Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free French Bread

    Average Rating:

    118 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-118 of 118

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2007

      I guess I am going to have to re-make this bread. This was the first gluten free bread that I had ever made and the stuff was terrible. Sorry, did't do it for me at all

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I absolutely LOVE this recipe!! I haven't had french bread in a couple years since going gluten free, and this was definently a wonderful treat. I will be using this recipe a lot! UPDATE: I just have to say that everyone I have ever made this for (mostly people who don't have gluten intolerance) just LOVE this bread!! It's always requested when my friends and I get together for a pot luck dinner :) Now that's saying something!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Yummy! Very nice texture. We had about 1/2 loaf left over and made croutons the next day they were soooo goood!!!! toasted them in a pan w/garlic, butter and thyme and then shredded parm. cheese on top. I think that they were even better that regular gluten croutons. I will be putting this into my recipe box. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      This was wonderful! I loved the texture and the taste, and the fact that it was so quick and easy. Thank you so much for this recipe, GlutenFreeGirl! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Great right out of the oven! My husband didn't realize it was GF! I sliced up what was left after dinner, coated with EVOO and some seasonings and had awesome coutons later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      still tasted good using brown rice flour! best the first day, while still warm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      This really IS as good as it sounds! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      Gluten free since last Thursday. My husband loves it and so do I! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Amazing! The only gf bread that tastes like the real stuff! I find I have to add extra flour, but thats no big deal. I made it in my bread maker today and it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

    • on August 20, 2007

      so far the only GF bread we've tried that actually tastes like FRESH bread. Thank-you, thank-you, thank-you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

    • on July 18, 2007

      This was really good! I wasn't sure I'd like it with all the white rice flour, but even though the rice flour I used was grainy, the graininess actually added a good texture to it. The flavor was good and even my gluten-eating husband liked it. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      This bread is outstanding! I have made it 3 or 4 times and each time my husband (who is gluten-intolerant) comments about how wonderful it tastes and how nice it is to be able to have bread just like he used to eat. Thanks, GlutenFreeGirl, for this excellent recipe. (I'm making some right now!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Another great gluten free recipe! The texture is superb and it bakes up nice and crusty on the outside and soft on the inside just as you say! I used a french bread pan and got 2 nice loaves. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful treat! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Fantastic! I initially gave this four stars and said that the taste was perfect and the texture was close. I decided to come back and change it to five because the texture was perfect too. I tasted the bread (and then reviewed it) straight out of the oven and it was really good, but not great. After letting the bread cool completely and then brushing the slices with garlic butter and popping it back into the oven, this was 100% the same as regular wheat french bread. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      Wonderful! Just wonderful!! I wouldn't have known I was eating gluten free bread if I hadn't made it myself. The texture is perfect and the flavor great. The first time I made this I made 2 loaves in french bread pans. It made pretty small loaves, so the next time I made just one loaf in a regular loaf pan. It made a nice sized loaf which sliced perfectly for sandwiches. My celiac stepdaughter was just thrilled with this bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      This bread was wonderful! Easy to make. I didn't have fast rise yeast so I used regular, and let it disolve. I would however recommend using the Italian loaf pans. Mine expanded outward but not in hight. Excellent bread! Will make again and again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.8
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    16%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 258.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites