Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten-Free Flour Tortillas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Flour Tortillas

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2011

      I had no fava bean flour so I tried making these with my usual blend of gluten free flour #438139 as the combinations are quite similar. The results were great the texture was as it should be and the taste wonderful,,,my only problem is the yield is not enough as my NON CEOLIAC husband ate them all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      WOW, so easy and very yummy. I had to do a whole lot of searching to find the ingredients but I did and so glad I made this recipe. Rice flour, was found near regular flour section of the supermarket. Potato flour and xanthan gum was in the health food section. Tapioca flour (Also know as Sago flour) was substituted by Arrowroot (Arrowroot is topioca flour with preservative 220). Fava Bean flour was substituted with Chickpea flour also known as Besan, which I found at a newly open Indian shop. Preparing the recipe was easy, I had no problem with the dough. Rolling out the Tortillas was simple with some corn flour/starch. Cooking them was quick and the flavour was wonderful. The Besan flour really stood out but it was fantastic to have a meal which was gluten free. I served them with Stewed Chicken Taco Meat, slice lettuces, tomatoes, cheese and jalapenos. Thank you Az G

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2014

      These were tedious to make but my husband thought they were great. Probably be a lot less work with a tortilla press. I used Bob's Red Mill Gluten-Free All Purpose Baking Flour instead of the flours, and coconut oil instead of the shortening. They came out very nice and rolled without breaking. I found that rolling the dough ball between saran wrap worked best for me. Spritzing the counter with a little water before laying down the saran wrap helped keep it in place. Then I had to carefully peel off the top layer of saran wrap, and then flip the tortilla over onto my widespread palm to carefully peel the bottom layer of saran wrap off. Then I had to very slowly and carefully lay the tortilla bit by bit onto the hot skillet lest it folded over and got stuck to itself. I tried the cut baggy method and the parchment paper method, but this is what worked best for me. We're new to gluten-free so these didn't taste amazing to me, but my husband liked them a heck of a lot better than the gluten-free tortillas we got at Trader Joe's which broke up when I tried to roll them and which my husband said tasted like old shoe leather. LOL.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      I made these for my daughter and froze them. I made her a quesadilla and she took the rest of them home, ate 2 on the way and made a tuna wrap and pizza and loves them. They were pretty easy to roll, I think investing in a tortilla press would save time. I didn't change a thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      This was a very good recipe. I used all tapioca starch for the starch because it was what I had. I don't like using too much xanthan gum so I used only 1 teaspoon xanthan gum and added 1/2 teaspoon of pectin. I didn't have fava flour so I subed millet flour , I like it's nuetral taste. I read the reviews that the water was too much so I started with less water but ended up using the rest. At first the dough looked wet and sticky but as it sits for 2-3 minutes it absorbs all the water and doesn't stick. Rice flour absorbs lots of water and can get crumbly if it has too little water. These were very good for breakfast tacos. I will definetly make again. I used the plastic bag method with a corn tortilla press it makes it easy using a little sweet rice flour for dusting when needed. DD really liked them will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Just trying to get started on a GF diet for a 9 yr. old. These were our first score! Even the rest of the family liked them. I am replacing my regular flour tortilla recipe with this one. I used Great Northern bean flour instead of fava flour. I didn't use cornstarch to roll them out, instead I rolled them out between two layers of plastic wrap or a clean bread bag. Thank you for posting this recipe. These were fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      These are FANTASTIC! I use a tortilla press and the dough works really well, and it takes no time at all to make them. My only problem is I never make enough, they always get eaten up really fast. The only change I made was using guar gum instead because I have a problem with corn and some xanthan gum has traces of it. Seriously though, don't think twice about trying this recipe, just make them, you'll love it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      I am in love! This as fantastic even with my substitutions. I used a King Arthur Ancient Grains blend instead of the fava flour because I didn't have it and didn't want to go to the store. The Ancient Grains blend is amaranth, millet, and sorghum flours. The oil was melted coconut oil. After forming into 8 balls the bowl was covered with a damp towel. The tortillas were formed between 2 sandwich bags using my tortilla press. The dough was a little stiff and I made need to add additional water next time. After the first one came off the comal I grabbed the butter and production ceased for a few minutes. The rest is history. Thank you for a great recipe that I will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      These were fantastic! The flavor was perfect. The taste was perfect. They were very easy to make. Granted I can't figure out how to roll them in a perfect circle! Even my gluten eating husband thought these were excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      These were AWESOME!!! Thanks to one user's suggestion, I cut the sides of a gallon sized ziplock and rolled out the tortillas between the layers. You can spread rice flour in the ziplock to prevent sticking. Thank you for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      FINALLY a tortilla that rolls and taste good!!! ! thank you so much for posting this. A++++++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      I am so impressed with this recipie. It is very similiar in taste to wheat tortillas. I didn't change a thing. I did have trouble rolling them out. I think I'm going to invest in a tortilla press. AWESOME!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #28. These were good and I was glad to find a tortilla that worked out well I've had many disasters with making tortillas and it didn't happen this time. The only thing that I did different was to omit the xanthan gum (I'm allergic to it) and replace it with 1 T ground flax seed. Thanks Az!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2009

      Amazing! The first tortillas that are of more normal texture and work with our diet. I had to substitute the fava bean flour with whole bean flour (maybe it's fava but it doesn't say as I bought it from a bin) I replaced the xanthan gum with guar gum because of an allergy and used extra virgin olive oil for the shortening with wonderful results. Do use warm water. I was kind of confused about why it says bake in the pan so I made them on the stove in a cast iron pan on medium with some canola oil. I will definitely make these again. I rolled them with cinnamon and brown sugar inside (would be good with butter as well, we just dont do dairy). Will make again. Photo posted. Thanks! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      These are wonderful tortillas. The dough is not to hard to work with- which is a nice change for a gluten-free dough. Tasty and not crumbley. I used a mix of besan (chickpea) and debittered soy flour as a substitute for the fava bean flour. Thanks Az G. I'll definitely be making these again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Flour Tortillas

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.5
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    25%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 550.7 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    fava bean flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites