Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free French Bread

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2010

      Since this is my first foray into the world of gluten-free bakery, I won't rate this but just add a note. Maybe it is because I have just recently gone gluten free, but I found this bread was nothing similar to wheat bread. I followed the recipe to the letter (A+ for ease of assembly!) and what I ended up with was a very acrid-smelling, spongy bread that tasted very much of wet paper. Not wanting to toss it, I cubed it, tossed with oil, Italian seasoning and salt, baked and to make some very lovely croutons. However, as they baked, the pungent, sour smell was more prevalent. I can't imagine what it could have been. Perhaps I am not accustomed to gluten free breads, but this just didn't do it for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      Fantastic bread, I use it for everything, it was great for sausage stuffing at Thanksgiving, makes great garlic bread, cheeseburgers & panini's thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      This was my first time making GF bread, I have cooked GF cakes/cookies/flatbreads before. I was a little worried after stirring up the dough- looked like it was going to be pancakes, not a loaf of bread! But after it came out of the oven I was pleasantly surprised. Not the most amazing taste I've ever had but still quite good, and it holds together beautifully. Would make again for special occasions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This was my first attempt at gluten-free bread. I made it for a friend who was coming to dinner! She really liked it so I guess it was a hit!! Very easy! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

    • on August 22, 2009

      Darn good! I think the taste comes very close to french bread, the texture is a little different, but who cares. It's the closest I'm gonna get while eating gluten free! Thanks! I will be making this over and over and will make a double batch next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

    • on June 12, 2009

      My daughter is wheat sensitive (triggers migraine and cramps). This recipe tastes wonderful and is one of her favorites. I split the dough into two baguettes using a baguette loaf pan (very helpful in keeping their initial shape). The recipe seems to work well with brown rice flour or a mix of white and brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      I am not sure what went wrong here.... I used less yest and cooked it in my bread machine. It turned out really moist, too moist. So I think I will try again but follow the direction to the T.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      Absolutely amazing!! I just turned GF, and this is the only bread I've tried that actually looks, feels and tastes like the real thing. Thanks for giving me bread back :-) I baked it in a muffin tin for smaller, individual servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      I'm the SIL of "Brit in Texas" (4/09 review)--she was right! I checked the recipe because this was SO GOOD, I didn't believe it could be gluten-free. I've eaten lots of GF products all over the US and Canada, and this was one of my favorites. Thanks for posting the recipe, and Thanks, SIL, for making it several times during my stay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Fabulous recipe. Thanks for making my transition to GFree more palatable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      this is a very forgiving recipe. i've made it following the advice of other reviewers - so using brown rice flour instead of one of the cups of white rice flour, potato flour instead of tapioca flour. this means (imho) that you can be free to flex, use what you have on hand instead of sticking to it exactly. i use carol fenster's cookbook advice about using an ice-cream scoop to "measure" out the dough into the french bread forms so the loaves come out about the same size. i have toddlers and mom, dad and the little ones pretty at a loaf and a half the first time i baked it! it will be my baking staple - bread mixes are fine, but every now and again, to whip up something this easy and delicious.... the next day, i made the toddlers grilled cheese on it and that last half-loaf was a goner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      I was looking for an EASY bread recipe - something straightforward and with common ingredients - and this recipe fit the bill....and was absolutely delicious! I did a little substituting - I used oat flour (I make my own in a coffee grinder with rolled oats, which is excellent) along with sorghum flour (and the tapioca flour) instead of rice flour (I don't like the 'fried rice' taste of baked goods made with rice flour....) and was very impressed with the results. The loaves, split down the middle, made excellent sandwiches. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I posted a question in the Celiac forum for a recipe that didn't have the texture of cake and wasn't sweet. DH hadn't found any wheat free bread he liked plus Celiac SIL was coming to visit. Pammybo gave me this link for which I am very grateful. Celiac SIL wasn't convinced because it tasted so good, I had to show her the recipe. DH said it was the tastiest wheat free bread he has every had. I didn't miss wheat bread at all, in fact I thought this actually tasted better. The only "down side" for my husband was the fact that it was so good he said he could bring out the butter and eat a whole loaf in one sitting. Absolutely yummy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      This got a rave review from my friend that I made it for as the best gluten free bread that she's had! I thought it was great tasting as well. It was the strangest bread I've made since I'm used to flour breads--but it turned out great--I'd definitely eat it as well and wouldn't miss the flour!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      After reading all the rave reviews I had to try this recipe. I am glad I did! I have been GF for 8 years and this is one of the better breads I have made; even those that don't have to eat GF enjoyed this. I used brown and white rice flour, made go with just brown next time, either way another great addition to my GF collection. I actually got me a french bread pan just because of this recipe! It is great toasted too! I used my leftover bread for toast and eggs - delicious. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I have to say that my husband hates all things gluten free and has said "All gluten free things are terrible!" That being said he LOVES this bread and keeps stealing it from me! It is so good!! I even make it into small loaves to make sandwiches out of. Also try adding spices like thyme, garlic powder and onion powder. I added all three once and made it really flat and used it as a pizza crust and it was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This recipe is great and I like how fast it is to make. I serve this with TSR Version of Carrabba's Bread Dipping Spice by Todd Wilbur. Yum! It freezes wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      FANTASTIC- i have newly discovered this recipe and now make it every few days. The best home made gluten free bread!! I don't add much of the salt and am going to try it in a loaf tin next time. The recipe splits down perfectly....if you can half and egg!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.8
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    16%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 258.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes