52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you for this absolutely delicious gluten-free bread recipe. I, like others who have posted here, hate the taste and texture of frozen GF breads and bagels you buy form the grocery store.

I'm new to gluten-free... actually, my 8 year old and I are doing a 2 week diet to see if it's helpful to her inflammed knees (arthritis) and my psoriasis. I am so happy with this bread (I made it today) that I feel less stressed with what I can send to school in my daughter's lunch.

I am curious though, how it fairs overnight in the fridge, or being left out in a sealed bag? I also wonder if I need to freeze it and take out slices as I need them? Any thoughts on storing (or how to store) home made GF bread?

Thanks again! It's DELICIOUS! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShelleySU November 07, 2010

If you weren't told this is gluten free bread, you wouldn't know. I substituted potato starch with buckwheat flour and used guar gum in place of xanthan gum as I couldn't find xanthan gum. An excellent recipe and very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiwi Kathy April 10, 2010

This has good texture and rise. Not to gummy or crumbly. You can slice thin for sandwiches. Also, it is pretty low carb which is good for my father-in-law who has diabetes and celiac. I used 1 cup sorghum flour and 1/2 cup of the garfava flour... but I think I would skip the garfava, I don't really like the taste. Even my husband thought this was pretty good (and that's saying something). I will make again, but I might play aroun with different flours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thejoybird October 04, 2009

Excellent bread, great in sandwiches and no need to eat toasted. It is nice and light and moist and it is not crumbly. I found it great to eat real bread again....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debest50 July 31, 2009

This bread is amazing!!! Soooo yummy, so light and moist...not normal words used to describe flax seed/gluten-free bread!!!! The only thing I can ever bring myself to use Flax Seed bread for (from the store) is toast...it is usually so hard naturally that it only tastes semi-good to me if I toast it. This bread is not like that at all. I let it rise yesterday evening, cooked it last night, and tasted it this morning...WOW:) It's a tad bit drier than your normal store-bought, gluten-filled loaf, but I'm totally happy and excited that I don't have to experiment with the different recipes...I have found our Gluten-Free bread:)!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annacfrye2 June 20, 2009

Bread really is great! I was somewhat skeptical but I will never forget that first bite, after I sliced into it still hot (we couldn't wait for it to cool) smeared some butter on it and enjoyed a heavenly taste experience. I love the texture of this bread. It holds up so well and was still quite moist the next day. I used 1 cup brown rice flour, 1/4 cup white rice flour, and in place of the garfava flour I used Hodgson Mill's gluten-free baking mix which is millet and garbanzo flours. Everything else was kept the same. I did use agave nectar instead of honey, and apple cide vinegar though. The crust was perfect too - just a tad bit crisp and quite thin. I gave some slices away to someone who made a deli sandwich out of it. We used some slices for cheeseburgers. It was a great day and a half of eating!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cosas Preciosas March 05, 2009

This is great, this is what I've been looking for. A little more to it than most, I love it. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelNTex February 09, 2009

I am giving it 5 stars for texture for sure, however I am just not a fan of bean flour. I don't care for it's earthy taste, with that being said...the health benefits far outweigh the slightly bitter bean taste and is easily masked by whatever you are putting on it, unless it's just butter. Makes fabulous grilled sandwiches. Holds together very well and is yet soft!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoveChocolatierinKY February 03, 2009

I am hosting an exchange student who has Celiac's and after seeing the prices of breads in the store, I decided to try out some recipes from online. I won't have to look any further for a bread recipe. This bread was totally awesome. I actually had 2 pieces of it and my exchange student hasn't even tried it yet. (I made it after she went to bed). I am even considering making this my everyday, everybody bread it is that good. I am curious to see how it will do in the morning, but I think it will be just fine. I used the flour combo suggested by kristacooks4u and don't think I'll try anything else. Thanks Laurie for posting this recipe. It is way awesome and made a believer out of me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma Kate September 06, 2008

A recipe that works! Thank you, Laurie! I have to avoid gluten, dairy, egg and believe it or not, rice, so I made a lot of substitutions - and it still came out great. For the gluten-free flour I used 1 cup of sorghum and 1/2 cup quinoa (no garfava). I used Ener-G egg replacer for "3 eggs" but needed to use 3 more tablespoons of water than the egg replacer directions said to get the right consistency. I used the water instead of milk and added 2 tablespoons of sugar just because I like the flavor. This bread also stayed very moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooksafe July 05, 2008
Gluten-Free Flax Bread