Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten-Free Flax Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Flax Bread

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-52 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2007

      Thank you so much! I can enjoy bread again. The texture is perfect. This is also a great recipe because you don't have to hand-knead the dough. My Kitchenaid mixer did all the work. I heated the milk just a bit before adding it and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also used the flours "kristacooks4u" suggested along with the agave nectar and it turned out wonderful. I found ground golden flax, which is even healthier and used it. It appears to be a versatile recipe according to others and I will try it with different flours for variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      I finally tried this bread after seeing it raved about on the glutenfreeforum. It was great. i made a loaf for my son too. He was so impressed he asked for the recipe and the ingredients - said he would take the time to make bread that tasted so good as opposed to those available from stores. It really is a forgiving recipe. I used almond meal in place of the flax seed meal and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Awesome bread! Didn't realize you were on RecipeZaar, too, Laurie! Glad to have found you - I'll bookmark a bunch of your recipes. I posted my own version, as you know, with the specific flours that I had the most success with and a few other small changes, as "Gluten-Free Multigrain Miracle Bread". Keep up the great work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      Bravo! I am so excited about this bread! I suffer from a wheat/gluten intolerance, AND am a vegan by choice. As you can imagine, finding bakery/bread options is next to impossible, unless you are willing to pay $5 or more for a loaf of bread with about half as much flavor as this lovely loaf. I made it for the first time today, using egg replacer and agave nectar (replaces honey) and it turned out browned and rustic looking, with a moist, bouncy interior. I will certainly add this recipe to my repetoire. I can't wait to experiment with different herbs and spices! Thank you so much! Emily

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      Great bread!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      I have been gluten-free for 2 years and this is the best bread recipe I have tasted. I have tried many recipes from many sources, some famous in gluten-free circles, and while some were very good, this recipe is absolutely wonderful. I will make it again and again. I used a combination of brown rice, white rice and sorghum flours for the gluten-free flour and otherwise followed the recipe exactly using water for the liquid. Thank you Laurie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This is a great recipe. I would use this bread even if I didn't have to--I can have toast again!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

    • on January 07, 2007

      This bread is awesome!! It's a very forgiving recipe as well. I subbed a few things and it still turned out the best bread I've ever made. Better even than store-bought wheat bread (as I remember it - it's been a couple years). Tender yet springy texture, great flavor, bakes up beautifully! I knew it was possible, just could never find the right recipe. I've come close experimenting, but this bread is beyond my wildest dreams. Even my gluten-eating relatives loved it. Thank you so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      (Five Stars) This is the first gluten-free bread that I honestly cannot tell from the wheat-based ones. I'm not kidding. It has that soft squishy texture that we all remember - you can make a real sandwich with this bread or just eat a warm slice with butter. I used a combination of sorghum and superfine brown rice flours for my gluten-free flour blend because I didn't have any garfava flour - it's a very forgiving recipe! Thank you thank you Laurie! Our family thanks you for this fantastic recipe! mamatide

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      This is an awesome recipe!! I have been making it for a little over 2 months now. I just love the texture. I sometimes add nuts and sunflower seeds to it and it is really good that way!! Thanks Laurie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      FANTASTIC!!!! Christmas definetly came early this year!!! I can not believe that this bread hasn't been reviewed before now.This is the BEST gluten free bread that I have ever had! It has the same softness and wonderful texture that the wheat store bought bread has. I can't say enough about this bread. Since I have made this bread I have been constantly thinking about all the great things I can use it for...stuffing, sandwiches... I am just so excited.It has been soooo long since I have had real bread. Thank you sooo much for this FABULOUS recipe Laurie! This ones a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Flax Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.1
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    39%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 220.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten-free flour

    garfava flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites