24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the best gluten-free sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried! The dough is very easy to work with... great for making holiday cookies with kids. The taste and texture are excellent. I substituted butter for Crisco and used an egg (not egg replacer). I highly recommend this recipe!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homeschoolmama February 14, 2008

These cookies were wonderful. Easy to make and great to eat. I made them for my son to take to school No one they were gluten free. Thank you

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sloanbestgen January 13, 2008

My husband loved these! He loves to eat some of the dough and he said the dough was even better than the cookies. I used butter instead of crisco.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanV January 04, 2008

I should have known when I searched "Gluten Free Sugar Cookies" that the best recipe would come from my favorite author/blogger! Thank you Shauna! I topped some with a sprinkle of sugar, and others, left plain, then frosted with gf frosting and rainbow sprinkles. *faint* Delicious! Coworkers and friends can't believe they're gf. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
852478 February 25, 2009

We made these egg free by using egg replacer and it turned out really really well. My son got to make his first Christmas cookies and he loved it. My son, daughter and I are gluten free. My husband is egg free and it's totally hard to find good cookies. Way to go GlutenFreeGirl.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babyangel141 December 16, 2007

I confess I had to make some subs...used 1 cup Fleischmann's Unsalted margarine instead of crisco and used Ener-G egg replacer (1 egg's worth) for the egg. I let these cool completely on the cookie sheet. I think they were actually better the next day. Next time I'm going to use potato starch in place of the cornstarch. Best Egg-free GFCF cutouts I've tried. They don't go poof into a bunch of crumbs when you bite into them!!! Thanks GlutenFreeGirl!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeanneHock December 13, 2007

I found this recipe in one of B. Hagman's cookbooks and made them for Christmas. They were very good. Crisp on outside with a nice chewy center. The kids enjoyed decorating them. The dough was incredibly easy to work with. My 6 year old was rolling it out and cutting cookies! Great family recipe and activity.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sanzoles November 17, 2007

I used 1/2 cup real butter and 1/4 cup butter flavor crisco for these. We baked them a little bit longer to make them crisper since that way they actually tasted a lot like traditional shortbread. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooksci August 05, 2007

I have a 5 year old that got to decorate Valentines cookies for the first time last month! This recipe is sooooo easy and sooooo good! I roll them a little thicker so they're a little softer. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdjsmom March 28, 2007

Wonderfully good! I subbed half of the sugar with Truvia to save calories. These were a hit with everyone. A glaze of truvia, cream and butter was a perfect frosting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rocketmom1985 April 01, 2015
Gluten Free Dutch Sugar Cookies