Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free Gingersnap Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free Gingersnap Cookies

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2009

      This is a fabulous recipe! It makes a ton of dough; we actually made the cookies over several sessions because the dough would start melting after it had been out of the fridge for too long. These cookies went so wonderfully with sliced strawberries, we're thinking about converting the recipe into a sort ginger graham cracker-like crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      The cookie tastes ok, but all I could taste was cloves no ginger. Definitely not what I wanted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2012

      I've made these several times. I did cut the recipe in half and still had plenty of cookies for myself and to share with family. I used Thai rice flour for the rice flour, as it is ground finer. I found I didn't need to refrigerate the dough, but then my kitchen is always cool. These taste like "regular" gingersnaps, mine were thicker and chewy. Plus these freeze well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Amazing! The first gluten free cookie recipe I have tried that I want to make again! My husband has been asking for them non-stop and I've had to pass your recipe along to many others too! Thanks again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Thnx Glutenfree Girl for a great GF cookie. This recipe makes LOTS of dough! I am going to try freezing it and baking more after Xmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      4 1/4 stars these are really good texture but only if cooked just right I felt they had a nice flavour. DH didnt like them but he had a hard one 3 days later! I cut the recipe in half and it still made a ton of dough. I did find I had to flatten the cookies myself before putting them in the oven and that may be what contributed to some being harder than other, as baking them as balls they stayed pretty ball like but that may be because of my modifications. I replaced the butter with canola oil in a lesser amount because we are dairy free. I used fancy molasses and egg replacer. Instead of xanthan gum I used guar gum because of a corn allergy and increased the spices by also adding a little bit of allspice but no ground cloves. I added the additional white sugar after baking to look authentic. I will may make these again and not press them down so hard and also use a better oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Great Cookies! I did however have a problem getting them to get hard.. they were so squishy that they wouldnt harden in the middle. Since I'm allergic to eggs, I substituted apple sauce and splash of olive oil. I also used margarine, instead of butter because I'm allergic to milk. So after my first batch in the oven was destroyed...I added a 1/4-1/2 cup sweet sorghum flour to the bowl,mixed and baked the cookies for about 10 minutes. After adding the extra flour they turned out great. Also be careful as these cookies will fall flat if you shut the oven door too hard, or bump the stove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Yum! I cut down on the cloves as a personal preference (just a tiny bit) but other than that followed the recipe. They were GREAT!!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      LOVE the flavor but wonder about the consistency/texture. They are more like crispy thin 1/8" wafers. I cooked them for a little over 8 minutes at 350 and they are so thin, they look almost lacy. Maybe they are supposed to be this thin. They also are very greasy to the touch which is from the butter (which does taste wonderful!), but still seems a bit much. I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT that I used BROWN rice flour instead of rice flour. I am new to gluten free baking. Could this difference in flour make that much difference? Any thoughts?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      This truly is a good recipe. It might be my oven, but I was not able to get them really crisp. I also doubled up on the spices and added some nutmeg and allspice. The cookies have great flavor and texture and actually hang together instead of crumbling as so many GF products do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      These were very close to the ginger cookies that I loved as a kid. Next time I'll add less cloves as I found them a bit overpowering. I needed to bake them almost 15 minutes to get a chewy cookie though, at 8 minutes they were still balls! I'll definitely be making these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      These cookies went like hotcakes! They were so chewy, sofy and delicious. I took them to work and the girls thought they were better then regular gingersnaps! These were such a hit. I can't wait to make them for the holidays and use green & red colored sugar! The way that made them that soft was i only cooked them for 6 min. I probably got about 5-6 dozen cookies. I also fridged them for atleast 3 hrs. Thanks glutenFreegirl. Us gf chicks need to stick together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free Gingersnap Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (26 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 48

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.8
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    39%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 23.0 mg
    7%
    Sodium 161.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites