Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free French Bread

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2008

      Wonderful when I was missing bread so much! It tastes slighty starchy, but overall hits that spot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This bread is great! It reminds me a great deal of the Gluten-Free Pantry French Bread mix, though cheaper to make. :) I made rolls using some smallish pans that I had and they were really nice, lots of crust. :) We had them with cheese soup and it was a great pairing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Excellent!! The first time I made I did not have a stand mixer and I think to be truly successful in GF baking this is a worthwhile investment. The first time I could not physically mix the batter into a smooth consistency. My last two attempts have made my husband a very happy camper. I also invested in a french bread pan (www.goldaskitchen.com) here in Canada, and the loaves came out just like regular french bread. I turned one into garlic bread, and served to my husband with a bbq steak - he said it was his favorite meal this year!! The second loaf, he sliced a day later and made sandwiches - no toasting required. By the third day it was getting a little dried out but fine toasted. I have also made as a loaf of bread, and buttered the top after it came out of the oven to tenderize the crusts for sandwiches. Thank you Gluten Free Girl for an awesome recipe. (Only substitution was I used the carton egg whites rather than whole eggs) This will become a staple in my new GF Cookbook!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      Most delicious! Much like french bread. I like the crusty crust. I had 1 problem. It rose perfectly but it shrank in the oven. I only made 1/2 recipe. My yeast was new. I will make it again to see if I can figure it out. Mine baked in 35 minutes and browned perfectly, not doughy either. I might try garlic salt next time b/c I don't care for the ricey flavor. I also used 1/2 of each white and brown rice flour and the flax. It would be good for a sub sandwich. I put garlic spread on it-yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      this bread was so very nice! the texture was pretty spot on. even after a couple of days there was no tell tale gluten free chewiness that sometimes accompanies baked goods. it was nice to have toast and sandwiches again. i'll be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      First of all, the flavor is incredible for a GF bread. It's as close to the wheat version as I have ever tasted. My only problem was getting it to rise. I don't think it was a problem with the recipe. I've had trouble adapting to making GF breads. Thank you so much to sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      This bread is just what the author said... crusty outside and soft inside. I followed the recipe except for using half of the yeast. The bread holds together well for sandwiches and makes great garlic bread. I give this bread 4 stars because it is very starchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      It turned out perfectly! Looks beautiful and tastes just right-crusty exterior and soft interior. Definitely check before 40 minutes though, mine was almost too brown on the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      The look of this bread is beautiful and so is the texture...but there is WAY to much yeast. But hey if you like the taste of really yeasty bread go for it. I followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Oh, lordy, after years and years of having to go without French bread - the best bread ever created - it was heaven to find this recipe! Thank you! This is one I will be making again and again...and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Thank you so much for this recipe! I think it has been nearly 2 years since I have tasted (wheat) french bread and this great. I asked my daughter what she would rate this on a scale of 1 to 5, she said 300, LOL. Guess it is a thumbs up here. One tip, it started to look like it was browning too fast so at about 25 minutes I covered it with a sheet of tinfoil. I was going to review this after a day or so and see how it held up...but we only made one loaf...and ate it all. And like another viewer suggested, this will make great hamburger buns and what ever else I can think of. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I have tried several Gluten-free bread recipes and this is the first one that the whole family really loved!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      So good! We wanted to turn some slices into French toast, but alas, we ate it all before we could! We subbed 2 teaspoons of ground flax seeds for the egg substitute. I highly recommend this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      This is such a great recipe! It is simple and turned out great!! It went really well with my lasagna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      This turned out well. I baked it for 40 min. The bread was slightly gummy in the center, which seems to happen to all of my gluten free breads. Good though, soft on the inside and crunchy, chewy on the outside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Good taste and texture. I like using pans for uniform shape and size

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This recipe is a life saver. I might add a little more sugar next time to make it taste more like french bread. But it really is good. I gave it to my non-celiac friends and they loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      WOW - most GF breads are dense and have a dry crumbly texture (kind of like corn bread). You can't even tell the difference between this and regular French bread. Never thought I'd ever in my life be baking bread but this is a great recipe and easy to make. Bravo .... I join all the others comments in the kudos and thank you's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      Great bread, I loved it! All though I did see this exact recipe in a cookbook last week - I didn't know if it was important or not to cite sources.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      I love this bread! I used 1 cup of white rice flour and 1 cup of brown rice flour and it still turned out great and tasted wonderful. I love that it is crispy in the out side and soft inside just like french bread is supposed to be. After becoming allergic to gluten a few years ago I never thought I would taste good bread again. But thanks to this recipe I was wrong! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.8
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    16%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 258.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites