Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free French Bread

    Average Rating:

    119 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 119

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2012

      Excellent!!!, I did not have tapioca flour but i did have a box of tapioca which is what I used. I have to buy the tapioca flour just to see if there is a difference but I think it turned out great. Only used half the yeast, I thought 2 tbsp was too much unless you meant to say 2 tsp which makes more sense. Try this one as a bread instead of muffins, http://www.food.com/recipe/gluten-free-sweet-corn-bread-muffins-376155, tastes pretty good for a sweet bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      I have used this recipe to make loaves of bread, pizza crust and slider buns and I must say, this recipe will save my wallet! Each time, the recipe came out perfect, followed it exactly except for the egg substitute. If you bake it in a regular loaf pan, be sure not to let it rise past 20 minutes, or the top will slide when you put it in the oven. I put the dough on a (spray) oiled and cornmeal dusted pizza stone, pre-baked it for about 10 minutes, and then added sauce and cheese and baked it until the cheese melted, another 10 minutes. And I found a "whoopie pie" pan on clearance , scooped some dough into the shallow wells, let it rise and baked it @ 400 F for 15 minutes. Beautiful small buns! So soft on the insides! I highly recommend this recipe for all who are gluten free!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      I am not going to rate this but wanted to give my experience: I followed the recipe as stated expect I used potato starch in place of tapioca because that's what I had AND I left out the egg substitute because I didn't have it AND I used baking soda and lemon juice instead of yeast. (yeast allergy). I left out the vinegar(<< another allergy) as I used the lemon juice. This is MY FIRST TIME making this bread and it was an epic failure. I know it was all my fault and I will try and try again until I get it right. I didn't understand that this was supposed to be a "goopy" dough so I added flour and hand kneaded it for about 5 minutes. I had read ALL the reviews but somehow I missed that part. So, it rose beautifuly, but it never got brown and it is soooo very hard that I can't even cut it with a knife. (maybe a chisle and hammer?) I didn't let it sit and rise I cooked it after mixing. It "looks" absolutely gorgeous but the kneading did it in. I will try again this evening and will rate it then. I'm hoping maybe the birds will eat it. I would hate for all that work and dough to go to waste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      ......ended up with what resembled a flat bread. I am going to try it in a loaf pan instead of free form on a baking sheet. I'll tweek the recipe at home here and see what I can do. Flavour was good tho...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      AMAZING!! My husband & cousins husband were just diagnosed with ciliac. On Christmas Eve we always have spaghetti. I made this bread so they had something to go with their pasta. Needless to say, everyone - even the kids, wanted their bread. They all thought it was better than the Costco bakery bread. Thank you for such an awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      I tried this recipe today and like one reviewer who said she made the bread in a bread machine so that is what I tried. I ended up with a 4" loaf which was very dense but with good flavor. So next time I will do it the old fashioned way and see if I have better results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      Has anybody made this without eggs? My dad is allergic to eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      I love this recipe. I'm a new at gluten free food and the taste of bread as been hard to get used to. This bread is by far the closes in taste to regular bread. I only use one 8g. quick rise envelope for the recipe and it works well. I don't like the taste and smell of yeast and found that the original recipe was too "yeasty" for me. I also use 1c. white and 1c. brown of rice flour. I've made a loaf a bread, french bread, buns, odd looking shaped bread, and it all tasted really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      This is the absolute best gluten free bread that I have eaten. I have been GF for just under a year and I was really starting to miss bread. I tried recipe after recipe for bread that was just not there. I gave up trying about 2 months ago. I need bread to make stuffing for turkey this one sounded good so I tried it. I followed other posters advice, like adding more flour, for the first loaf, mistake, it was heavy. I made it with brown rice and sweet rice flour, used a reduced regular yeast the second, it was good, but yeasty. But the best way is to make it as written, with the quick rise yeast, I was in heaven when I tried it.

      Thank you for this great bread Gluten Free Girl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      I LOVE this recipe. It tastes so incredible! The only problem I am having is that once it comes out of the oven it sinks. Does anyone have any suggestions for how to fix this? I couldn't get it to stay formed when I made French bread in the french bread pan. It was so thin. HELP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      Is this actually gluten free bread???? OMG, it was amazing! Even though my bread browned a little too much for my liking, it was by far better than any other gluten free bread I have tried. I followed the directions but omitted the egg substitute because I didn't have any. Otherwise, directions were followed to a T. I had two amazing French bread loaves. Next time I'll try the loaf pan and see if I can make bread for sandwhiches!

      Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      This went fast, right out of the oven. I've made it twice - once stuffed with herbs (chives, thyme and rosemary) and once plain. Both times there were more non-GF eaters than GF ones. Everyone enjoyed it. I just used aluminum foil to help shape it into French bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      After throwing out 2 batches of gluten free baked goods this week I decided to try this recipe in my breadmaker. I am happy to say that it came out wonderfully. I used the gluten free setting and combined all wet ingredients on the bottom, all dry ingredients on the top and let the breadmaker do the rest. It smelled like real bread when it was baking. It did not rise as much as regular bread but I think that is to be expected with the gluten free. I did add a tad more flour; about 1/2 cup and I used agave nectar in lieu of the sugar. I also LOVE the fact that you can make this recipe with affordable gluten free flours as some of the various flours on the market are extremely expensive. I am happy with this simple go to recipe since I am so new at this gluten free baking thing. You rock!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      This is amazing bread! The first time I made it I was pleasantly surprised by the texture, but found the taste a bit lacking. I solved the problem by taking out 1/2 cup of the white rice flour and replacing it with 1/2 cup of sorghum flour (easily found at Whole Foods). I also use regular yeast instead of fast acting and it hasn't made a difference in the outcome. THANK YOU for this delicious bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      This is the best gluten free bread recipe I have tried since going gluten free 6 months ago! The texture is so much nicer than anything I've tried. It even looked like "real" bread when it was sliced instead of crumbly pound cake like so many other recipes or mixes! I'm going to purchase a french bread pan just for this recipe and use the bread as sub rolls. I can't wait to be able to eat a sub again!! :) With this recipe, I made one larger loaf and two round rolls to use as hamburger buns. Thanks so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      Seriously AMAZING! I sat back, closed my eyes and just relished in the moment of having bread in my mouth that FELT normal and TASTED normal! It slices perfectly, doesn't crumble to bits! It stays moist over night if you wrap if up! It is super delish! Word to bakers: 2 packets of the quick rise yeast does not equal 2 tbls. Mine didn't rise quite as much as I would have liked (it still worked wonderfully, though), so use a bit more than 2 packets. I did, as another review suggested, use 1c brown rice flour and 1c white instead of 2 cups white. I also added 3tbls of milled flax! It turned out amazing! THANK YOU for finally giving us NORMAL bread to eat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      I'm going to have to take your word for the freezing part because mine didn't last long enough to even try. I actually like this better than regular French bread and so does DH. Left half a loaf sitting out overnight--still good next day. Wrapped one loaf in foil--still good next day. Toasted a few slices--perfect. Getting ready to mix up my second batch--actually went out and bought a new French bread pan since I couldn't find mine. Didn't add any extra flour. You must try it dipped in olive oil with garlic salt and dipping spices added. I can't thank you enough, GlutenFreeGirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      After reading all the great reviews, I have just baked my first ever loaf of gluten free bread! I am shocked....I mean really shocked....I have never tasted gluten free bread so I had nothing to compare it to...this bread has the best flavor ever....thank you thank you thank you soooooo much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      For taste, this recipe would get 5 stars! Excellent flavor. But for the recipe itself, I had to give it 4 because the measurements are off. I had to add about a cup of flour-which isn't always a bad thing except I barely had a leftover cup. I used olive oil instead of butter and it worked great. I'm an experienced bread maker, so the fact that I had to use extra flour annoyed me. Other than that, pretty yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Since this is my first foray into the world of gluten-free bakery, I won't rate this but just add a note. Maybe it is because I have just recently gone gluten free, but I found this bread was nothing similar to wheat bread. I followed the recipe to the letter (A+ for ease of assembly!) and what I ended up with was a very acrid-smelling, spongy bread that tasted very much of wet paper. Not wanting to toss it, I cubed it, tossed with oil, Italian seasoning and salt, baked and to make some very lovely croutons. However, as they baked, the pungent, sour smell was more prevalent. I can't imagine what it could have been. Perhaps I am not accustomed to gluten free breads, but this just didn't do it for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.8
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    16%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 258.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites