11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Not really in the same league as white flour muffins. It lacks the fluffiness and is more of a mushy (or moist, if you feel like being polite) little pastry. The flavor is pretty darn tasty (though a little eggy) with subtle coconut flavor working great with the tart blueberries. I actually think these might even taste better in a few days when they've dried out, which is something I can't say for "real" muffins.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OMGTehAwsome June 07, 2010

Finally . . . a wonderful grain-free(able) muffin recipe!!! Being both gluten-intolerant and allergic to corn, I had yet to find a muffin recipe that came close to replicating the taste and texture of wheat muffin. That search stops here! I altered the recipe a bit by using a baking powder substitute, potato-vodka vanilla extract and homeade almond milk instead of the coconut milk. I also used about 1/4 again as much of the blueberries. They are fantastic and I think the recipe will serve as a nice base recipe from which to experiment. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary_pat May 05, 2010

I made these thinking that they would be low in Weight Watchers' Points. I should have figured out the Points value before making them. From my calculations there is 185 calories, 10.8 grams of fat, and 3.75 grams of fibre, which makes each muffin 4 Points. They do not taste good enough to warrant this many Points in my opinion!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmkedzierski January 11, 2010

I made these according to the recipe except substituting buttermilk for the coconut milk. Tasted alright, although I don't know if I'll make again, slightly strange texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrew Mollmann June 02, 2009

I'm used to the texture differences of gluten-free baking and don't have a problem with it in general; even so, the texture of these muffins was just not enjoyable. I'm sure the recipe just needs another type of flour combined with the coconut flour; unfortunately, I don't know which flour or in what proportions... Other than that, the flavor combination is pretty good, though I think it, too, might be improved with the addition of another type of flour. If you try this recipe, you probably want to go with the small batch the first time. It's a pretty small investment in both time and ingredients - and maybe you'll come up with the perfect modification for it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmkurth February 20, 2009

I made these because I had all the ingredients on hand. I didn't like the texture or the taste. They were very strange. I would not make them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
norajm January 27, 2009

These muffins were delicious and fluffy. I will defenently make theses again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HomemakerHeidi May 08, 2008

These muffins are very good and easy to make. I added 1/4 cup chopped pecans to the batter and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. It made 7 regular size mufins. It's nice to find an easy gluten free muffin that makes just enough for one or two days. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happydaykg May 04, 2008

These are very tasty, especially if you like coconut, although my wheat allergic son who claims to hate coconut thinks they are terrific. Texture is very light. Flavor is slightly sweet. Vanilla is not shown in the ingredients but definitely enhances the overall flavor. A bit of lemon rind will go into my next batch. I bet these are sublime if made with butter - so far I've used oil. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amalie_dav December 31, 2007
Gluten-Free Coconut Blueberry Muffins