Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten Free French Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten Free French Bread

    Average Rating:

    120 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 120

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2010

      This is a great gluten free bread. I can't help but wonder if the people who are adding extra flour are unfamiliar with gluten free bread. Gluten free bread dough will have a different, wetter texture than "normal" wheat dough. GF bread dough SHOULD be wet and sticky. I followed the reciepe exactly and it turned out terrific, though I put the whole thing into a regular loaf pan. It made a lovely loaf of bread for slicing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Thank you so much for this recipe GlutenFreeGirl, this is the first GF bread recipe that is not disgusting. I have tried so many since going GF, and they have all been like a brick. I have also tweeked this by using all brown rice flour instead of white, using 2 whole eggs instead of egg whites , using olive oil instead of butter, lemon juice instead of vinigar and adding in some ground flax seed & ground hemp seeds. I also add in a bit of pure coconut extract & vanilla. I bake it in a 9x13 loaf pan, cut it in half & freeze half because I can't possibly eat a whold loaf before it goes bad. This is the only GF bread recipe that almost tastes like real bread. Thank you so much. I will try the breadmaker some time soon, but haven't had any luck with the breadmaker GF bread yet. Great job GlutenFreeGirl. Keep posting PLEASE!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      The people who make guar gum or xanthan gum recommend it be dissolved in the oil/wet mixture before being added to the recipe. It needs the oil or fat to be properly dissolved. Although recipes do work doing it the way that the author wrote, it works much better if done the other way and have a better texture. The guar gum also should not be used in recipes with a high acid content as the acid tends to neutralize it. The xanthan gum does a better job of combining starches. See Bob's Red Mill site if you are interested in recommended proportions for different recipes.
      Although the rice and tapioca flours are 'safe' flours with a more neutral taste, I tend to prefer working with combinations of other flours for about a third the flour amount for the increased vitamins and proteins that they offer. Changing the starches can have an effect on the recipe if you are inexperienced in working with these flours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I have been making this bread weekly for almost 2 yrs now with slight changes. 1 cup white rice, 1 cup brown rice, 3 tsp of ground flax for added fibre, and honey in replace of sugar. The result is a nice brown bread. Yesterday, I accidently forgot to add the tapioca starch - and it STILL turned out! It might even be a bit more moist that the original. I make this single recipe in a loaf pan for slices, muffin top tins for hamburger buns, (both pics are posted for viewing) and in a french baker when serving it to guests for dinner. A loaf or french baker requires 50mins in the oven, covering with foil 1/2 way through the cooking. Hamburger buns in 1/2 the posted cooking time. original review:WOW! This is the closest thing to "real" bread that I have had in 10 years! Thank you Gluten Free GIrl for posting this GREAT find.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This is a fantastic base bread. I made some variations to suit our taste I split the white rice flour to include br. rice flour I used equal amount of honey to replace the sugar I didn't use the egg substitute I reduced the amount of yeast (we are not fans of yeasty bread) I used olive oil instead of butter to get those healthy fats in there :) I used apple cider vinegar I added 1 tbsp ground flax meal to increase iron and fibre content. All in all it was a fantastic recipe, easy to manipulate and tastes as good as it says. I am going to attempt a multi-grain version and will update the review Thank you for sharing this and thanks to the reviewers for making it seem appealing! A great addition to the recipe book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      I tried this recipe last night and I must say I was very impressed! I rose beautifully and when I sliced it it didn't crumble all over the place. I put some butter on it and just ate it! I couldn't believe I didn't have to toast a loaf that I made! I buy Udi's bread sometimes which doesn't need t be toasted btut I find it to be drier than this recipe. This was very moist - not too moist - but it caught me off guard as I'm so used to dry bread. The only substitutions I made were: olive oil instead of butter and whole eggs instead of whites. And I used a loaf pan instead of making french bread - just baked an extra 5 mins. I would like to try some other more fibre-rich flours in the future. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      This recipe is awesome. It tastes a lot like French bread; crusty outside and soft fluffy inside. It stays good for about 3 days, longer if refrigerated. It freezes well, and you can make breadcrumbs for other recipes later on. You really can' tell that it's gluten free. Very impressive!
      I followed it as written, but simply added 2 whole eggs for the egg white/substitute. I used apple cider vinegar (probably most vinegars would work.) I put in in two small greased/cornfloured loaf pans and baked for the recommended time.
      Since then, I've substituted coconut oil for the butter, brown rice flour for the white, and added ground flax seed, and it turned out really well each time.
      I haven' been brave enough to spread it out on a tray, and don't have a French bread pan, so I'll just continue putting it in small loaf pans for now. I'm sure you could use larger pans or experiment.
      It%u2019s a bit yeasty if you cut it right out of the oven; it's better cooled or the next day. It toasts ok, and is good with peanut butter, jam, dipping in soups, ect.
      A few tips: You really need a good standing mixer for this recipe. I don't see how you could possibly beat it by hand. The dough is more like a thick batter, but should rise like normal bread dough and bake the same. I let it rise until it almost touches the brim of the baking pans, then brushed it with butter near the end of the baking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Updated review: I make this bread at least once a week, it is a real staple in my house and is SO tasty! No one can tell it is gluten free! I have used potato starch, but prefer tapioca flour, and have found that half and half brown/white rice flour gives a nice combination of taste and texture. When I use Bob's Red Mill brand brown rice flour, I use all brown rice flour (it is more finely ground). I use three whole eggs instead of just whites, substitute canola oil for the butter (and use 3 Tbsp so I don't have to brush the top with butter), and maple syrup for the sugar. I use apple cider vinegar for the vinegar. To make sandwich bread, I put the whole recipe worth of dough into a sandwich loaf pan and bake for a little bit longer. So wonderful! Original review: I used brown rice flour and substituted potato starch for the tapioca flour. I also used maple syrup instead of sugar. It turned out excellently! Very good bread, we made ours into two loaves and ate one and a half loaves within half an hour of taking it out of the oven! I'll try it again with the tapioca flour when I get some!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      Maybe we have not been GF long enough to fully appreciate this recipe as French bread, I made it twice now the first time followed the recipe exactly and made two loaves, the next time I used half brown rice flour and made them in the shape of biscuits, coated them both sides with corn meal and they made PERFECT english muffins. Perfect for mini pizzas and toasting for breakfast, and my son loved them for his lunch with PB&J. I will be using this recipe from now on for that purpose. THANK YOU for posting a winner in our GF quest for bread recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      After four years of searching for a wonderful gluten free bread recipe, I have found it! This one is by far the best. It freezes nicely too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Taste wise, this is the most incredibly wonderful bread for GF. The chef is correct in saying it tastes much like the real thing. I made the mistake of not noting that most people needed extra flour when I printed the recipe out. I am an experienced bread maker but not an experienced GF bread maker. The few things that I have made had a different texture and density even raw so didn't think to add more flour. The result was a flat bread instead of a loaf. I was a bit bummed when I saw that but after tasting it, was feeling better about the time, effort and product that I had used not being wasted. I will try it again and add more flour to get it more like a loaf but did want to say that the mistake was well worth it as I can see how that would be an excellent pizza crust (bake first then top and stick under broiler to melt the cheese) and means of making Crazy Bread......... which in case you don't know is pizza dough brushed with lots of melted butter and garlic and salt. Baked till crispy and you will think you died and went to heaven. :-) Oh Yes, I made it with the Tom Sawyer GF flour and that saves having to buy and measure different items. That flour has it all in it. I just measured out the total of what the first 3 items were.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      This is so good! Taste and texture are great! Only change I made was 2 whole eggs instead of 3 egg whites and it was amazing! Smells good and BF loves it too! I ate it dipped in in olive oil and herbs and felt like I was at Macaroni Grill. Probably going to invest in French Bread Pans as I am positive I will be making this again and again.
      Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      This bread is amazing! I made no changes to the ingredients except to half the recipe, which still worked well to mix in my stand mixer. I used plain white vinegar as the recipe didn't specify. The big change I made is baking this in my small 3 quart crock pot. Holy moly! Beautiful crusty brown bread, just like the wheat version. I'll be coming back to this recipe many times in the future, especially in the summer months when heating a big oven is too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      Love this! My (non GF) family loves it too. To shape quickly and easily I sprayed the inside of a lg ziploc with canola oil, put the dough in, snipped a pretty lg whole and piped out perfect loaves. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      Absolutely the best (and easiest!) bread I have made in four years! I cannot wait to form this into hot dog style buns for sausage and sauerkraut! Today I formed two hamburger style bun pans out of double layered, heavy duty tinfoil (formed over a bowl upside-down) and tried 1/2 cup of dough in one and 3/4 cup in the other. The 1/2 cup was just perfect for smaller mouths (baked in 20 min.), the 3/4 (baked in 23 min.) would be great for a 1/3 lb. burger or a larger appetite! The rest went into a standard 9 x 5 loaf pan and turned out soft and perfect for garlic bread. This bread will be baked at least twice a week in my house from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      awesome!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      This bread is amazing! I have never made any type of bread from scratch before... I followed the recipe exactly as written and this was so easy! I will be making this a LOT! Even my husband and kids who don't have gluten issues thought it was great! THANK YOU!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      I could weep at this moment.

      Finally, after 5 long years of waiting, a bread that I can make at home that is egg- dairy- and gluten-free and that ACTUALLY TASTES GOOD!

      And it still tastes good with the addition of salty tears.

      THANK YOU!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      This a very stable gluten free bread recipe. I have made this with garbanzo bean flour and millet flour substituted in part or full for the rice flour and it always makes a delicious crusty bread. I love it with a little olive oil balsamic vinegar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      UPDATE: Adding the 1 cup cheese to the bread produces a much moister bread, and is delicious! ***Dec 27, 2008/As far as rice breads go, this bread is great! Definitely a vast improvement upon the store-bought stuff. I am experimenting the 2nd time around with adding 1 cup cheddar, 1 tsp garlic and 1 tsp fresh thyme. For anyone using a breadmachine, this is a 2 lb loaf. Excellent!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten Free French Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 105.8
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    16%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 4.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 258.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.2 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites