Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Melt-In-Your-Mouth Shortbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Melt-In-Your-Mouth Shortbread

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2011

      Love it! I have made this recipe multiple times. I recently have modified the recipe to 1/2 C Almond Flour, 1/2 C Rice Flour, 1/2 C Corn Starch, 1/2 Cup of butter. Due to the Almond flour you need less butter because of the fat content. I really like the nutty taste the almonds add to the mix. I did try the recipe with 1 C Almond flour for the rice/almond flour mix but it turned out too greasy in my opinion. I kept the original cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      This is the best shortbread I've ever made. I needed a gluten free crust for my cheesecake and this worked amazing. I just pressed the dough into the base of my springform pan and only baked the cookie for about 3/4 of the time (no browning at all), then poured the cheesecake filling on top and cooked that according to the instructions and it turned out amazing. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Great recipe!! I pressed the dough once chilled into mini tart pans and baked at 350F for approx 25 min - when it was lightly browned. It tasted awesome!! The texture was great and there was no aftertaste (I get that sometimes with my GF mix). Served it at a party and everyone enjoyed it, even those who were not GF. It was a bit crumbly for a tart so I might add a bit of xanthan gum next time to help it hold together better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I made these exact cookies, but got the recipe off an e-mail list. I used sorghum flour though and felt that they needed something, but that could have been the flour (or that I had to use Earth Balance bcz of my CF DD). I did not feel that they were that fragile. Next time, I want to try making these into Mexican Wedding Cakes. I loved that they stayed together, didn't crumble when removing from the pan. I think it just needs some sugar on the outside (or melted chocolate!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Yummy!!! My sons allergic to eggs so i tried these for him. I thought i needed to make them more kid friendly so i dipped them in melted chocolate!! They were devine!! He also is allergic to corn so i used arrowroot powder instead of corn starch and used brown rice flour, they turned out great!! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2014

      I had a bit of trouble with this recipe for some reason. I kept checking the ingredients to make sure I was measuring everything correct, but my cookies kept spreading out too much while baking. I finally added some more powdered sugar and cornstarch and that seemed to help. It could just be a difference in how I measure my ingredients - wish there was a weight (i.e. oz. or grams) for each! I made one of the variations - I rolled in walnuts and added a thumbprint with strawberry jam. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      I read all the reviews and expected fragile but seriously these fell apart the minute i slid the lifter under them . Sorry but for me a total waste of time and ingrdients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      Just pulled my first batch of these out of the oven!!! Couldn't wait for them to cool down completely... I am in total awe!! These are better than the shortbread I used to make pre-glutenfree. Absolutely love the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      Love this recipe. very easy and tasty. I made the variation using almond meal flour. My grandsons love the cookies, too! This is my new "go to" cookie recipe for the little guys. Can't wait to try it as a pie crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I made these for my mother in law for Christmas, and she said they tasted just like pecan sandies, after I added the pecans of course.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

    • on December 15, 2009

      They definitly are fragile - but so tasty! I think this would work well as a GF crumb crust... bake 1 large cookie in a 8x8 pan, then "crumb" it up, add some cornflake crumbs and prepare a crumb base. I will try and repost the results! revision: pressed the entire recipe into a 9x13 pan and baked for 30 mins (until golden on the edges), let cool - and "crumbed". Used 1/2 of these crumbs and 1/2 cornflake crumbs, with some sugar and melted butter to prepare a GF like Graham Cracker Crust with was sweet and soft. Perfect for Crumb Crust desserts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Wonderful, especially dipped in melted Dove Milk Chocolate :) Great canvas for just about anything you want to do!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I've had this recipe on my list of ones to try, but Diana #2 beat me to it when she sent them to me as part of the 2008 Cookie Swap. They were truly fantastic, and adorable to boot. These will be one of my GF staples from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      *FANTASTIC* cookies. These simply melt in your mouth. I used a 1 tbsp measure, and got 25 cookies. You need to have one for sampling :) I dipped the top half of each ball into coarse sugar, and pressed with a glass. After they came out of the oven, I poked them with the end of a wooden skewer so they would resemble 'buttons'. (got that idea from the internet somewhere) The finished cookie measured about 2" across. Thanks Nana Lee for a wonderful addition to my GF collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      These were wonderful! I'll be making them again soon for a bridal shower so I'm glad I did a test batch. I made mine a little too big so they needed about 10 extra minutes to brown around the edges. I chose to do thumbprints and bake half with raspberry preserves and half with lemon curd. Wow! Definitely addictive. Thank you very much for posting! UPDATE: I tried making these in mini muffin tins, hollowed out a little well, and filled them with pecan tassy filling. I also upped the cooking temp to 350 and they browned beautifully. It was a successful experiment!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      easy recipe, came together well. dont try and move them from the tray until they are cold!! I pressed a chocolate drop into a few while they were still warm, and that looks good! thanks nana, agreat recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      A delectable cookie and no hint of being gluten free. These would be great with a bit of lemon essence or a lemon icing. I couldn't find icing sugar without wheat starch in it so just used superfine sugar which worked fine. I needed 1-2 tbsp of milk for the dough to hang together. Then I rolled it into a log, wrapped it in plastic, refrigerated it till stiff and cut into slices for baking. They are very fragile, especially while still hot. I lined my baking sheet with baking paper, then I lifted the whole sheet of paper off (very carefully with help!) and laid it on the rack with the cookies still on it. This allowed them to cool and be removed sooner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      Wow! These were so good and really do melt in your mouth. I brought some into my husbands work and all the guys approved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      These are from the back of a cornstarch box and are called "Grandma's Cookies". They were my recipe pre-gluten free and now I use them, too. I use Earth Balance for butter and my own gluten-free mix for the rice flour. I cut them out, though, and ice them, as that is how we eat our shortbread cookies here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Melt-In-Your-Mouth Shortbread

    Serving Size: 1 (452 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.8
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    55%
    Total Fat 5.8 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 50.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites