52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG, this bread is awesome! Were huge Udi's fans but I think this is even better then Udi's! The bread failed the 1st 3 times and I learned a few things. The flax can not be left out, its critical to the recipe. Check your yeast, I had a major over flowing issue and realized I grabbed the wrong yeast and was using instant rather then the regular/rapid which means I needed to reduce the yeast by 25%. I also found I didn't care for the Bobs Red Mill All Purpose GF flour blend the author said she often used over at the celiac site and the bean flour just gave it a taste I didn't like so I followed another posters suggestion of "I used 1 Cup Sorghum, 1/4 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup white rice flour for the GF flour and the garfava flours." The result was amazing! I just throw the dough on a lined cookie sheet dusted with rice flour, round it out a bit with wet hands, dust the top with flour to give it that old world/artisian look then rise and bake. Comes out beautifully! This morning I pulled out the loaf I made on Friday and threw in the fridge before we went out of town and pull it out today, Tuesday and while it wasn't still sandwich worthy it was still perfect for toast! Just buttered it and everyone scarfed it down and best of all, it tastes like a good artisan wheat bread:) I shared a loaf this weekend with gluten eaters and they all loved it! Now THAT'S saying something!:)

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluetaelon September 28, 2010

Excellent, excellent recipe - I HAVE BREAD AGAIN! - but it would be nice if the recipe said to put the batter into a *prepared* pan - a swipe of oil or a spray of cooking spray would prevent having to pry the loaf out of the pan. I used sweet sorghum flour instead of garfava, and reports are true - this is a very forgiving recipe. For my main GF flour, I used Sylvan Border Farms general purpose flour. Such good bread! So easy to make! I like to preheat my oven at 200 degrees, then turn it off for the rising. I've told my celiac sister and gluten-intolerant sister about the recipe, and posted the link to it on my Facebook page.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trixiesirisheyes December 17, 2009

If I could put ten stars I would!! I have made a lot of bread recipes since being diagnosed with a wheat allergy in 2008, but this by far is the BEST recipe I have ever had. I took suggestions from other posts and used brown rice and oat flour for the GF flour and I did not have any garfava flour so I used sorhgum flour. It was amazing! I made it a week ago and it is still soft and wonderful when heated up with some butter! I missed my wheat breads after being diagnosed, but now I think, who needs wheat bread!?

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
golfermickid May 28, 2010

This is my very first attempt at gluten-free bread baking, and I'm so relieved I could cry! Okay, I am crying. My husband is a recently diagnosed celiac and we've been buying horrible frozen loafs of $6 bread from our local grocery store. But tonight I tried this recipe, and I'm hooked. I don't have sorghum flour (yet) or garfava flour as none of the stores carry close by us carry it, so I ground millet and used 1 cup of the flour with 1/2 c brown rice flour and 1/2 c white rice flour. For the liquid, I used 1/2 c milk and 1/2 c water. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and got a gorgeous looking loaf of bread! In terms of taste, we found it a little too moist and not quite salty enough. Next time I think I'll replaced the honey with regular sugar and add maybe a 1/4 tsp more salt. I might use a little less liquid, or bake a few minutes longer. But it is AMAZING how good this turned out. I'm not a great baker, but it was a great tasting bread. We both just had a slice of warm bread with peanut butter and it was like a little piece of heaven. Thanks so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bgalberta October 19, 2008

I was so excited to eat real bread again, using this recipe I almost cried! THANK YOU SO MUCH! Using a suggestion from Laurie, I used 1 Cup Sorghum, 1/4 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup white rice flour for the GF flour and the garfava flours. It was AMAZING!!! GREAT BREAD. If you are gluten free, you MUST try it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristacooks4u March 19, 2007

This was my first attempt at baking gluten free bread. It came out waaaay better than the store-bought stuff that crumbles all over the place and tastes like sawdust. I used 3/4 cups of brown rice flour and 3/4 cups of oat flour for the gluten-free flour. I also didn't have any cornstarch, so I just used extra potato starch. I also added some nutritional yeast to bulk up the vitamins and I baked the whole thing in my bread machine. Next time, I think I'll mix the flours by hand before adding to the machine b/c the starch was hard to break up and blend in. The bread was soft and tasted like whole-wheat bread (almost). I should have brushed the top and added some sesame, sunflower, and flax seeds. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks! My husband pointed out that we left a slice out all night and it didn't get stale! Interesting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LawyerMom April 23, 2010

OMG I had made this recipe a few times and I really wasn't liking the spongy texture, though this is by far the best recipe I've tried. So I decided to research the "gum" subject. Guar Gum imitates gluten the absolute best. So I decided to get some from my local HF store. All I did was follow the package directions and replaced the xanthan gum with the guar gum, and OMG. Since the bread already tasted awesome it now felt awesome! (I have issues with Jell-O too) AWESOME RECIPE LAURIE!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fionnros April 10, 2010

Thank you!!!! I used 1 cup of white corn flour and 1/2 cup of garbanzo bean flour to replace the gluten free flour and garfava. And it turned out fantastic! I do not like the taist and texture of rice flour breads so this is a real blessing for us at our house!Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAMASARAH September 18, 2009

I have made this bread several times now. For the "gluten-free flour" blend I just combine whatever I have on hand... usually 1/2 c. white rice, and a mixture of tapioca starch, arrowroot, sorghum and a couple others. We've tried a number of GF bread recipes and this one is by far our favorite. Great texture and healthy, too!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homeschoolmama February 03, 2009

This is good and it lasts for days. It can be such a drag not having any bread; even if you try to be a good sport about your allergy it gets hard sometimes. Well with this recipe you CAN have bread! Thanks Laurie150!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbellesma December 27, 2007
Gluten-Free Flax Bread