123 Reviews

Seriously the best gluten-free bread I've ever made. My boyfriend is a chef and he said he could barely tell the difference. I made it at 7,000 ft altitude and didn't make any changes, and it turned out just perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenlikesfood August 06, 2012

This was pretty good. It definitely satisfied my craving for sandwiches and I didn't want to cave and use regular bread. I used rice flour and potato starch because that is what I had on hand. I also used reular yeast. I put all the ingredients in my bread maker to knead and rise and then put it in the oven to bake. i might try using the tapioca flour next time. It tasted a little yeasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW July 15, 2012

I'm giving this 5 stars, only because it won't let me give 4 1/2. I followed the recipe exactly, it is a very wet "dough." I expected that. It rose perfectly, even smelled like "real" bread dough. It browned very nicely, and had a perfect crispness to it. Of course I had to have a piece while it was still warm with butter...I wasn't that impressed with the first bite. Initially I thought it tasted too "eggy" and much like french toast, without the cinnamon and sugar. Still was the closest thing to regular bread that I have tried thus far. I let the loaf cool, then wrapped in foil and left on the counter until the next day (today) when I decided to try it again. It's soooo much better today than yesterday. I'm eating it as a sandwich and I can't even tell that it is gluten free. Totally impressed now! I will be making this again, but leaving it for the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kfr1sby May 12, 2012

Since my husband was diagnosed with celiacs last January, I've tried quite a few gluten free bread recipes. Most, even when home-made turn out too dry or dense - or simply 'wrong' somehow.

This bread recipe is, by far, the best french bread recipe I've found. I just pulled the loaves out of the oven and, while it was still hot, ripped of the end. I was so pleasantly surprised to find the crust nice and crisp, while the center was deliciously chewy.

I find myself feeling somehwhat fortunate never having mastered bread pre-celiacs - it wouldn't have occured to me that the dough looks funny. I suggest following it to the letter - there are no complaints from me whatsoever. Love it. Thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
voluceris May 02, 2012

Excellent!!!, I did not have tapioca flour but i did have a box of tapioca which is what I used. I have to buy the tapioca flour just to see if there is a difference but I think it turned out great. Only used half the yeast, I thought 2 tbsp was too much unless you meant to say 2 tsp which makes more sense. Try this one as a bread instead of muffins, http://www.food.com/recipe/gluten-free-sweet-corn-bread-muffins-376155, tastes pretty good for a sweet bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Latin Chef;-) March 26, 2012

I have used this recipe to make loaves of bread, pizza crust and slider buns and I must say, this recipe will save my wallet! Each time, the recipe came out perfect, followed it exactly except for the egg substitute. If you bake it in a regular loaf pan, be sure not to let it rise past 20 minutes, or the top will slide when you put it in the oven. I put the dough on a (spray) oiled and cornmeal dusted pizza stone, pre-baked it for about 10 minutes, and then added sauce and cheese and baked it until the cheese melted, another 10 minutes. And I found a "whoopie pie" pan on clearance , scooped some dough into the shallow wells, let it rise and baked it @ 400 F for 15 minutes. Beautiful small buns! So soft on the insides! I highly recommend this recipe for all who are gluten free!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amykins24 March 16, 2012

I am not going to rate this but wanted to give my experience: I followed the recipe as stated expect I used potato starch in place of tapioca because that's what I had AND I left out the egg substitute because I didn't have it AND I used baking soda and lemon juice instead of yeast. (yeast allergy). I left out the vinegar(<< another allergy) as I used the lemon juice. This is MY FIRST TIME making this bread and it was an epic failure. I know it was all my fault and I will try and try again until I get it right. I didn't understand that this was supposed to be a "goopy" dough so I added flour and hand kneaded it for about 5 minutes. I had read ALL the reviews but somehow I missed that part. So, it rose beautifuly, but it never got brown and it is soooo very hard that I can't even cut it with a knife. (maybe a chisle and hammer?) I didn't let it sit and rise I cooked it after mixing. It "looks" absolutely gorgeous but the kneading did it in. I will try again this evening and will rate it then. I'm hoping maybe the birds will eat it. I would hate for all that work and dough to go to waste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RebelQueen February 04, 2012

......ended up with what resembled a flat bread. I am going to try it in a loaf pan instead of free form on a baking sheet. I'll tweek the recipe at home here and see what I can do. Flavour was good tho...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefcanuck January 04, 2012

AMAZING!! My husband & cousins husband were just diagnosed with ciliac. On Christmas Eve we always have spaghetti. I made this bread so they had something to go with their pasta. Needless to say, everyone - even the kids, wanted their bread. They all thought it was better than the Costco bakery bread. Thank you for such an awesome recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mnbrogers December 28, 2011

I tried this recipe today and like one reviewer who said she made the bread in a bread machine so that is what I tried. I ended up with a 4" loaf which was very dense but with good flavor. So next time I will do it the old fashioned way and see if I have better results.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sassy_cat November 15, 2011
Gluten Free French Bread