Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Gluten-Free Flax Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gluten-Free Flax Bread

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2010

      OMG, this bread is awesome! Were huge Udi's fans but I think this is even better then Udi's! The bread failed the 1st 3 times and I learned a few things. The flax can not be left out, its critical to the recipe. Check your yeast, I had a major over flowing issue and realized I grabbed the wrong yeast and was using instant rather then the regular/rapid which means I needed to reduce the yeast by 25%. I also found I didn't care for the Bobs Red Mill All Purpose GF flour blend the author said she often used over at the celiac site and the bean flour just gave it a taste I didn't like so I followed another posters suggestion of "I used 1 Cup Sorghum, 1/4 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup white rice flour for the GF flour and the garfava flours." The result was amazing! I just throw the dough on a lined cookie sheet dusted with rice flour, round it out a bit with wet hands, dust the top with flour to give it that old world/artisian look then rise and bake. Comes out beautifully! This morning I pulled out the loaf I made on Friday and threw in the fridge before we went out of town and pull it out today, Tuesday and while it wasn't still sandwich worthy it was still perfect for toast! Just buttered it and everyone scarfed it down and best of all, it tastes like a good artisan wheat bread:) I shared a loaf this weekend with gluten eaters and they all loved it! Now THAT'S saying something!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      Excellent, excellent recipe - I HAVE BREAD AGAIN! - but it would be nice if the recipe said to put the batter into a *prepared* pan - a swipe of oil or a spray of cooking spray would prevent having to pry the loaf out of the pan. I used sweet sorghum flour instead of garfava, and reports are true - this is a very forgiving recipe. For my main GF flour, I used Sylvan Border Farms general purpose flour. Such good bread! So easy to make! I like to preheat my oven at 200 degrees, then turn it off for the rising. I've told my celiac sister and gluten-intolerant sister about the recipe, and posted the link to it on my Facebook page.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      If I could put ten stars I would!! I have made a lot of bread recipes since being diagnosed with a wheat allergy in 2008, but this by far is the BEST recipe I have ever had. I took suggestions from other posts and used brown rice and oat flour for the GF flour and I did not have any garfava flour so I used sorhgum flour. It was amazing! I made it a week ago and it is still soft and wonderful when heated up with some butter! I missed my wheat breads after being diagnosed, but now I think, who needs wheat bread!?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This is my very first attempt at gluten-free bread baking, and I'm so relieved I could cry! Okay, I am crying. My husband is a recently diagnosed celiac and we've been buying horrible frozen loafs of $6 bread from our local grocery store. But tonight I tried this recipe, and I'm hooked. I don't have sorghum flour (yet) or garfava flour as none of the stores carry close by us carry it, so I ground millet and used 1 cup of the flour with 1/2 c brown rice flour and 1/2 c white rice flour. For the liquid, I used 1/2 c milk and 1/2 c water. I followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and got a gorgeous looking loaf of bread! In terms of taste, we found it a little too moist and not quite salty enough. Next time I think I'll replaced the honey with regular sugar and add maybe a 1/4 tsp more salt. I might use a little less liquid, or bake a few minutes longer. But it is AMAZING how good this turned out. I'm not a great baker, but it was a great tasting bread. We both just had a slice of warm bread with peanut butter and it was like a little piece of heaven. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      I was so excited to eat real bread again, using this recipe I almost cried! THANK YOU SO MUCH! Using a suggestion from Laurie, I used 1 Cup Sorghum, 1/4 cup brown rice flour and 1/4 cup white rice flour for the GF flour and the garfava flours. It was AMAZING!!! GREAT BREAD. If you are gluten free, you MUST try it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      This was my first attempt at baking gluten free bread. It came out waaaay better than the store-bought stuff that crumbles all over the place and tastes like sawdust. I used 3/4 cups of brown rice flour and 3/4 cups of oat flour for the gluten-free flour. I also didn't have any cornstarch, so I just used extra potato starch. I also added some nutritional yeast to bulk up the vitamins and I baked the whole thing in my bread machine. Next time, I think I'll mix the flours by hand before adding to the machine b/c the starch was hard to break up and blend in. The bread was soft and tasted like whole-wheat bread (almost). I should have brushed the top and added some sesame, sunflower, and flax seeds. I'll definitely make this again. Thanks! My husband pointed out that we left a slice out all night and it didn't get stale! Interesting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      OMG I had made this recipe a few times and I really wasn't liking the spongy texture, though this is by far the best recipe I've tried. So I decided to research the "gum" subject. Guar Gum imitates gluten the absolute best. So I decided to get some from my local HF store. All I did was follow the package directions and replaced the xanthan gum with the guar gum, and OMG. Since the bread already tasted awesome it now felt awesome! (I have issues with Jell-O too) AWESOME RECIPE LAURIE!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Thank you!!!! I used 1 cup of white corn flour and 1/2 cup of garbanzo bean flour to replace the gluten free flour and garfava. And it turned out fantastic! I do not like the taist and texture of rice flour breads so this is a real blessing for us at our house!Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I have made this bread several times now. For the "gluten-free flour" blend I just combine whatever I have on hand... usually 1/2 c. white rice, and a mixture of tapioca starch, arrowroot, sorghum and a couple others. We've tried a number of GF bread recipes and this one is by far our favorite. Great texture and healthy, too!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This is good and it lasts for days. It can be such a drag not having any bread; even if you try to be a good sport about your allergy it gets hard sometimes. Well with this recipe you CAN have bread! Thanks Laurie150!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      AWESOME! This gluten free bread is amazing! I have been trying to make a decent gf/df bread for my son, who has autism, for 8 years now. The "good" ones have been really expensive to make and extremely delicate. It's also hard to master the correct technique for them to come out well. Every time someone recommends a new recipe I groan. I don't want to waste more time and money on something that I wouldn't even eat. I read the reviews on this bread and thought it sounded promising. I already had the ingredients on hand and decided to try it out with some friends. I used some sweet sorghum flour as part of the GF flour and used almond milk to make it dairy free. My only issue was finding a pan that would fit the loaf. I settled on a glass 11x 7 baking pan and formed the loaf with wet hands. Don't forget to grease it first! At first I rose it on the counter but it didn't rise at all after an hour, so I transferred it into a warm oven and finished rising it. I baked it @ 325 since I used a glass pan and decreased the time to 35 minutes. It came out beautifully! What a wonderful and pleasant surprise! I cut it while it was hot but would recommend cutting it when it cools off a bit. It has a wonderful, soft and fluffy texture! I LOVE it! Thank you so much for sharing this! It's golden!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      I just found this yesterday, and I, too, am amazed how fantastic this bread REALLY is. Honestly, I was expecting another disappointment in my quest to find GF food that does not have an odd taste or texture. This bread made a great sandwich without toasting, and I can't wait to try hamburger and hotdog buns. BTW I used the sorghum and rice variation which I read in one of the reviews. I'm going to find Laurie's baking cookbook today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      I put making this for so long, because I thought it wouldn't turn out and I would be a failure. I am so happy to say that I took the iniative, today, and made this bread. It turned out beautifully. It's an "anyone can do this" type of recipe.
      I followed the suggestions from other raters about what GF flour mix to use: 1 cup of sorghum, 1/4 cup brown rice, 1/4 cup white rice. I didn't have honey, so I used sugar instead. Also, the directions didn't say, but my former gluten bread-baking days forced me to make the 1 cup of water very warm and filled the mixer with the water and yeast, first and let it sit for a minute or two before adding the wet ingredients in.
      I didn't 'shape/flatten' the top of my bread dough and thus it came out with lots of bumps. I'm guessing next time I could flatten it out with a spatula. I don't care much for presentation, so it didn't bother me anyway.
      The DH is gluten sensitive so his opinion of the taste is what I'll go by. First off, it LOOKED like Udi's bread which I was thrilled about. I want to be able to compare to Udi's and save some $$. The texture is more bready, soft and squishy than Udi's. This makes an excellent slice of bread for a sandwich. The toast is not as crunchy, but this is only the first day of it being made. By tomorrow, the texture will have settled and the toast will probably be more like the commercial GF breads. Thank you so much for the recipe - it is so freeing knowing I don't have to depend on the store to get GF bread in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      At my age I found I've become a little suspicious and cynical. When I read the comments I thought "yeah... they're probably all exaggerating" but was desperate so I finally tried the recipe. Now I know why these people are so psyched and why at least one of them was in tears. YOU HAVE GIVEN BREAD BACK TO US because of your kind, unselfish gesture. Am so, so grateful to you. The store-bought gluten-free breads are exorbitantly expensive and not any good. This bread is wonderful. I must echo the sentiments of so many when I say even though I tweaked it a bit (because of other food sensitivities) it still turned out wonderfully. It IS a very forgiving recipe. IF YOU CAN'T HAVE GLUTEN AND MISS BREAD, TRY THIS RECIPE!!!!!!!!! You will NOT be sorry. Thank you, thank you, thank you...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      So good I bought your book. I didn't have any issues with funny flavours from the all purpose GF flour (Red Mills), but I subbed chickpea for garfava flour, and molasses for the honey (because I need the iron and like the colour it gives), so the molasses may have covered any lingering funny flavours. The recipe book version is currently rising in the oven. I will have to see how it compares.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      I'm so happy I found this recipe. It actually cuts and tastes like wheat bread. I also like that it uses flours with some nutritional density so I can feel better about having the occasional sandwich or slice of toast. I used an all-purpose flour that does contain brown rice flour and it was still very moist and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could, thanks so much for sharing it!!!! For the plain flour I used a mix of brown rice and tapioca, I also used sorgham instead of the garfava flour. I substituted the water/ milk for soda water. Seriously it tastes like WHEAT bread, it was light enough that you can eat it for sandwiches as well as toasting it!!!! Soooo fresh and yummy!.....BTW we can eat gluten I'm making bread for a girlfriend and my gluten eating family LOVED it !! My search for the perfect GF bread is over......Thank you so much! Next time I make it I will convert the recipe to grams so I get a constant loaf of bread every time I bake it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I made this bread for the first time today but it colapsed a little bit on the bottom while it was cooling. I am not sure why, but it was good. Any sugestions?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      I really can't rate this to fairly since I did substitute Millet flour for the farfava flour since I didn't have any and other's recommended it and used gar gum per another reviewer. As others said, it did fall some in the middle when it came out. It does have a good bread like texture but I thought it had an aftertaste. I found out my GF flour had Tapioca starch in it which could explain that. Next time I think I'd bake it in a smaller pan so it raises more and instead of flattening it out in the pan will heap it up in the middle. Halfway through baking I brushed the top with melted butter as other GF breads I have made had such a hard crust. I guess the real test to see if the intolerant person will like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Thank you for this absolutely delicious gluten-free bread recipe. I, like others who have posted here, hate the taste and texture of frozen GF breads and bagels you buy form the grocery store.

      I'm new to gluten-free... actually, my 8 year old and I are doing a 2 week diet to see if it's helpful to her inflammed knees (arthritis) and my psoriasis. I am so happy with this bread (I made it today) that I feel less stressed with what I can send to school in my daughter's lunch.

      I am curious though, how it fairs overnight in the fridge, or being left out in a sealed bag? I also wonder if I need to freeze it and take out slices as I need them? Any thoughts on storing (or how to store) home made GF bread?

      Thanks again! It's DELICIOUS! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gluten-Free Flax Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 94.1
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    39%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 220.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gluten-free flour

    garfava flour

    xanthan gum

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites