23 Reviews

Love it! I have made this recipe multiple times. I recently have modified the recipe to 1/2 C Almond Flour, 1/2 C Rice Flour, 1/2 C Corn Starch, 1/2 Cup of butter. Due to the Almond flour you need less butter because of the fat content. I really like the nutty taste the almonds add to the mix. I did try the recipe with 1 C Almond flour for the rice/almond flour mix but it turned out too greasy in my opinion. I kept the original cooking time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunshiney_2001 June 19, 2011

This is the best shortbread I've ever made. I needed a gluten free crust for my cheesecake and this worked amazing. I just pressed the dough into the base of my springform pan and only baked the cookie for about 3/4 of the time (no browning at all), then poured the cheesecake filling on top and cooked that according to the instructions and it turned out amazing. Thanks for posting!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen M. January 08, 2011

Great recipe!! I pressed the dough once chilled into mini tart pans and baked at 350F for approx 25 min - when it was lightly browned. It tasted awesome!! The texture was great and there was no aftertaste (I get that sometimes with my GF mix). Served it at a party and everyone enjoyed it, even those who were not GF. It was a bit crumbly for a tart so I might add a bit of xanthan gum next time to help it hold together better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmn24 July 03, 2010

I made these exact cookies, but got the recipe off an e-mail list. I used sorghum flour though and felt that they needed something, but that could have been the flour (or that I had to use Earth Balance bcz of my CF DD). I did not feel that they were that fragile. Next time, I want to try making these into Mexican Wedding Cakes. I loved that they stayed together, didn't crumble when removing from the pan. I think it just needs some sugar on the outside (or melted chocolate!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead December 25, 2009

Yummy!!! My sons allergic to eggs so i tried these for him. I thought i needed to make them more kid friendly so i dipped them in melted chocolate!! They were devine!! He also is allergic to corn so i used arrowroot powder instead of corn starch and used brown rice flour, they turned out great!! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaseyandBeth May 06, 2008

This did not work for me at all. All six cookies turned into a pile of grease. I should have added more flour but usually the recipes are accurately represented.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averyfive December 06, 2015

I had a bit of trouble with this recipe for some reason. I kept checking the ingredients to make sure I was measuring everything correct, but my cookies kept spreading out too much while baking. I finally added some more powdered sugar and cornstarch and that seemed to help. It could just be a difference in how I measure my ingredients - wish there was a weight (i.e. oz. or grams) for each! I made one of the variations - I rolled in walnuts and added a thumbprint with strawberry jam. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks August 14, 2014

I read all the reviews and expected fragile but seriously these fell apart the minute i slid the lifter under them . Sorry but for me a total waste of time and ingrdients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
judy a. December 19, 2012

Just pulled my first batch of these out of the oven!!! Couldn't wait for them to cool down completely... I am in total awe!! These are better than the shortbread I used to make pre-glutenfree. Absolutely love the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen31 December 13, 2012

Love this recipe. very easy and tasty. I made the variation using almond meal flour. My grandsons love the cookies, too! This is my new "go to" cookie recipe for the little guys. Can't wait to try it as a pie crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marylg51 February 15, 2012
Gluten Free Melt-In-Your-Mouth Shortbread