122 Reviews

I would give this recipe 5 starts except for the funky flavor and smell. We made about 3 batches to finally figure out what it is that is causing the weird/off taste. It's the tapioca flour.We originally used apple cider vinegar and olive oil to coat the top. We thought maybe our olive oil was rancid. We made another batch with margarine on the top. The funky taste was still there. The third batch we we switched to white distilled vinegar, and it was still gross. So we figured it had to be one of the flours. So my husband started smelling them and found it was the tapioca. I don't know if our flour is bad or if that is just how it tastes. I've never noticed it taste bad like that in any of the other recipes I've used it in. Other than that the bread is delicious. It is soft on the inside and has a crisp and slightly chewy crust. If we make it again we are going to substitute the tapioca with potato starch and see if that works.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canyonland23 July 14, 2012

I'm giving this 5 stars, only because it won't let me give 4 1/2. I followed the recipe exactly, it is a very wet "dough." I expected that. It rose perfectly, even smelled like "real" bread dough. It browned very nicely, and had a perfect crispness to it. Of course I had to have a piece while it was still warm with butter...I wasn't that impressed with the first bite. Initially I thought it tasted too "eggy" and much like french toast, without the cinnamon and sugar. Still was the closest thing to regular bread that I have tried thus far. I let the loaf cool, then wrapped in foil and left on the counter until the next day (today) when I decided to try it again. It's soooo much better today than yesterday. I'm eating it as a sandwich and I can't even tell that it is gluten free. Totally impressed now! I will be making this again, but leaving it for the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfr1sby May 12, 2012

Since my husband was diagnosed with celiacs last January, I've tried quite a few gluten free bread recipes. Most, even when home-made turn out too dry or dense - or simply 'wrong' somehow.

This bread recipe is, by far, the best french bread recipe I've found. I just pulled the loaves out of the oven and, while it was still hot, ripped of the end. I was so pleasantly surprised to find the crust nice and crisp, while the center was deliciously chewy.

I find myself feeling somehwhat fortunate never having mastered bread pre-celiacs - it wouldn't have occured to me that the dough looks funny. I suggest following it to the letter - there are no complaints from me whatsoever. Love it. Thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
voluceris May 02, 2012

Excellent!!!, I did not have tapioca flour but i did have a box of tapioca which is what I used. I have to buy the tapioca flour just to see if there is a difference but I think it turned out great. Only used half the yeast, I thought 2 tbsp was too much unless you meant to say 2 tsp which makes more sense. Try this one as a bread instead of muffins, http://www.food.com/recipe/gluten-free-sweet-corn-bread-muffins-376155, tastes pretty good for a sweet bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Latin Chef;-) March 26, 2012

I have used this recipe to make loaves of bread, pizza crust and slider buns and I must say, this recipe will save my wallet! Each time, the recipe came out perfect, followed it exactly except for the egg substitute. If you bake it in a regular loaf pan, be sure not to let it rise past 20 minutes, or the top will slide when you put it in the oven. I put the dough on a (spray) oiled and cornmeal dusted pizza stone, pre-baked it for about 10 minutes, and then added sauce and cheese and baked it until the cheese melted, another 10 minutes. And I found a "whoopie pie" pan on clearance , scooped some dough into the shallow wells, let it rise and baked it @ 400 F for 15 minutes. Beautiful small buns! So soft on the insides! I highly recommend this recipe for all who are gluten free!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amykins24 March 16, 2012

I am not going to rate this but wanted to give my experience: I followed the recipe as stated expect I used potato starch in place of tapioca because that's what I had AND I left out the egg substitute because I didn't have it AND I used baking soda and lemon juice instead of yeast. (yeast allergy). I left out the vinegar(<< another allergy) as I used the lemon juice. This is MY FIRST TIME making this bread and it was an epic failure. I know it was all my fault and I will try and try again until I get it right. I didn't understand that this was supposed to be a "goopy" dough so I added flour and hand kneaded it for about 5 minutes. I had read ALL the reviews but somehow I missed that part. So, it rose beautifuly, but it never got brown and it is soooo very hard that I can't even cut it with a knife. (maybe a chisle and hammer?) I didn't let it sit and rise I cooked it after mixing. It "looks" absolutely gorgeous but the kneading did it in. I will try again this evening and will rate it then. I'm hoping maybe the birds will eat it. I would hate for all that work and dough to go to waste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RebelQueen February 04, 2012

......ended up with what resembled a flat bread. I am going to try it in a loaf pan instead of free form on a baking sheet. I'll tweek the recipe at home here and see what I can do. Flavour was good tho...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefcanuck January 04, 2012

AMAZING!! My husband & cousins husband were just diagnosed with ciliac. On Christmas Eve we always have spaghetti. I made this bread so they had something to go with their pasta. Needless to say, everyone - even the kids, wanted their bread. They all thought it was better than the Costco bakery bread. Thank you for such an awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mnbrogers December 28, 2011

I tried this recipe today and like one reviewer who said she made the bread in a bread machine so that is what I tried. I ended up with a 4" loaf which was very dense but with good flavor. So next time I will do it the old fashioned way and see if I have better results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy_cat November 15, 2011

Has anybody made this without eggs? My dad is allergic to eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ailuj44_9200464 November 03, 2011
Gluten Free French Bread