Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten-Free Flax Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Flax Bread

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2010

      Thank you for this absolutely delicious gluten-free bread recipe. I, like others who have posted here, hate the taste and texture of frozen GF breads and bagels you buy form the grocery store.

      I'm new to gluten-free... actually, my 8 year old and I are doing a 2 week diet to see if it's helpful to her inflammed knees (arthritis) and my psoriasis. I am so happy with this bread (I made it today) that I feel less stressed with what I can send to school in my daughter's lunch.

      I am curious though, how it fairs overnight in the fridge, or being left out in a sealed bag? I also wonder if I need to freeze it and take out slices as I need them? Any thoughts on storing (or how to store) home made GF bread?

      Thanks again! It's DELICIOUS! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      If you weren't told this is gluten free bread, you wouldn't know. I substituted potato starch with buckwheat flour and used guar gum in place of xanthan gum as I couldn't find xanthan gum. An excellent recipe and very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      This has good texture and rise. Not to gummy or crumbly. You can slice thin for sandwiches. Also, it is pretty low carb which is good for my father-in-law who has diabetes and celiac. I used 1 cup sorghum flour and 1/2 cup of the garfava flour... but I think I would skip the garfava, I don't really like the taste. Even my husband thought this was pretty good (and that's saying something). I will make again, but I might play aroun with different flours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      Excellent bread, great in sandwiches and no need to eat toasted. It is nice and light and moist and it is not crumbly. I found it great to eat real bread again....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      This bread is amazing!!! Soooo yummy, so light and moist...not normal words used to describe flax seed/gluten-free bread!!!! The only thing I can ever bring myself to use Flax Seed bread for (from the store) is toast...it is usually so hard naturally that it only tastes semi-good to me if I toast it. This bread is not like that at all. I let it rise yesterday evening, cooked it last night, and tasted it this morning...WOW:) It's a tad bit drier than your normal store-bought, gluten-filled loaf, but I'm totally happy and excited that I don't have to experiment with the different recipes...I have found our Gluten-Free bread:)!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      Bread really is great! I was somewhat skeptical but I will never forget that first bite, after I sliced into it still hot (we couldn't wait for it to cool) smeared some butter on it and enjoyed a heavenly taste experience. I love the texture of this bread. It holds up so well and was still quite moist the next day. I used 1 cup brown rice flour, 1/4 cup white rice flour, and in place of the garfava flour I used Hodgson Mill's gluten-free baking mix which is millet and garbanzo flours. Everything else was kept the same. I did use agave nectar instead of honey, and apple cide vinegar though. The crust was perfect too - just a tad bit crisp and quite thin. I gave some slices away to someone who made a deli sandwich out of it. We used some slices for cheeseburgers. It was a great day and a half of eating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This is great, this is what I've been looking for. A little more to it than most, I love it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I am giving it 5 stars for texture for sure, however I am just not a fan of bean flour. I don't care for it's earthy taste, with that being said...the health benefits far outweigh the slightly bitter bean taste and is easily masked by whatever you are putting on it, unless it's just butter. Makes fabulous grilled sandwiches. Holds together very well and is yet soft!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      I am hosting an exchange student who has Celiac's and after seeing the prices of breads in the store, I decided to try out some recipes from online. I won't have to look any further for a bread recipe. This bread was totally awesome. I actually had 2 pieces of it and my exchange student hasn't even tried it yet. (I made it after she went to bed). I am even considering making this my everyday, everybody bread it is that good. I am curious to see how it will do in the morning, but I think it will be just fine. I used the flour combo suggested by kristacooks4u and don't think I'll try anything else. Thanks Laurie for posting this recipe. It is way awesome and made a believer out of me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      A recipe that works! Thank you, Laurie! I have to avoid gluten, dairy, egg and believe it or not, rice, so I made a lot of substitutions - and it still came out great. For the gluten-free flour I used 1 cup of sorghum and 1/2 cup quinoa (no garfava). I used Ener-G egg replacer for "3 eggs" but needed to use 3 more tablespoons of water than the egg replacer directions said to get the right consistency. I used the water instead of milk and added 2 tablespoons of sugar just because I like the flavor. This bread also stayed very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      This is a really good recipe for being gluten free. I did have to substitute the flax seed meal for almond meal just because I didn't have flax seed at the time but as you see from my photo it looks just like regular bread and toasts the same also. Worth a try! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      The best gluten free bread yet! I love that it's more healthy than most! I found that it comes right out of the pan if I grease and dust the pan with sweet rice flour before adding the dough. The one time I didn't do that, it was very difficult to get out of the pan. I let it rise in an oven that I warm up a little bit (no more than 125 degrees) before I put the bread in to rise. I cover the bread loosely with plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray to prevent sticking once the bread rises. I also put a pan of hot water on the rack underneath it. The last few times I made it I used ½ cup soy flour, ½ cup buckwheat flour and a ¼ cup garfava flour (in addition to the ¼ cup in the recipe). I also use tapioca flour in place of the potato starch. I find this combination of flours to produce a very great texture that doesn’t crumble like other flour combinations do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      We LOVE this recipe. I use Bette Hagman's blend for the GF flour, and I make only one substitution- sorghum flour for the garfava. I also use this recipe to make GF hamburger buns: 1/4 c. dough for each bun. My sons, ages 6 and 4, adore burgers on these buns! This is also the ONLY GF bread my husband likes. It's fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      i make this all the time now. my boyfriend has taken to stealing it, and i'm like "hey, you can go buy you're own bread!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Mmmmm! This bread doesn't dry out! All other GF breads I've made taste great until they cool, then they are too dry. I have now made this recipe twice. The first time I made it for my mom who can't have gluten or starches, so I used 1 cup sorghum flour, 1/2 cup brown rice flour, 3/4 cup tapioca flour, and 1/4 almond meal. The second time I substituted all the flours and flax seed meal with a GF flour mix made from potato starch, garbonzo bean flour, tapioca flour, and sorghum flour. The loaves turned out great both times, except the first time I couldn't get it to rise very much. It tasted great anyway. The second time I put it in the oven on the lowest setting and it rose just like the recipe says. Don't ask me how this bread tastes after a day or two because it will never make it that long. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      I tried this recipe using 1 cup sorghum flour with 1/4 cup rice flour. Tastes delicious! The eggs are really essential for giving it that gluten-like property. I used water because I have a casein allergy as well as gluten. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

    • on May 26, 2007

      So wonderful! I read all the comments and tried not to get too excited - I've been let down time and again by bread recipes claiming to be as good as wheat bread. I didn't need to worry - this really was excellent! I'm eager to see how it holds up tomorrow, but tonight it was fantastic! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2007

      Loved the recipe - so did my daughter. ALso got quite adventurous with it since I wanted a simplier version using my breadmaker (Panasonic SD253) and replaced the garfava flour by gram flour (chick pea flour), and potato and corn starch by potato and corn flour (not sure if it is the same), however only used one tablespoon of honey and only had two eggs (so no 2 egg whites) - and still turned out lovely and taste very nice even untoasted. Just the crust got a bit too dark so will bake it 1o min less next time. Laurie - thanks so much for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      Reading the rave reviews, I couldn't wait to try this but I was dismayed at first as I couldn't find garfava flour in the UK. I tried making it anyway using Doves Farm GF flour (available in most UK supermarkets)+extra substituted for the Garfava and it was out of this world. I then used it as a base for fruit bread with loads of dried fruits, carob syrup, ground nuts, fruit juice instead of milk and spices and again, it was superb. I've adjusted it to 3 whole eggs overall and it seems ok, perhaps the lack of garfava balances it out? As Gluten Free Chef said, it's a forgiving recipe and allows you to play with it a great deal. Thankyou thankyou thankyou :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Flax Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.1
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    39%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 220.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten-free flour

    garfava flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites