too large for the dough to fully bake inside if it rises really high (which mine always did).

      i tried this recipe so many times bc even though the dough fell the other times it was still really tasty, so i am super pleased that i have figured out how to make it work here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      This bread is excellent! My 5 year-old & 8 year-old love it too!! I use my bread maching on light crust cycle. I make two versions 1 without egg whites for my son, I also reduce the amount of flax seed meal to 2 Tablespoons, add 1 Tablespoon more of veg. oil and honey each so it's nice and moist. The crust with the egg whites added is just like a fine bakery bread. Yum!! Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      I was delighted to find this recipe and some others have noted it did deflate a bit while cooling. All in all the texture is good, the bread slices well. It holds up to freezing and defrosting. I'll try making it again as another reviewer stated add additional flour to see if this makes a difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      I use this recipe all the time-it is my all time favourite. Because i live at higher elevations, it tended to fall (as others have found), so I did some tweaking and added another 1/4 cup of flour. I found the amaranth flour overwhelmed the flavour, so I substituted either millet flour or Quinoa (1/2 cup rather than the 1/4 cup). I found this to take care of the falling bread. I also cook it 5 to 10 minutes longer (testing with a wooden skewer for wet clinging batter). Hope this helps.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      The first time I made this I forgot the flax seed meal and the bread slumped so far it practically turned back into dough. I decided to give it another chance because of the rave reviews and did everything exactly but was disappointed by how much it fell. However, it didn't fall as much as the first time, the slices still looked like real bread and it tasted really great. Next time I plan to leave out the two egg whites and see what happens. Since flax meal is sometimes used as egg replacer in vegan recipes, maybe that is the secret. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This was the best I have tried so far. I had to make a few substitutions for ingredients I didn't have or can't use. Here they are: -Buckwheat flour sub for Amaranth flour -Potato Starch for Corn Starch -Egg Replacer for Eggs It has a good color and flavor but the texture was a little doughy and I couldn't get it to dry out at all. I don't know if it had to do with the substitutions I made though. I am new to gluten, corn, egg free baking! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      The bread was much better than any in the stores but we hate the tatse of ameranth. I substitue teff for darker almost whole wheat type taste and garbanzo/fava flour for a white verision that are much less yeasty flavoured. We also make it in a bread machine on gluten-free setting with a light crust and it works great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2007

      I had posted mine here (under Gluten-Free Flax Bread), but I am glad that you enjoyed it. It truly is a miracle! Great name :) (I'm Laurie from the celiac forums, just to clarify!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2014

      Very good! Baked longer than stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      This was my first attempt at making GF bread and all in all I was pleased. I did take the suggestion from one of the ccoks in a past review to increase the agave and oil. This was a good idea to add moistness to the bread. I did some tweaking to the recipe myself. I used 3/4 C Garbanzo bean flour instead of 1/2 C Aramath flour. Instead of 2 T of Agave I used 3 T. Instead of 2 T of oil I used 3 T of melted butter. I also used my bread machine and it only made about half the normal size loaf, so I suppose it fell too. It rose like any other bread would in the bread machine. I do agree that if this is made the traditional way a smaller pan should be used and I believe that would take care of the "falling issue". When I make this bread next time, I plan on experimenting with another type of flour instead of the garbanzo flour and trying molasses instead of agave. I am also going to use a smaller pan and make it in the oven instead. I feel the bread was moist but some what chewy. This is probably from the bread machine over working the dough. When I make the new loaf I will repost my results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      I recently started on a GF diet, after reading Wheat Belly, and I have to say that this is the best tasting bread I have tried and I%u2019ve tried about a half dozen others. I did run into the same problems others have reported when making this bread. The bread collapsed after taking it out of the oven, this is not a big deal for me. The main problem was that the top was very crusty, almost burned, but when I removed it from the pan, the bottom was mushy. I ended up putting it back into the oven, without the pan, for another eight minutes to get it to solidify. Today when I made it I substituted half the amaranth flour with coconut flour, coconut flour is more absorbent, I was hoping it would help with the mushy bottom. I also reduced the oven temperature to 325, so that the top would not burn before the bottom was done. This worked; the bread came out perfectly done and with very little shrinkage. The next time I make it I will substitute all the amaranth for coconut flour or go half coconut, half almond flour to see if I can totally eliminate the bread from falling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      Tried this recipe for the first time tonight and although it didn't fall, (because I baked it 5 mins longer than stated) the outside was overdone while the inside just barely done. Does anyone have a solution to this because I must say the bread is definitely amazing.
      Eileen

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      For anyone looking to make flour substitutions, check here first:
      http://www.celiac.ca/EnglishCCA/egfdiet2.html#substitutions

      It might help when trying to figure out the right proportions to avoid a dense bread or one that falls after baking. If it doesn't help, you've lost nothing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      I cant believe I can send a sandwich to school with my little one that isn't hard and crumbly. I LOVE this Bread. his recipe is fantastic the 1st one that is soft and has stayed soft and not crumbly for 6 DAYS Now. I am trilled. I made it just as posted and it fell a little. I made it a 2nd time and left out 2 egg whites and it fell more. From what I have read the bread falls for 3 reasons. too much liquid, oven differences, and different flours absorb liquids different. So if your changing the flour mix it may mess with it. Most of the recipes I have tried that are GF fall a little. I am too working on that issue. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Luckily, we found this recipe when we were first diagnosed with Celiac Disease. I do add 1 1/2 teasp salt and 3 Tablespoons Honey and switch out the amaranth flour for others most of the time to make it taste even better. THANKS! This is great. I like it better than the other Multigrain recipe here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I have been looking for another GF bread recipe and after reading all the reviews decided to try this and it was great! I have made it twice, w/o amaranth - I used teff flour most recently - I can't remember what I replaced it with the 1st time; either way I was happy with the result. I too have a problem with the bread 'falling' after I take it out of the oven. But it is still delicious. I have had the same problem with other GF breads I make - would love to hear any suggestions to fixing that issue. I live in S. GA, not to humid or to high. This will be one of my 'regular' recipes! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      My experience:1st ever gf yeast bread to taste or bake. I had to use a convection oven. I subbed equal amounts of brown and white rice flour and sorghum for the 1/4 cup of amaranth. I followed everything else exactly except the water was warmer than room temp. I left out about 2 T. of water. I used a 9x5 pyrex b/c my metal pan was 8x4. The bread rose above the pan edge 1 and 1/4 inches in about 40 minutes. Not knowing what to do, I let it rise for 1 hour. Then while it was baking it was reaching the oven top and browning fast so I had to move the rack to its lowest position. I had to use foil but I then took it off 5 minutes early so I could look to see how dark it was. When the bread was cooling I noticed it fell a little and I thought, I hope the bread crumbs will be good, thinking it was ruined. After cutting it, it only had a couple of small wholes the size of a shelled almond. I think I will leave out 3 T of water and use room temp. too. After reading all the comments on here and on bythebay I give my loaf and almost perfect score. It was delicious too! Thank you for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      I have made this several times and love the taste and texture, however, it keeps falling. I've tried reducing the water and increasing the yeast. I removed one of the eggs and used egg replacer. I'm making it in a Breadman bread machine on the gluten free setting. Any advise?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Delicious! I don't have sorghum flour so I subbed white rice flour. My only problem was that after 40 minutes of baking the bread was dark brown on the outside but not all the way done on the inside after cooling. This time I'm trying 325 for 45 minutes to see if that works any better for me. I am also wondering how I can make this up more conveniently to eat more frequently. Has anyone tried making the dough and then freezing it? Or would it be better to bake the bread and then freeze it? Great Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      I love it! Easy to make and tastes great. Better than all the previous bread recipes I tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Multigrain Miracle Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.0
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    34%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 26.5 mg
    8%
    Sodium 186.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca starch

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes